Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

I agree that only 1 person need to go to the supermarket, even during normal times. I have always been irritated by spouses/maids/teenage kids parking themselves all around the supermarket while the other person goes around gathering stuff that they need. Why can’t 1 person just do the rounds while the rest wait in the car or just go grab a drink while waiting for the shopper to be done. If 2 persons head to the store, then make sure both are actively getting what is required to shorten the time spent there. Don’t go and park yourself by the trolley and make yourself an obstacle.

Now with this situation, I feel it even more. Store staff are all over trying their best to restock the shelves, trolleys with goods are all over place, and at almost every aisle or corner I see a couple of these fellas leaning against their trolleys fiddling with their phones and blocking everyone’s way.

Fried chicken:[quote=\"Fried chicken\" ]

You’re lucky you still have takeaways available! I’m currently in NZ, and we have no takeaways, no deliveries/drive thru, nothing. We’ve been cooking three meals a day for almost a month now. Lol. It’s been good, though. I miss takeaways, but we’ve started making the stuff we want to eat instead of ing, and he’s got a list of things he wants to try and make lol. We are also much stricter - supermarkets have a one in, one out policy when they reach a certain number of people, and only one person per family can go in and shop. Can’t complain. It all seems to be working - we are down to single digit new cases now, and I’m looking forward to drive through mcds sometime in the next couple of weeks 😂[/quote]
        Hi Fried Chicken,

How does New Zealand enforce \" only allow one member, per household to \" visit supermarket policy ?

What if the husband queue in front first, then queuing behind him are 4 other strangers, from other household. And behind these 4 strangers is his teenage daughter, plus 1 other stranger, then after that is his own son queuing up ? That means, they tricky (smart), purposely split up the queuing sequence of family members, from the same household.

In this case, both husband and his 2 children still end up entering the supermarket together eventually, because all feel bored, going crazy cooped up at home the whole day long for HBL (home based lessons), just want to go super-market to jalan-jalan, smell some fresh air.

No more can allow \"only one per household family, to visit supermarket\"

Do they check for anything, at entrance of super market, before entering ?

• Fried chickenF Offline
          Fried chicken

phtthp\" post_id=\"1971868\" time=\"1587348779\" user_id=\"35251:

You’re lucky you still have takeaways available! I’m currently in NZ, and we have no takeaways, no deliveries/drive thru, nothing. We’ve been cooking three meals a day for almost a month now. Lol. It’s been good, though. I miss takeaways, but we’ve started making the stuff we want to eat instead of ing, and he’s got a list of things he wants to try and make lol. We are also much stricter - supermarkets have a one in, one out policy when they reach a certain number of people, and only one person per family can go in and shop. Can’t complain. It all seems to be working - we are down to single digit new cases now, and I’m looking forward to drive through mcds sometime in the next couple of weeks 😂
          Hi Fried Chicken,

How does New Zealand enforce \" only allow one member, per household to \" visit supermarket policy ?

What if the husband queue in front first, then queuing behind him are 4 other strangers, from other household. And behind these 4 strangers is his teenage daughter, plus 1 other stranger, then after that is his own son queuing up ? That means, they tricky, split up the queuing sequence of family members, from the same household.

In this case, both husband and his 2 children still end up entering the supermarket together eventually.

Do they check for anything, at entrance of super market, before entering ?[/quote]
          Well, I guess if you want to do that, that’s your prerogative! But why? Lol. No, they don’t check anything. It’s just taken that families/couples will queue together to try and get in, but the person at the door will only allow one of them in.

.zeit\" post_id=\"1971839\" time=\"1587311010\" user_id=\"171271:

Don't take your kids to the supermarket or to F&B to queue for take-outs. Just make them stay at home to wait.

Did you see 4 young kids 'kenna' from their family member, a 39yo male today?

https://postimg.cc/FYhPF0xV

Why must go jalan jalan at the supermarket as a family? Someone said grandparents also tag along?! Got secret 3-generation meet-ups at NTUC during CB some more?

I agree with lee-yl that we need to impose a limit like Msia where only head of household can go to the supermarket. Maybe once a week (not that we have that many weeks left to go) per household. Maybe go by year of birth - ending Odd No vs Even Nos

Cannot let entire families go out every day to jog, then tapao breakfast, then walk around the aircon mall, window shop at the supermarket to buy ice-cream, or buy BBT before going
            Agree with you that in your above example, should not allow the kids to accompany parents go out, especially if these kids are already teenagers or their spouse is around to help out.

However,
            there are all kinds of household, in this world

What if,
            in another scenario, there is this

Single mother, with 2 kindergartener children, one is 4 years old in Nursery, another is 5 years old in K1 kindergarten, but

- without her mother nor sibling nor father at home because her parents died long time ago, and

this mother herself come from single child family, hence no sibling to turn to for advice nor for help, nor

- without any parent in law to help , because she is a single mother

- nor without any maid to help out at home because can't afford to hire maid.

And this Single mother need to go out to super market to buy grocery and buy milk for her kids to drink.

In this case,
            definitely she need to bring her 2 young toddlers along with her to the super market, because her 2 kids are so young. Besides, no one else at home can help to look after them.
            And we all know, how dangerous it is, to leave toddlers or kindergarteners alone by themselves at home, as am sure u all have come across news like below. These young children are so scared, when they are being left alone at home

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/6-year-old-girl-dies-after-falling-from-ang-mo-kio-hdb-flat

Hence, this thing that u all suggest, restrict \"one member, from each household\" to visit supermarket, cannot be enforced -

Because

It is Not practical, as

different family household, encounter different circumstances (background),
            face different set of challenges to cope.

As it is, CB had created enough stress, for some families !

Please, we do not want to see any further tragedy to arise, as a result of leaving young children alone at home, by themselves

• Fried chickenF Offline
              Fried chicken

phtthp\" post_id=\"1971868\" time=\"1587348779\" user_id=\"35251:

You’re lucky you still have takeaways available! I’m currently in NZ, and we have no takeaways, no deliveries/drive thru, nothing. We’ve been cooking three meals a day for almost a month now. Lol. It’s been good, though. I miss takeaways, but we’ve started making the stuff we want to eat instead of ing, and he’s got a list of things he wants to try and make lol. We are also much stricter - supermarkets have a one in, one out policy when they reach a certain number of people, and only one person per family can go in and shop. Can’t complain. It all seems to be working - we are down to single digit new cases now, and I’m looking forward to drive through mcds sometime in the next couple of weeks 😂
              Hi Fried Chicken,

What if the husband queue in front first, then queuing behind him are 4 other strangers, from other household. And behind these 4 strangers is his teenage daughter, plus 1 other stranger, then after that is his own son queuing up ? That means, they tricky, split up the queuing sequence of family members, from the same household.

In this case, both husband and his 2 children still end up entering the supermarket together eventually.

Do they check for anything, at entrance of super market, before entering ?[/quote]
              There are also police doing random checks on vehicles - if you are going to work, you need a letter from your boss saying you are an essential service. No letter, you might get a warning. If they see more than one person in a car, that’s a red flag, as you’re not supposed to be driving places, except to work and supermarket, and only one person should be in the car for those trips. Of course, it’s all random, so they won’t catch everyone, but just the thought of potentially being caught is a bit of a deterrent I think.

Hi Fried Chicken,

Our situation are different.

New Zealand, same as Malaysia, our neighbour, are in full lock-down, very strict.

In Malaysia, a friend circulated a video to me, showed how Malaysian police harshly beat the legs of those wander-lust-around people very hard, who anyhow " run here, run there, like to jalan jalan".

Singapore, is in partial lock-down, thus not so strict, can dabao packet food back home to eat. Will Singapore one day, become full lock-down ? that we not sure

At the moment, so far, 90% hit virus are from fw dorm.

For locals, athough double-digit, number low, but still need to be cautious.
                Will there be a next second wave, that arise

- from fw staying outside dorm, or

- from those household, where their maids had met up once a week, with their fw boyfriends who had been infected ? Not all are infected
                We do not know

We will wait for govt announcement closer towards 4 May.

See this week or next week, any wave of maids got infected by fw ?

If No or very few,
                maybe government may not even extend CB, or extend by 1 week at most ? Or maybe after 4 May, tweak a bit

- let those SME shops open

- for schools,

let those older aged students like in Upper Sec ( 3 and 4 ) preparing for National O level exam, and JC1 and JC2 students preparing for A-level exam and Polytechnic students, go to school, because they are more mature

while those

younger students like (Sec 2 and below including primary school students), continue to stay at home, do HBL

• . Offline
                  .010675zeit

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1971828\" time=\"1587304571\" user_id=\"17023:

“Manually” calling each and every one of them? You know, even DHL scams are already automated. One day can dial out thousands of calls. 😆 As for language barrier, can still use machine translation tools lah.

I supposed after the manual calls, the most difficult part is to be able to link up the bits and pieces of info FAST enough to form the big picture. If really like you mentioned earlier, chart out the relationship trees manually (or using excel spreadsheet etc.), then what is the difference between what’s being done today and 10 years ago? Thought Singapore invested a lot in technology?

As to releasing patients particulars, I believe that is a red line MOH will not try to cross. And once a precedent is set, where to draw the line? Will MOH start to release HIV carriers’ names?

Regarding aggressive testing, Newspaper reported it as “active testing” and not “aggressive testing”. Active testing is like to lookout for someone who looks sick, then get him tested. Not ALL the FWs get tested. In no time, we will see army camps, HDB sites, SERS flats that have been used to house healthy FWs, take turns to report a spike in cases as all we need is just 1 asymptomatic FW among them.

I am not worried about those FWs as their schedules are quite known. But I am worried about those FWs residing outside dormitories. How many of them are out there and where are they staying now? An old private apartment in Balestier had put up a notice that a few FWs staying there are on SHN. I stopped going to Zhongshan Mall and City Square Mall (Farrer Park). FWs usually rent houses in Balestier/Little India/Geyland/Jurong etc. Some could be staying inside rented HDBs rented by their employers.
                  Yes! Very low-tech right?! Did you see PM's FB video of a Eurasian chap from SGH describing how they made those \"manual\" calls and logging them in Excel spreadsheet? I wonder what Smart Nation/ GovTech is doing sometimes.
                  Like TraceTogether requires you to turn on your Bluetooth at all times, which depletes many elderly's HP battery.

Not sure why they didn't adopt Geofencing or Electronic fencing that both of us were talking about last month, in relation to HK's electroinc wristbands.

No need to release the identities of the confirmed cases, but alert the public of their intimate movements over the said period.

You know late last night, Taiwan broadcast all the locations (9 counties) that the 24 ROC Navy personnel (confirmed cases) had stepped foot on over 3 days when they disembarked from the navy ship, after spending 1 mth away in Palau and on the sea.
                  https://news.tvbs.com.tw/life/1311604

Taiwan, like Korea, uses CB. Not our CB \"Circuit Breaker\", but CELL BROADCAST. They call it 细胞简讯. About 200,000 Taiwanese have received this CB on their HPs this morning to alert them they had been in the vicinity visited by the 24 Navy officers during their homecoming visits.

https://postimg.cc/tZvpwMms

I believe our CID is also tracking by GPS but they do it by themselves quietly, and make the calls to the affected persons privately. It's tedious. SAF officers must make 2,000 calls to confirmed cases per day.

I saw they colour-tag the FWs using rubber wristbands now.

Anyway, there are so many high-tech solutions they could have learnt from others, but maybe they are too proud? Only assume their 17-year-old SARS manual is ''Gold Standard'' SOP, and 4G don't even use their heads to think of better solutions, but listen to some powerful meddlesome person sitting high UP there.

• . Offline
                    .010675zeit

phtthp\" post_id=\"1971878\" time=\"1587349882\" user_id=\"35251:

Single mother, with 2 kindergartener children, one is 4 years old in Nursery, another is 5 years old in K1 kindergarten, but

- without her mother nor sibling nor father at home because her parents died long time ago, and

- this mother herself come from single child family, hence no sibling to turn to for advice nor for help, nor

- without any parent in law to help , because she is a single mother

- nor without any maid to help out at home because can't afford to hire maid.

And this Single mother need to go out to super market to buy grocery and buy milk for her kids to drink.
                    ...[snip]
                    Because It is Not practical, as different family household, encounter different circumstances (background),
                    face different set of challenges to cope.
                    There should be some schemes to support these vulnerables, right? You google first.

\"The minister added that MSF is also working with the People’s Association (PA) as it provides assistance in buying food and groceries for individuals who are under quarantine or serving stay-home notices, but lack support from their families or neighbours.

Additionally, Silver Generation Ambassadors from the Silver Generation Office have started visiting seniors who are frail or live alone in their homes to let them know about the COVID-19 precautionary measures.

“They also identify seniors who require additional assistance during this period, and link them up with the appropriate social service agencies and service providers to ensure that their needs are met,” said Mr Lee. \"

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-coronavirus-vulnerable-groups-msf-12613724

Btw, a single parent, who's the sole breadwinner, should have placed her child in subsidised full-day / 12-hr infantcare/ Childcare centre, rather than 4hr Kindy, no?

Those single parents who place their kids in Kindy could buy their essential items before swinging by the kindergarten to pick up the kids. If that single mom WFM, can order from NTUC/RedMart in advance and request for non-contact delivery on weekend?

Anyway, before CB, how did these single parents, or those ''maidless'' FTWMs with husbands who are always travelling, on shift, in hospitals or on SAF local/overseas missions, go about with their grocery shopping in the past? It boils down to time mgmt. Super woman power!
                    https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/away-family-defend-skies-rsaf-crew-live-base-covid-19-12656904

• zac's mumZ Offline
                      zac's mum

This morning I drove DH to hospital for his day surgery. Along the way, could see more than the usual number of people exercising (either jogging or cycling). I guess it’s a necessity for them to exercise otherwise mental health cannot tahan the stress??

Taxi stands got long queues of taxis all waiting for business.

By the way, Fairprice has a new “Scan and Go” app, that allows you to skip the queue. You just scan the barcode for each item and when you’ve finished scanning all, pay using credit card. Can either bring your own bag, or collect plastic bag at the exit to pack yourself.

Scan & Go is currently available at 4 outlets: Funan Mall, TPY HDB Hub, Vivo City, and Waterway Point.

https://postimg.cc/4KPLpHSb

https://postimg.cc/kBRpL42q

https://postimg.cc/94Cg4YJQ

I’ve done the solo parenting gig without maid for years. Never shopped for groceries during weekends (waste of precious time). Survived by ordering delivery for almost everything, so that I didnt need to step out of the house with whiny young kid. And frozen veggies do the same nutritional job as fresh veggies. So does UHT milk = fresh milk.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Oh now they upgraded to using mobile for scan&go? Been using scan&go at Fairprice for a few years already, the one using their scanner. Not sure why they do not make it available at all outlets. It really is a lot more convenient and you can see the value of the items you have put into your trolley. Fairprice charge for plastic bags now, so bring enough of your own shopping bags.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

hinlieH
                        hinlie