Child's Position in P1 Class
I used to be last. Then I jumped to 1st. So it doesn’t represent anything, really.
Pen88n:
the problem is currently he is 吃老本....Have you analyse why 94/100? Is it due to carelessness / something he didn't remember though taught / really something he don't know? Knowing this will enable you to take the right action, and not be like some other parents, jump straight into giving kid tuition.
I've a fren whose kid was getting ave ~90 at P1, and of course intiially she worried about it but she analysed and realised her son was just plain careless, not that he has \"gaps\" in knowledge. Now he's in upper primary, and he's still getting ave ~90. That's good results considering his sch exams are not that easy and he is now amongst the top in his cohort.
prior to pri, his pre-sch teacher commented his CL was much stronger than his EL. so for T1 & T2, I emphasized much on his EL and thus his EL score quite top in cohort.
And it is not surprised to see his CL drop to below 20% becoz he almost nver read/practices Chinese until the morning before exam .....
report book shows percentil band 2 for his CL. but the COP for HCL (starting from T3) is 90, a bit relief for me.....
the lesson i learned is that: no matter how weak you are, you can still excel it if you work hard... no matter how strong you are, you will underperform if you are complacent.... -
Just curious, is your school an elite or neighbourhood school if you don't mind sharing?
of coz dun mind sharing.
it is an elite neighbourhood school.... -
HyperKiasu:
hmmmm...interesting.of coz dun mind sharing.
it is an elite neighbourhood school....
CHS and RI are elite neighbourhood schools because they are in Bishan estate, right?
hahaha....it becomes more interesting liao..... :celebrate:hmmmm...interesting.
CHS and RI are elite neighbourhood schools because they are in Bishan estate, right?
if u want to walk through all HDB to reach the sch, then they are elite ngbd sch.
hmmmm...interesting.
if u dun like hdb, u can choose to walk through condominum, landed property to reach the sch, then they are pure elite ngbd sch.
in the sch, if u raise ur head to the east, all u can see is HDB flat, then it is elite ngbd sch,
if u dun like hdb, u can raise ur head to the west, all u can see is Condominum, then it is pure elite sch. -
HyperKiasu:
:laugh: :laugh:if u want to walk through all HDB to reach the sch, then they are elite ngbd sch.
if u dun like hdb, u can choose to walk through condominum, landed property to reach the sch, then they are pure elite ngbd sch.
in the sch, if u raise ur head to the east, all u can see is HDB flat, then it is elite ngbd sch,
if u dun like hdb, u can raise ur head to the west, all u can see is Condominum, then it is pure elite sch.
hyper interesting topic. :lol: -
hi,
May I know which primary school is still stating position in class in their student’s report book? As parents, what are your views of stating this piece of info? Anyone care to share?
Nanyang Primary - Nope
starts here: -
My DD is in P6 this year and there is no ranking/postion at all since P1. However we will know who is the 1st in class during yr end as she will get a prize.
No point in having position since we are given the range of marks (for all subjects) and thus will know which cat she is by subject - this includes the highest & lowest marks. I think this is good enough. -
hi mummyjoyce,
yr kid in Nanyang Pri?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.