All About Primary Schools' Balloting History

2.5k Posts 606 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
    • zac's mumZ Offline
      zac's mum

chesfel\" post_id=\"2020310\" time=\"1618321542\" user_id=\"1544:

Hi all,

If 2A1 is oversubscribed, how to they identified who to go in?
      Divide into the usual distance categories and ballot:
      <1km
      1-2km
      >2km

chesfel

So if the alumni paid for the membership which is not cheap as what I know and don’t get in. They may end 2C too?

Hmm… does this plan worth it? Or should plan properly in advance?

• zac's mumZ Offline
          zac's mum

chesfel\" post_id=\"2020313\" time=\"1618322741\" user_id=\"1544:

So if the alumni paid for the membership which is not cheap as what I know and don’t get in. They may end 2C too?

Hmm.. does this plan worth it? Or should plan properly in advance?
          So far there are only a tiny handful of schools that balloted in 2A1. And usually only for >2km category.

Example was St Nicholas Girls (certain popular years). Other schools probably safe for all alumni distances.

If u can move nearer, move nearer. Almost all SNGS alumni I know moving <1km liao.

• StevenageS Offline
            Stevenage

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2020312\" time=\"1618322389\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2020312 time=1618322389 user_id=53606]
            chesfel\" post_id=\"2020310\" time=\"1618321542\" user_id=\"1544:
            Divide into the usual distance categories and ballot:
            <1km
            1-2km
            >2km
            @chesfel

Scenario Example A:
            Vacancies is 92.
            Applicants is 97:
            10 < 1km^,
            14 between 1-2km^ and
            73 > 2km

All within 1 km (10) will get in, slots left: 92 -10 = 82
            All between 1 to 2 km (14) will get in, slots left: 82 - 14 = 68

The remaining 73 who are > 2km will ballot for the 68 remaining slots.

68 will be successful, 5 will not.

If you question is how do they choose who in 2A1 among the 68 gets in, the answer is: they don't.

Balloting results are completely random.

• StevenageS Offline
              Stevenage

If you are balloted out in 2A1 because of your distance (so far only >2km had to ballot), chances are you won't even have a chance to ballot for 2C because the competitive bracket for such schools is usually <1km.

Better to move nearer if possible.

chesfel

So it is still depend on the distance. To get a better chance on 2A1, you will have stay within 1km as there may be a lot of people stay within 1-2km

Paying expensive alumni fees doesn’t guarantee anything, if balloting arise at 2A1.

Once failed balloting at 2A1,
                  which means 2A2 get bypassed,

parents need to consider other schools to enrol their child, unless

they happen to stay less than 1 km from Popular school, then still got second last chance to bite the cherry one more time, under 2C competition.

So far, those popular schools where 2A1 balloting arose,
                  is for SC children staying more than 2 km, need to ballot.

Example

For SC kids staying more than 2 km from St Nick who failed balloting at Phase 2A1,
                  they can still be enrolled into CHIJ Katong at Phase 2C. Just change to another CHIJ primary school, but still remain within the same set of CHIJ family school culture & values

Under Phase 2C,
                  if want All Girls school, usually

- CHIJ Katong primary

- St Margaret primary

- Marymount Convent primary

- St Anthony Cannosian primary

will still have seats, for SC girls living more than 2 km

• zac's mumZ Offline
                    zac's mum

Read this KSP article:

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/p1-registration-2020-for-2021-phase-2a1-2/

Those are the popular primary schools which go into balloting at phase 2A1. If you are not from those schools, then don’t need to move closer lor.

• floppyF Offline
                      floppy

Why not just name the school and we can tell you whether it’s worth it or not.

• Sunnyz.044963S Offline
                        Sunnyz.044963

Hi, this is my first time asking about the P1 registration question, my son is SG50, Singaporean, will go to primary school in 2022, I am the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan member, I live within 1km from Tao Nan School, I want to ask that if we want to go Tao Nan School, I still need to ballot or not? Who have the data for past years, please? Thank you for info.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 236 / 253