2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      juzzmee

Hi, I posted this earlier but no replies/advises. I know this forum moves very fast but hope someone can shed some light or advise pls.

My DD obtained 251, a t score neither here nor there. We are thinking of trying for MGS O levels (COP 254 - 2018) as first choice. SCGS IP as 2nd and SCGS O level as third (both COP 252 - 2018). Any idea what are the chances of the getting into any of the 3 listed above? TIA

whitecarrotcake\" post_id=\"1948843\" time=\"1574610815\" user_id=\"114080:

Tinklebell Mom\" post_id=\"1948565\" time=\"1574559867\" user_id=\"182514:[quote=\"Tinklebell Mom\" post_id=1948565 time=1574559867 user_id=182514]My boy from a SAP Pri sch, and got score 264 with Merit in HCL.

We are unable to make a decision between Dunman High and VS (IP). We love the culture of both schools. We want him to grow up to be a more well-rounded gentleman; and also strong in Chinese. VS is also more conveniently located. But at the back of my mind didn’t want to waste the chance of getting him into a SAP school.

Any advise please?
        You have to consider the JC.
        Do 6 years in DHS or 4 years in VS, followed by VJC?[/quote]
        Ask your son which school environment he feel more comfortable in, as he is the one studying next 4 to 6 years. You brought him to the Open house before, or talked to students, VP and staff Tr there, before ? How does he feel ?

• TookiesT Offline
          Tookies

From what I understood, there is actually no cut-off point to meet in order to admit into sec school. The COP or the range is only a reference of the score of prior year students who were admitted into that school. It only reflects the prior year’s students choice of school.

Students are posted based on merit which means vacancies are filled up by students with higher scores first according to their choices. If the school is a popular school among high scorers, it gets filled up fast by high scorers which means lower scores students doesn’t get their chance to get admitted because no more vacancies, not because student doesn’t meet the cut off point.

Please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. Cheers!

https://postimg.cc/cg79TxDP

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

manorway\" post_id=\"1948831\" time=\"1574608706\" user_id=\"9303:

Asking for a friend. Please share your views.

Kid is in the NA/NT range. They did not want NT. But NA means only a few schools in the town they live in and they went open houses for schools in 3 nearest towns. But they want “nice” facilities and interesting ALP. Did not like some older looking schools or those with “sleepy” vibes. Don’t mind travelling for 60-90 min on bus one way.

All these are their words. They don’t know how to elaborate what “sleepy” or “nice” means.

I thought it is more important to look at subject combo and CCAs. But kid is really weak in all subjects. No strength or talent. Even if school has Leadership prog, ALP Science related, competitions etc... Low chance that kid will be selected.

My recommendation is to just pick a decent enough school nearby. Save travelling time as kid is weak academically. Any advice?
            This post probably will get a better response in NA / Express thread.

To put it crudely, your friend wants ”green”, must be cheap and preferably comes with big melons. Can... but those are only available for top of the class. The way our meritocratic system works, the bottom of the food chain has, unfortunately, limited pickings. It’s not going to be easy to find schools with “nice” facilities as well as “happening” within that range. The best such schools would most likely be the missionary schools. However, I’m not sure that with a t-score in the NA / NT range, he would be able to meet their COP.

Frankly, the real question is what’s the (immediate) end point that they are looking at. By choosing NA, I’m assuming that they are looking for an opportunity to go Poly instead of ITE. As such, there is very little point in looking at all those frills (because the likelihood of the child enjoying / using them is fairly low). Focus on choosing a school that can produce decent results for their NA students and especially, one that can help their students get into the PFP. They should have or should be able to look at the psyche of the school and their approaches if they have paid attention to the teachers / pupils during OH (but if they were distracted by facilities... then jialat lor). O Level is never, ever going to be a realistic option for the child, NA or otherwise. He is most likely going to end up as fodder if he decides to sit for O Level.

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

juzzmee\" post_id=\"1948856\" time=\"1574614100\" user_id=\"95866:

Hi, I posted this earlier but no replies/advises. I know this forum moves very fast but hope someone can shed some light or advise pls.

My DD obtained 251, a t score neither here nor there. We are thinking of trying for MGS O levels (COP 254 - 2018) as first choice. SCGS IP as 2nd and SCGS O level as third (both COP 252 - 2018). Any idea what are the chances of the getting into any of the 3 listed above? TIA
              Congrats! 251 is an excellent score of top 10% of PSLE cohort.

MGS has been consistent with 254 and SCGS 252. There is 50-50 chance. In fact, there are many choices for you to consider if you are willing to explore co-ed schools.

Your 4th to 6th choices have to select very wisely if you want to take the risk to have your first 3 initial choices. The schools you have selected are independent schools and you have to pay independent school fees of about $300 and on top of that, there are miscellaneous fee.

SCGS is accessible by the new underpass from Stevens MRT station and MGS is accessible from King Albert Park station.

If you are a Christian, you may favour MGS. SCGS is not a Christian or Catholic school to my understanding. If you are a free thinker, you can consider either 1.

• sembgalS Offline
                sembgal

kiasusis\" post_id=\"1948826\" time=\"1574607696\" user_id=\"182531:

Hi! Would appreciate valuable feedback and recommendations. My boy scored 216. We went to the open houses for both North Vista (COP 214) and Compassvale (214). They both seem okay to us, in terms of the subject combinations offered and also the CCA varieties, thus we cannot make a decision. Does anyone know more about these schools, in terms of culture, teachers, or any other things we may have missed out? Thanks.
                You may want to look at CCA schedule as some schools have once a week CCA, while some schools have twice or thrice a week CCA. In addition, some schools have enrichment programmes catered to the higher-ability students in the school (the higher scorers) and required students to stay back in schools too. You have to check that out. Compare the booklists used by the Sec 2 to Sec 4 for both schools and look at the teachers’ profile and the awards and achievements of the schools. Lastly, factor in distance. Do consider the nearer one as your priority as your child has to handle O levels at Sec 4. Sec 1 is a honeymoon year and your child may not feel the time constraint problem. Begin with the end in mind that your child has to take O levels and would you mind him travelling further when he could have more sleep instead?

• sembgalS Offline
                  sembgal

manorway\" post_id=\"1948831\" time=\"1574608706\" user_id=\"9303:

Asking for a friend. Please share your views.

Kid is in the NA/NT range. They did not want NT. But NA means only a few schools in the town they live in and they went open houses for schools in 3 nearest towns. But they want “nice” facilities and interesting ALP. Did not like some older looking schools or those with “sleepy” vibes. Don’t mind travelling for 60-90 min on bus one way.

All these are their words. They don’t know how to elaborate what “sleepy” or “nice” means.

I thought it is more important to look at subject combo and CCAs. But kid is really weak in all subjects. No strength or talent. Even if school has Leadership prog, ALP Science related, competitions etc... Low chance that kid will be selected.

My recommendation is to just pick a decent enough school nearby. Save travelling time as kid is weak academically. Any advice?
                  Your recommendation is wise. Knowing that the child is weak academically, she should pick a school that is near home so that the child does not need to spend 3 hours on the road. 3 hours means forgoing 3 hours of sleep or revision.

rawsalmon

Hi all,

HCI has isparks class for the GEP kids and the top main stream scorers. Can I know what is the minimum Tscore the main stream scorers must have to be eligible to isparks class? Any idea on the number of intake of students for isparks class each year?

Does RI have special class for the GEP and the top main stream scorers? Or all classes are a mixture of different Tscore students?

Between these 2 schools - HCI and RI, which is preferred in terms of future career prospect, academic opportunities with local uni/foreign uni character building and culture of the school?

juzzmee\" post_id=\"1948856\" time=\"1574614100\" user_id=\"95866:

Hi, I posted this earlier but no replies/advises.

I know this forum moves very fast but hope someone can shed some light or advise pls.

My DD obtained 251, a t score neither here nor there.

We are thinking of trying for MGS O levels (COP 254 - 2018) as first choice.

SCGS IP as 2nd and SCGS O level as third (both COP 252 - 2018).

Any idea what are the chances of the getting into any of the 3 listed above? TIA
                      Cut off point, for past 3 years

1a)
                      MGS (OP)

2018 : 254
                      2017 : 254
                      2016 : 255

noticed that MGS was consistent, for past 3 years, with 254 ?
                      this year, will MGS (OP) drop 3 points, down to 251 ?
                      any strong reason for MGS to drop this year ? i doubt

1b)
                      MGS (IB)

2018 : 258
                      2017 : 260
                      2016 : 259

2a)
                      SCGS (OP)

2018 : 252
                      2017 : 250
                      2016 : 252

SCGS (OP) has been consistent with 252 except 2017, dropped to 250

this year (2019), hard to say. There is 50-50 chance

any strong reason for SCGS (OP) to rise, this year (2019) ?
                      the newly located Euonia Junior college @Bishan Park is ready to shift in year-end Dec 2019

will this lure (attract) more 2019 P6 students to apply both SCGS (OP) and (IP) programme ?
                      @end of 2021 Sec 2, selected SCGS (OP) candidates can join SCGS (IP) programme, starting 2022 Sec 3 Term 1 IP, (January), affliated to EJC

What do you all think ?

2b)
                      SCGS (IP)

2018 : 252
                      2017 : 252
                      2016 : 252

SCGS (IP) maintained at 252, for past 3 years

• emohE Offline
                        emoh

Mama_ambitious\" post_id=\"1948622\" time=\"1574568530\" user_id=\"58805:

My son did well (we live in the east) and we are not evaluating between Victoria (IP) and ACS I IB programme. The latter is further away but there is bus service. So I am now torn between IP and IB programme and culture fit in. Does anyone have any inputs please?

Thanks so much!
                        https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=8100

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 759 / 866

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        msmui.tuitionM
                        msmui.tuition