Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
ngl2010\" post_id=\"1970750\" time=\"1586530062\" user_id=\"40978:
Who is Prof Teo? Why did he/she said “We now know that asymptomatic spread is entirely possible”
This is a really good article
https://bbc.in/2ViTarX
I thought this has been known very early, he/she can scroll back to the front pages of KSP lah. Perhaps, our govt wanted to conserve surgical masks in the national stockpile that’s why they chose to ignore that asymptomatic spread is possible.
So it’s now known that there are asymptomatic cases. What’s next? The best way right now is do aggressive testing for all citizens, like what South Korea is doing? Or a full lockdown unlike the current CB? Or to release part of the surgical mask stockpile for purchase by the citizens? Surgical masks are now easily available at HK. But I still can’t get surgical masks from Pharmacies. I got mine from my own contacts and Value shop (kind of exp). -
Hundreds of boxes of masks fr Indonesia, China & Vietnam sold at 2 shops near fruit stall of Clementi West St 2 market. Yday DH bought for MIL.
https://postimg.cc/cvN3T0BV -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1970768\" time=\"1586535098\" user_id=\"66413:
That’s the thing I am puzzled. Even a fruit stall in Clementi can get hold of hundreds of boxes of surgical masks from Indonesia, China and Vietnam, why Watson and Guardian Pharmacies forever “stock not avail”? And since surgical masks are available, why bother to only give us a symbolic no brand, 2ply cotton mask?
Hundreds of boxes of masks fr Indonesia, China & Vietnam sold at 2 shops near fruit stall of Clementi West St 2 market. Yday DH bought for MIL.
https://postimg.cc/cvN3T0BV -
is that surgical mask?
Estéema:
Hundreds of boxes of masks fr Indonesia, China & Vietnam sold at 2 shops near fruit stall of Clementi West St 2 market...
Spotted a box of 50 selling for SGD32 @SS Dawson on 09 April
- Manufactured in Anhui, by 桐城市 康民劳保用品 有限公司, on 31Mar2020, valid for 3years.
- Labelled disposable face mask (non woven fabric + melt blown fabric, 3ply), 非医用。
- Can filter out bacterial particles etcetera.
The stalls you mentioned have actually been selling them for a rather long time... -
phtthp\" post_id=\"1970733\" time=\"1586523061\" user_id=\"35251:
Situation is dire, but I do wish we followed the Swedish model. The economy has tanked here, in the UK; we need to get back to work and find a way to coexist with the CV19 virus.
how is the lock-down situation in England ?Newtandcucumber\" post_id=\"1970722\" time=\"1586518617\" user_id=\"133333:
Btw, Happy Easter to you all.
Stay safe and well.
can u travel or drive out more than 10 km, from your house ?
No real restrictions on travel, though officially some are told not to travel to second homes - but they do.
I wore a mask to the supermarket today and felt a little silly, but needs must. Not sure masks are that protective.
Btw, I saw your PM on YouTube. I saw his address and admired his oratory, the substantive points communicated, his bluntness and optimism.
Stay safe and well. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1970771\" time=\"1586535845\" user_id=\"17023:
Nope. These are not sold at fruit stall but pop-up stalls near the fruit stall.
That’s the thing I am puzzled. Even a fruit stall in Clementi can get hold of hundreds of boxes of surgical masks from Indonesia, China and Vietnam, why Watson and Guardian Pharmacies forever “stock not avail”? And since surgical masks are available, why bother to only give us a symbolic no brand, 2ply cotton mask?Estéema\" post_id=\"1970768\" time=\"1586535098\" user_id=\"66413:
https://postimg.cc/cvN3T0BV
These pop-up stalls has been selling boxes of masks since late March, together with 2nd hand handphones. One stall sells children surgical masks too. Not sure if our supplies will continue but these masks come at a premium price tag. Doubt it’s wise to continue using on daily basis as it’ll not be sustainable as it adds to any family a heavy burden (with additional need for WiFi for WFH & HBL; increase electricity to run lighting & fan; besides getting laptops & desktops).
Countries like Taiwan, Vietnamese and even M’sia hv their own manufacturing but our atas economy do not run them & even if we do, we’ll probably hv more foreign workers on masks machines. My family tries to use the reusable ones, leaving surgical masks for MIL’s exclusive use since she belongs to more vulnerable Grp.
Hence, not sure if it drains national reserves meant for frontline staff. :xedfingers: -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1970777\" time=\"1586546385\" user_id=\"66413:
Nope. These are not sold at fruit stall but pop-up stalls near the fruit stall.
That’s the thing I am puzzled. Even a fruit stall in Clementi can get hold of hundreds of boxes of surgical masks from Indonesia, China and Vietnam, why Watson and Guardian Pharmacies forever “stock not avail”? And since surgical masks are available, why bother to only give us a symbolic no brand, 2ply cotton mask?lee_yl\" post_id=\"1970771\" time=\"1586535845\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=Estéema post_id=1970768 time=1586535098 user_id=66413]Hundreds of boxes of masks fr Indonesia, China & Vietnam sold at 2 shops near fruit stall of Clementi West St 2 market. Yday DH bought for MIL.
https://postimg.cc/cvN3T0BV
These pop-up stalls has been selling boxes of masks since late March, together with 2nd hand handphones. One stall sells children surgical masks too. Not sure if our supplies will continue but these masks come at a premium price tag. Doubt it’s wise to continue using on daily basis as it’ll not be sustainable as it adds to any family a heavy burden (with additional need for WiFi for WFH & HBL; increase electricity to run lighting & fan; besides getting laptops & desktops).
Countries like Taiwan, Vietnamese and even M’sia hv their own manufacturing but our atas economy do not run them & even if we do, we’ll probably hv more foreign workers on masks machines. My family tries to use the reusable ones, leaving surgical masks for MIL’s exclusive use since she belongs to more vulnerable Grp.
Hence, not sure if it drains national reserves meant for frontline staff. :xedfingers:[/quote]Mask are definitely more easily available now. About $32 per 50 pieces. Even online prices have gone down from the $60 to $30 per box. But made in China. And yes, are 3 ply surgical masks. My friend say she only buy from Watson’s or Guardians. But these 2 shops still no supply. Not sure how long these pandemic will last, so bought a few boxes. Lesson learnt, buy in case out of stock again... -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1970730\" time=\"1586522395\" user_id=\"43981:
Exercising outdoors near your home is allowed, as long as safe distancing is observed. 4 weeks without going outdoors for exercise, especially if you are used to a certain level of activity, and if your home is crowded, is not very healthy. And going out in a group comprising only those in the same household is allowed, again, as long as they stay a safe distance from others. Some will break the rules, of course, and I hope social pressure and the enforcement officers will suppress such selfish behaviour.
I cant see the main street from my place and places I could see from my place are really quiet .. so I can only rely on news to see pictures of people having family outings, jogging etc.. woah seriously this is what period now still cannot guai guai just stay at home really need a total lock down meh..sigh.. -
ngl2010\" post_id=\"1970747\" time=\"1586527639\" user_id=\"40978:
PM Lee's speech yesterday had a section addressed to the elderly, unfortunately, it seems he made the speech only in English? I hope he will make that section of the message in Mandarin and Malay too, or that someone will dub it? And perhaps also in a few dialects. I don't think the English message will do much to communicate to the elderly who are breaking the rules.
Thank you for your suggestion. But the problem is that there are many such old people around that are unaware that they cannot even meet their friends. How to educate these people? Maybe need to be repeated over and over again in TV and radio?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.