Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
Parent\" post_id=\"1962631\" time=\"1581135659\" user_id=\"2348:
This is more contagious than SARS , though less deadly at the moment.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1962581\" time=\"1581091964\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=1961530 time=1580543856 user_id=17023]...
Guess PRCs bought a lot of masks (by cartons!) and sent back to China? I can understand cos they are more in need than us. I can only say that on my part, maybe I should have been more kiasu a bit. Shouldn’t wait until masks, hand sanitizers, etc. already out of stock, then go queue for these items.
DH said we did not even wear masks during SARS! Why should I panic now?
I wonder if panic buying this time round has something to do with the earlier “traumatic experience” when the surgical masks were out of stock at Guardian and Watson’s. Run up and down, everywhere cannot find (today Guardian/Watson’s still no stock right?) 有阴影了.
When we want masks, there are plenty, when we want hand sanitizer, there are plenty, will we still go queue up for groceries?
Hubby still thinks it’s just a FLU bug, no need to panic, else the “cure will be worse than the disease”
But with the high infection rate, will the number of deaths (not %) exceeds SARS ? A case in point is China.
Better to be safe than sorry.[/quote]Yes, correct
SARS was better contained because
for SARS occured last time, if one is sick, obvious. If got fever, SARS
Wuhan virus, even when one not sick, also can be a carrier
hence, people get paranoid, stock up grocery
As long as no vaccine solution out yet, more and more infected cases reported, is a matter of time, entering Red zone -
doodbug\" post_id=\"1962638\" time=\"1581141807\" user_id=\"13281:
what happen, if Sg were to move from Orange, into Red zone ?
I am so buried in the mountain of additional operational work that has occurred with having to operationalize the additional measures - no time to go supermarket to shop! Food eateries seem to have a lot of food - wonder why the panic for household/supermarket food supplies....
I think it may partially stem from all the videos we are being inundated with coming from China, and the major sacrifices each household is going through now in many parts of China, restricting movements out of the house and even trips to the supermarket. People feel safest at home, and least expose, and want some assurance they can survive on supplies at home? No idea what the psychology is.
That said, I can completely understand the anxiety and rush over masks.....there is a real shortage.
when that time come
people won't dare to come out, of their house, like what's happening now in Wuhan
many companies will instruct employees, to work from home pc
schools (primary, Sec, JCs) will shut down, students do e-learning at home, or self study
hopefully, can find vaccine solution fast, hopefully before end of Term 1 or Term 2, because
if this drag on, those students taking 2020 National exam (PSLE / O-level / A-level) will be inconvenient, school lessons disrupted, if schools were to shut down, once Red zone step in -
pirate\" post_id=\"1962429\" time=\"1581031918\" user_id=\"66252:
Cluck cluck squawk!
Pandering to (and effectively encouraging) the public's irrational fears and paranoia never works. The chicken always comes home to roost. -
.zeit\" post_id=\"1962633\" time=\"1581136203\" user_id=\"171271:
Yes, this point #8 is valid,
These could be the reasons for the panic-buy:
8. They believe it's better to stock up in case they themselves are put on LOA out of the blue, after unfortunately coming into contact with a confirmed case in the coming weeks.
because once someone unfortunate in the household hit \"virus\" jackpot, infected
i) hospital will send patient into medical isolation ward rightaway,
ii) those family members inside the household, also will be scutinized one by one in detail,
because they live in the same house as the infected patient, hence no more time to go out buy grocery.
That's why people panic, start stocking up grocery, start planning emergency situation arise where they cannot go out of the house anymore, family get \"lockdown\", cannot go out, how they going to eat ?
if anyone in the family get infected, the whole household will also be impacted
eg
if a primary school student gets infected
both parents cannot go to work, will need to enter LOA as well, means cannot go out
while Hospital ambulance sent the student (child) into isolation ward
see, is not just the child alone, but parents also impacted, inconvenienced -
phtthp\" post_id=\"1962647\" time=\"1581143686\" user_id=\"35251:
Yes, this point #8 is valid,.zeit\" post_id=\"1962633\" time=\"1581136203\" user_id=\"171271:
These could be the reasons for the panic-buy:
8. They believe it's better to stock up in case they themselves are put on LOA out of the blue, after unfortunately coming into contact with a confirmed case in the coming weeks.
because once someone unfortunate in the household hit \"virus\" jackpot, infected
Scare of Lockdown lah, scared of LOA meh? We all know LOA existed but there was no panic buying earlier until yesterday afternoon.
According to MOH, those on LOA, are allowed to go NTUC shopping for groceries !!!
https://postimg.cc/crYsRSzz -
We just replenished PIL’s masks with ano 10 fr UNITY Pharmacy. No shortage. Just controlled.
The staff issue those in queue with Q numbers saying might hv to wait till 7pm & not to gather around. Shortly within half hour, each individual with Q number got their supply of 10 pcs for $3.50. No profiteering! :imcool: each person entitled only to 10 produce I/C -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1962651\" time=\"1581144996\" user_id=\"66413:
Tats gd
We just replenished PIL’s masks with ano 10 fr UNITY Pharmacy. No shortage. Just controlled.
The staff issue those in queue with Q numbers saying might hv to wait till 7pm & not to gather around. Shortly within half hour, each individual with Q number got their supply of 10 pcs for $3.50. No profiteering! :imcool: each person entitled only to 10 produce I/C
But yest evening, I can’t get at unity
Hopefully these few days will have again
Either pack of 5 or 10 is also gd , so Long there is supply . -
There’s no glut at Clementi NTUC or UNITY Pharmacy. I thank all the NTUC Staff whenever I spot them working hard & fast to replenish stocks.
No need to embrace imported fears to rush for masks, food or sanitizers
https://postimg.cc/sB6MV3hs
https://postimg.cc/dhJ3rhRJ -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1962653\" time=\"1581145367\" user_id=\"66413:
I don’t want wash toilet ones or shower foam leh. I want Dettol brand HAND Sanitizer. It is not possible to wash hands all the times when we are outside.
There’s no glut at Clementi NTUC or UNITY Pharmacy. I thank all the NTUC Staff whenever I spot them working hard & fast to replenish stocks.
No need to embrace imported fears to rush for masks, food or sanitizers
https://postimg.cc/sB6MV3hs
https://postimg.cc/dhJ3rhRJ -
dont recall any panic buying during SARS. Or did I remember wrongly?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.