Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
      tryyourbest.0243672

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1970436\" time=\"1586321731\" user_id=\"162894:

tryyourbest.2\" post_id=\"1970426\" time=\"1586319306\" user_id=\"184963:

Actually why MOE/ schools can’t just let the students do activity books and worksheets?

When completed, students can just scan and email to the Teachers. This way is the easiest. Don’t even need what SLS, google classroom etc...

On a few days that Teachers may need to conduct lessons, then they can setup Zoom or Skype invitation, all other activities can just go offline.

Admittedly, schools & various subject teachers should try and stick to a single form of LMS. In that way, it'll be a one-stop station for all of the student's online learning.
      https://i.imgur.com/NaJ61iZ.png\">

Learning Management System makes things more systematic and organized in the long run 😉 , thanks to the various functionalities allowing educators to

- disseminate information via logged posts (+ automated notification of new posts/uploads),

- communicate with students/parents (via forum, posts and private comments),

- engage students through various types of assignments (such as MCQ quizzes that can be auto-graded or OE style questions which may lead to further discussions),
      https://i.imgur.com/46VoqCP.jpg\">

- host files and documents,

- keep track of homework submissions (+ automated reminder when homework is due),
      - record grades
      https://i.imgur.com/y1aXKZ7.jpg\">

Some even have video embedding/recording options incorporated, reducing the need to direct students to external links or relying on other online platforms to record + download and then upload audio files.
      https://i.imgur.com/1vXDgoY.jpg\">

Different teachers are using different online platforms and not easy for primary school kids. Parents WFH become technical support taking up too much of our time to help them figure out how to use. Some work done and saved are gone when re-opening the files and the children need to re-do them. Some of kids’ parents are part of essential services and still working on site. Caregivers are not technical savvy so they panic and keep texting their classmates. Preventing the same issues, we even need to take snap shots as backup. It is very tedious. Just do activity books and worksheets are good enough.

• EstéemaE Offline
        Estéema

https://postimg.cc/Zvph4dfk

Sun_2010

Estéema\" post_id=\"1970424\" time=\"1586317502\" user_id=\"66413:

Sun_2010\" post_id=\"1970413\" time=\"1586313827\" user_id=\"18393:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=1970372 time=1586273071 user_id=17023]

So what do you think will happen when the FWs in isolation start to see more and more of their friends inside the gazetted isolated Dorm get sick?

When they have nowhere to run and worried sick that the virus may spread to them, the 20,000 workers will try to escape at some point (something like the Little India riot). I am not saying this will happen but we never know.

Either the few policemen inside kena stampeded to death or one of the policemen pull out a gun and fire at the FWs in self defense. Then we will be on the world headlines.

Lee_yi, you raise a valid point. I hope gov has mental health experts studying the situations and have steps to defuse the fear and panic rising in such dorms.

So far, they done a lot in ensuring cooperation - allocate time for their daily washing & bathing. Implement social distancing with rules set barring inter-block visits, inter-floor mingling. Ministers hv made their presence in their midst to send signals of seriousness of situation & expect compliance for the 14 days quarantine to be expanded if required. They’ve assured their jobs & pay will not be lost. They’ve arranged for meals to be delivered. All they’ve to do is cooperate & stay-in.

If foreign workers are assured of livelihood secured, meals & housing, it’s a long way towards reassuring their minds. So, with on-site medical professionals, once someone hv a fever, falls sick then swiftly move to sick-bay or hospital treatment once formerly diagnosed. Many migrant social donations hv been pouring in with masks & even WiFi setup to keep them busy & communicating with family & getting outside info. I noticed the workers takes turn to help clean & sanitize their dorm surroundings.

If there are constant communication, I believe these foreign workers are will be less anxious. It’s only when a human is totally shut out fr the outer world will they get paranoid, panic & take flight. Putting in the police and with CCTV surveillance, I’m apt to believe things shld be under control. Of course, there might be an outlying case. I wld hope there’s someone constantly moving around checking for ground intelligence of any worker in depression or temperamental, then hv to make available counseling to nip the bud fr situation going beserk. Just my thots.[/quote]Thanks for the details Esteema. Glad to know that the needs and worries of FWs are being addressed.
          Haven't been following the news closely, just gets a little too much for me at times

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

Sun_2010,

Don’t worry. I do trust the moment our govt says don’t bickpick Sporeans or foreign workers, I get their idea that this is abt humanity & global health. Not just us, so they’ll set the example to do all they can to stem spread. It’s looking ten steps ahead to protect our ppl when we gazette FW dormitories, segregate & contain the virus.

I don’t know how to embed my online Straits Times, but they’ve set aside 21 blocks of en-bloc HDBs to house & spread them out. Hope they put in sufficient security & police in the ring fence.

https://postimg.cc/67J1npfc

As this covid thread discuss a lot of other issue, eg. FW etc

one thread dedicated to discuss HBL has been opened here, so that anyone want to find info related to HBL, easier to obtain from there.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=95850

• lee_ylL Offline
                lee_yl

Estéema\" post_id=\"1970465\" time=\"1586327863\" user_id=\"66413:

Sun_2010,

Don’t worry. I do trust the moment our govt says don’t bickpick Sporeans or foreign workers, I get their idea that this is abt humanity & global health. Not just us, so they’ll set the example to do all they can to stem spread. It’s looking ten steps ahead to protect our ppl when we gazette FW dormitories, segregate & contain the virus.

I don’t know how to embed my online Straits Times, but they’ve set aside 21 blocks of en-bloc HDBs to house & spread them out. Hope they put in sufficient security & police in the ring fence.

https://postimg.cc/67J1npfc
                I am not nit-picking on the FWs, I am trying to think of ways to help them. I am worried when I see something like Diamond Princess Cruise happening here. Any serious outbreak from there, our medical facilities will collapse leh.

The earlier decision of giving free food and paid salary is not enough as when one is in fearful/panic mode, one’s mind cannot think straight. Just like how the govt did not anticipate Singaporeans going into frenzy buying the day we declared DORSCON Orange. Doctor friend said one FW told him, he doesn’t want anything now, he just wants to go home. Among the 20K FWs isolated, how many of them think like him, just wanna go home?

At first I was very happy the 20K FWs will be spaced out into the SERS flats but DH told me the flats are for those working in essential services (from dorms all over SG), estimated able to house only a portion of them. I hope more can be done for the isolated FWs in the dorms

• EstéemaE Offline
                  Estéema

No lah, lee_yl, I didn’t say u wor. It was Minister Josephine Teo’s wird’s referring to some who wld & also flashback on how George Yeo lost his Ward when the FW housing was planned in Aljunied.

Anyway, today's news was specified that it is 21 blocks & only mentioned Br Merah. News didn’t say all over SG.

21 blocks shld be sufficient to house >10K pax of healthy workers & guarded by Cisco deployed to maintain order. The rest can stay with more space in current dormitories? They will be ferried to work by company tpt & will not take public tpt.

I do agree when they’re worried, they don’t think beyond unlike most of us will plan ahead & work our contingencies. They live life simply & not as complicated as urban folks. But I’m sure with so many volunteers going in to donate & distribute masks & necessities, the majority wld be thankful & not want to return to their country w/o good medical facilities & disorderlinness.

As a side thot, not in a negative way, thinking for the first time, they experienced local way of living - albeit in HDB 3-bdrms. As it was acquired in 2018, condition probably very run down by SG stds. But for them, it’s much better than India or Blangadesh? Hope they do same same, station medical doc & screening twice daily to ensure moment a FW develops fever, get him segregated fast. I wld think during extraordinary times like this, packet meals shld be delivered to the blocks so they wld not mingle in neighborhood shops. Shld supply basic soap, shampoo & detergent so minimize movements. Helping them this way is smaller costs to stem spread to community, is really helping ourselves. These 14 days CN shld not See many going out to encounter FW otw out to company tpt etc.

Hope SG hv situation turn ard after CB ends. :xedfingers:

• . Offline
                    .010675zeit

Estéema\" post_id=\"1970471\" time=\"1586332479\" user_id=\"66413:

it was Minister Josephine Teo’s wird’s referring to some who wld & also flashback on how George Yeo lost his Ward when the FW housing was planned in Aljunied.

Anyway, today's news was specified that it is 21 blocks & only mentioned Br Merah. News didn’t say all over SG.

21 blocks shld be sufficient to house >10K pax of healthy workers & guarded by Cisco deployed to maintain order. The rest can stay with more space in current dormitories? They will be ferried to work by company tpt & will not take public tpt.
                    Those were S'goon Gardens landowners who are more vocal, compared to elderly dwellers in mature HDB estates.

These are the 7-storey SIT flats in Redhill Close. But according to the HDB website, the 21 blocks shld have been SERS'ed and occupied by SCs now. Are they still 7-storey or 48-storey?

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/living-in-an-hdb-flat/sers-and-upgrading-programmes/in-progress-sers-projects&rendermode=preview
                    https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/family-photo-remember-redhill-close-residents-estate-empties-out-after-63-years

Where did you get the 10,000 figure?

If still 7-storey, there are only 878 units of 3-rm flats. So maybe 878 x 5 pax = 4390 pax working in cleaning and facility mgmt. services who will commute from this old estate daily to their wkplace over an indefinite period (6-12 mths).

I don't know how many MW can occupy a 3-rm flat, but assuming they have 2 double-decker beds in each of the 2 bedrooms, they can fit max 8 pax.

The photos on Josephine Teo's FB are very misleading. It's at one Tuas dorm that she visited in Feb. That dorm's boss had created a new dorm in their mini cinema to house PRC WPs returning from China back then. Therefore, the bedsheets and pillows are new, but that's not the reality in many other dorms local media have exposed in recent days.

https://postimg.cc/Xpxs5jDS

• JadedfoxJ Offline
                      Jadedfox

EXPO is now a makeshift hospital....

https://i.ibb.co/chkNNPd/1.png\">

https://tinyurl.com/uwg8bsy

SeongheeKim

Updates on the foreign worker dormitory situation

http://www.fivestarsandamoon.com/2020/04/updates-on-the-foreign-worker-dormitory-situation/

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1