Cedar Girls Secondary School
lywong\" post_id=\"2004957\" time=\"1606469296\" user_id=\"98397:
Hi, walking with a heavy bag for 15 minutes to and from school to the bus stop that is 15 mins walk outside the school. The walking distance actually put off a few of my friends’ daughters from considering the school and if you do not mind walking despite travelling a long duration to get to school, you can choose. Prepare to walk 15 mins daily after an exhausting long day in school from Cedar Sec to the bus stop that is 15 minutes away!
Hi all,
Are there parents who have girls travelling from the West (Clementi) to CGS?
How long does it take to reach in the morning peak hour?
Do you travel by MRT (EW line->Circle line->NE line), drop at Potong Pasir and walk 15 mins to school?
Thanks!
I was wondering why you did not consider Crescent Girls since it is located in South-West and you can take the train from Clementi which is nearer to your location.
There are other girls’ school that have direct bus 3 or 4 stops from train station to right-in-front-of the Sec school too. I think PLMGS is too far for you since you are in Clementi. I think the affiliated JC - ACJC is located near to Clementi area. -
Yes, the path from the bus stop along the main road to Cedar Girls school, is long & deep in. Even though got shelter, is still a long walk, deep in.
Some of my friends’ daughters although qualified for Cedar O-level / IP track last year, they did not choose Cedar because of the inconvenience everyday walking to and fro from bus-stop to school, especially on rainy days. It is a different matter, if they have parents who drive and drop them off at the school entrance gate everyday
For those who have yet to explore walking in, maybe try to do so, during this school holiday when you are free. Repeat the same walking for one week, 5 days, see if you can tahan the reality. If Yes, select this school. If No, drop this school
On the other hand, Cedar Girls do provide school bus one way in the morning to school, for certain parts of Singapore only. If got school bus to fetch u, then is still ok -
lywong\" post_id=\"2004957\" time=\"1606469296\" user_id=\"98397:
According to google map, there is a direct bus (154) from Clementi to cedar. By train, it’s a combi of EW line & NE line, alight at Potong Pasir.
Hi all,
Are there parents who have girls travelling from the West (Clementi) to CGS?
How long does it take to reach in the morning peak hour?
Do you travel by MRT (EW line->Circle line->NE line), drop at Potong Pasir and walk 15 mins to school?
Thanks!
Hundreds of Cedar girls take that walk every sch day, rain or shine. I’d like to believe that, most if not all, made Cedar their choiced sch despite that 12 min walk. The distance ain’t too bad as they usually walk with friends anyway. Let your girl try out the route. If that 12 min walk puts her off, then she’s not ready for the school because she’ll start the day unhappy.
Extra info. - On rainy day, there’s the option to alight at Woodleigh Station to take a bus (I think 1 stop), alight along Upper Aljunied Road, and walk 7min to Cedar (partly sheltered). My dd prefer to just walk from Potong Pasir -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2004861\" time=\"1606455466\" user_id=\"35251:
246 to go TKGS is wasted.
Cedar Girls Secondary is a dual track IP school, a popular school picked by students staying in the east or around Joo Seng / Potong Pasir
For O-level track,
Cedar Girls cut-off-point unlikely to drop to low 246
However, still can go ahead and put Cedar inside your 6 choices, as long as your last two choices, #5 and #6 are safety net schools, with at least 5 to 10 points below your own Tscore
Example
TKGS can be your #5 or #6 choice.
TKGS offer Economics in Sec 3, a wise choice school !
Thumbs up, TKGS
Tkgs standard is not as good as yrs ago.
Recent O level results L1R5 is 13.. it used to be 11-12..
Not all favour Econs in Sec 3. Maybe difficult to score given their maturity of handling Econs in upper sec. More prepared when in JC level.
Go for Cedar as no harm. -
How is CCA selection done? Understand there are auditions / trials for some CCAs? Does the school take into account your preference or you have to accept what is offered to you (following your performance at the auditions/trials)? Kindly enlighten. Thank you. -
Dear Parents,
To understand how the 2020 PSLE cohort performed and therefore have a better perspective of how the COPs of different secondary schools are likely to move (ie. increase or decrease), can parents of this year's cohort kindly help to post the highest T-score (please EXCLUDE the HCL bonus points) in their child's respective primary school by clicking on the below link?
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/t-scores/
Currently, the table only reflects the t-score information of < 20 schools which makes it difficult for any meaningful analysis. Hence, would like to appeal for more parents to step forward and share the highest t-score data in their child's primary school by clicking on the above link.
Many thanks in advance!
:thankyou:
https://postimg.cc/Z0x1k3KQ -
Olive3\" post_id=\"2005340\" time=\"1606555715\" user_id=\"121372:
I think most of the girls prefer to alight at Woodleigh and take bus for 2 stops.
According to google map, there is a direct bus (154) from Clementi to cedar. By train, it’s a combi of EW line & NE line, alight at Potong Pasir.
Hundreds of Cedar girls take that walk every sch day, rain or shine. I’d like to believe that, most if not all, made Cedar their choiced sch despite that 12 min walk. The distance ain’t too bad as they usually walk with friends anyway. Let your girl try out the route. If that 12 min walk puts her off, then she’s not ready for the school because she’ll start the day unhappy.
Extra info. - On rainy day, there’s the option to alight at Woodleigh Station to take a bus (I think 1 stop), alight along Upper Aljunied Road, and walk 7min to Cedar (partly sheltered). My dd prefer to just walk from Potong Pasir
That path is much shorter and sheltered.
Actually, I kind of like it as my girl is couch potato.
MotherofAv\" post_id=\"2004368\" time=\"1606367231\" user_id=\"189736:
Subject combi offered for IP. Not sure about O level.
Dear parents/students of Cedar,
my child has obtained 249 and even though she is at the borderline of the cutoff point, we are considering for the 'O' level program of Cedar. We have some concerns and your input will greatly help us to make the decision.
Assuming she is lucky to get into the school of her choice:
Since she is at the borderline for last year's cutoff point, we worry that she is not as academically strong when compared to her peers who entered the school with higher tscores, hence, making it more pressurized for her to perform. Any insights on my thought?
I also understand that at Sec 3 they will be split into different classes based on the combinations given. Is it true that those who are taking the combined science will be at a disadvantage when they select JC?
https://ibb.co/xMTMNfR -
Generations of Cedarians had walked from the bus stop to the school and in the years before the MRT station was built, walked across the cemetery on a daily basis without much fanfare or worries. I guess if potential students aren’t even able to tahan this small challenge, they probably don’t have “it”.
floppy\" post_id=\"2006467\" time=\"1606889925\" user_id=\"97579:
IKR! Never heard my DD complain about 4 years of walking. Rain or shine also walk cos we don't ferry her much at that time. btw, they don't walk across the cemetery lah.
Generations of Cedarians had walked from the bus stop to the school and in the years before the MRT station was built, walked across the cemetery on a daily basis without much fanfare or worries. I guess if potential students aren’t even able to tahan this small challenge, they probably don’t have “it”.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.