2022 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (born in 2010)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    2.1k Posts 219 Posters 774.1k Views 1 Watching
    • radiant00R Offline
      radiant00

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2002700\" time=\"1605486455\" user_id=\"188234:

Notabene\" post_id=\"2002693\" time=\"1605456888\" user_id=\"36517:

Anyone give any advice about Higher Chinese and whether they should take it if offered? If only advantage is for SAP schools entry, then is there any point in encouraging the child to accept the recommendation from school unless child super loves it? It means extra classes ie time and effort

There is some recent commentary from the bottom of page 23 onwards.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=6468&start=220

Personally, if the student was offered (i.e. not struggling in CL) I don't see much downside (can always drop in P6) and you have option value (SAP entry, may make taking HCL in Secondary school easier, etc). But others don't see much upside and think there is a lot of downside (time and effort).

I could go either way on the intermediate term pros/cons. Since PSLE is the next milestone for the student the biggest factor is probably whether he/she has a weak subject among Math/Science/English that needs to be improved within the next two years.

I would suggest kids consistently scoring more than 80% in CL to take higher Chinese. My elder son just went through PSLE and we believe that higher Chinese course helped a lot to increase his standard course performance. And it did not really take that much of extra time honestly.

However if kid has other weaker subjects to push for then it’s not really important to take higher mother tongue, the most important thing for AL scoring is to make sure the kid doing good in all subjects.

• radiant00R Offline
        radiant00

radiant00\" post_id=\"2005156\" time=\"1606519676\" user_id=\"118087:

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2002700\" time=\"1605486455\" user_id=\"188234:

[quote=Notabene post_id=2002693 time=1605456888 user_id=36517]Anyone give any advice about Higher Chinese and whether they should take it if offered? If only advantage is for SAP schools entry, then is there any point in encouraging the child to accept the recommendation from school unless child super loves it? It means extra classes ie time and effort

There is some recent commentary from the bottom of page 23 onwards.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=6468&start=220

Personally, if the student was offered (i.e. not struggling in CL) I don't see much downside (can always drop in P6) and you have option value (SAP entry, may make taking HCL in Secondary school easier, etc). But others don't see much upside and think there is a lot of downside (time and effort).

I could go either way on the intermediate term pros/cons. Since PSLE is the next milestone for the student the biggest factor is probably whether he/she has a weak subject among Math/Science/English that needs to be improved within the next two years.

I would suggest kids consistently scoring more than 80% in CL to take higher Chinese. My elder son just went through PSLE and we believe that higher Chinese course helped a lot to increase his standard course performance. And it did not really take that much of extra time honestly.

My younger Ds, who is going for PSLE 2022, also took up offer a few weeks ago.

However if kid has other weaker subjects to push for then it’s not really important to take higher mother tongue, the most important thing for AL scoring is to make sure the kid doing good in all subjects.[/quote]

Susanna0_0

Thanks @floppy . Understand it is still at an early stage until 2021 batch have their result

• coastC Offline
            coast

When the official school year starts on Jan 4 for Ministry of Education (MOE) kindergartens and primary schools, only Kindergarten 1 (K1) children and Primary 1 (P1) pupils need to report to their new schools.

Kindergarten 2 and Primary 2 to Primary 6 children will remain at home and report to school only on Jan 5. It will be an extra day of holiday for these older children.

MOE said on Friday (Dec 18) that special education and secondary schools will also reopen on Jan 4, while junior colleges (JCs) and Millennia Institute (MI) will start on Jan 11.

On the earlier start date for K1 and P1 children, MOE said this is to better welcome the younger children, and ensure that safe management measures can be implemented effectively.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/parenting-education/school-to-reopen-from-jan-4-staggered-days-for-p1-k1-kids-and-others

• zac's mumZ Offline
              zac's mum

Hello hello! Reviving this thread, which has been very “cold” so far…

How are my fellow parents doing? Are your kids still having their P5 WAs?

Mine WA over last week & now waiting for the papers to be marked…

I’m thinking what to revise during the upcoming June holidays…

- CL: the weakest subject, probably have to go thru P4 and P5 vocab all over again to recap. Speak more & read more.
              - SC: tutor will pre-teach T3 topics in advance, my side I’ll probably get him to finish up all those PYP OEQ that he didn’t manage to complete.
              - MA: certain topics very weak in the problem sums, will spend time to practice more.
              - EL: do PYP for S&T and Compre.

Any blind spots that I missed out? What are the usual components that most kids find difficult?

• SG_KP1S Offline
                SG_KP1

My kid still have the WAs in Week 9. I guess the teachers will be putting in an all-nighter or weekends to get them graded before PCTC in Week 10.

Not sure on the June holiday. I’ve been wondering if there will be CCA sessions and/or any lessons over the break? Maybe the schools will hold off to reduce transit, intermingling, etc.

Looking back, pre-COVID I don’t remember the kids doing much over the June holidays. Use the time to rest and recover. But now there is no travel and only so much to do at home so will probably pick a few things to brush up on. Still, I think the car also needs an adequate pit stop. It’s hard to drive 100 km/h every day for 40+ weeks straight. Risk breaking down right before the finish line…

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

Not sure about CCAs but usually nothing during June. There’s supposedly some STEAM enrichment camp and one external Oral revision camp, but dunno still proceeding or not…

Since there’s nowhere to go & no one wants to meet up I’m sure, might as well have him do some light work at home next to me while I’m WFH too. We are not the kind who likes last-minute cramming in the few short weeks before WA3 or SA2 (which will test P1-P5 work), so to space out everything nicely bit by bit is more relaxing for us.

• SG_KP1S Offline
                    SG_KP1

Pre-COVID, my girl’s CCA usually had 6-10 sessions over the June break (boy’s CCA never met) but we haven’t received notice yet so wondering if it is on hold? Similarly, she mentioned teachers were planning to have them sit for the full SA1 type papers during one week (exclude oral/LC and Paper 1s for the languages), so they are accustomed to the longer format before SA2. Wouldn’t be used in the term or year grade anywhere but would give them (students and teachers) a sense of where they stand. But have not heard on this either, so wondering if it too is on hold?

Agree there is not much to do, so best to make some progress where we can.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                      zac's mum

Depends on which CCAs I guess. Maybe sports/music teams require more regular practice.

Your girl’s school teachers are so “on” to make them come back to do SA1 practice papers :yikes: My DS would probably protest like siao, all content returned to teacher liao. I heard some schools did give the kids mock SA1 papers in their lead up to WA2, for that same reason - to give them a feel of timed full Paper 2 practice.

• chenlaoshiC Offline
                        chenlaoshi

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2023854\" time=\"1620875697\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2023854 time=1620875697 user_id=53606]
                        Hello hello! Reviving this thread, which has been very “cold” so far...

How are my fellow parents doing? Are your kids still having their P5 WAs?

Mine WA over last week & now waiting for the papers to be marked...

I’m thinking what to revise during the upcoming June holidays...

- CL: the weakest subject, probably have to go thru P4 and P5 vocab all over again to recap. Speak more & read more.
                        - SC: tutor will pre-teach T3 topics in advance, my side I’ll probably get him to finish up all those PYP OEQ that he didn’t manage to complete.
                        - MA: certain topics very weak in the problem sums, will spend time to practice more.
                        - EL: do PYP for S&T and Compre.

Any blind spots that I missed out? What are the usual components that most kids find difficult?[/quote]
                        Hi zac's mum,

For CL, you may want to work on preparation for oral examination with DS - expanding on his range of vocab, esp. for nouns and verbs, starting with objects/places that we often come into contact in our daily lives (https://sandaochinese.com/%E5%B0%8F%E5%AD%A6%E5%8F%A3%E8%AF%95%E8%8B%B1%E6%B1%89%E8%AF%8D%E6%B1%87%E5%AF%B9%E7%85%A7%E8%A1%A8/) . Given that the current Pri 5 batch will only have 2-3 more official oral examinations before PSLE and the actual exam is in Aug, it's good to start preparation early. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 210