Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2039252\" time=\"1632459424\" user_id=\"14025:

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2039250\" time=\"1632458550\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=starlight1968sg post_id=2039245 time=1632457128 user_id=14025]what is more to tighten? Reduce the number of fully jabbed to dine out? Everybody is very concern on the current wave.

Tighter measures: We could go back to full CB, all offices and restaurants closed, all schools on HBL, cut back on flights, tourists, etc. But what's the point? This rise in cases has to happen - if not now, then later. The rate of increase can be slowed (hence the current measures, and the threat of even more measures), but the increase itself has to happen sooner or later. It's just whether it happens quickly or slowly.

I am more incline to go back to full CB to curb the spread in the community despite the majority of the population is fully vaccinated[/quote]How much slower can they open up? If we go back to CB, then when they start opening up, this upsurge in cases will happen anyway. It's now or later, it can't be avoided. CB will curb the no. of cases, but will only do so if CB is continued in perpetuity. That is not possible.

• Z Offline
        zeit.033699

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2039268\" time=\"1632465692\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2039268 time=1632465692 user_id=53606]
        floppy\" post_id=\"2039266\" time=\"1632463984\" user_id=\"97579:
        I think their security bracelet/anklet will trigger an alarm to wherever (MOH? Police?) if they step outside the sensor installed at their main door.
        But MOH doesn't electronically tag every one hor. Don't ask me how many Gateway units they have procured. For instance, this CK's father was not tagged and sneaked out to water his plants and even went out for breakfast! If not tagged, you can walk to a 24h supermarket too at 2am.

Her father, who \"doesn't like to sit in one place for too long\", has also been roaming around their home, according to CK.

When CK and her other family members came back home from a clinic to do their polymerase chain reaction PCR tests as instructed by MOH, she noticed her plants outside had been watered, and deduced that her father had once again stepped out of the flat.

The other elderly, L's father and family were tagged though, but the family members could not stop their father from walking around the house!

https://mothership.sg/2021/09/home-recovery-scheme-moh-elderly/

• ZappyZ Offline
          Zappy

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2039255\" time=\"1632459577\" user_id=\"14025:

Only takeaway would severely affect businesses and the livelihood of some.
          HBL to begin on 27 Sep?
          Any tightening would surely affect people in one way or another.
          But what's the alternative - we can't possibly live like this forever since this thing isn't going away.
          We can probably bubble-wrap ourselves and get to zero cases now but as long as we open up eventually, we are still going to see cases go up.

HBL on 27 Sep only applies to pri school kids though. If they really wanna tighten, then applying this to all levels (sec, jc) is another thing they can do - they've already done that once before last year.

Zappy\" post_id=\"2039284\" time=\"1632469914\" user_id=\"134817:

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2039255\" time=\"1632459577\" user_id=\"14025:

Only takeaway would severely affect businesses and the livelihood of some.
            HBL to begin on 27 Sep?

Any tightening would surely affect people in one way or another.
            But what's the alternative - we can't possibly live like this forever since this thing isn't going away.
            We can probably bubble-wrap ourselves and get to zero cases now but as long as we open up eventually, we are still going to see cases go up.

HBL on 27 Sep only applies to pri school kids though. If they really wanna tighten, then applying this to all levels (sec, jc) is another thing they can do - they've already done that once before last year.

Secondary school Principal told the Sec school students that since majority have already been jabbed, no need to HBL. As such, Principal not keen, not interested to HBL our Secondary school students. Prefer them to attend school, F2F, onsite. Anyway, school routine have already put in place \" once a month, practise HBL familiarization routine\" implementation.

Anyway, 2 more weeks EOY will be over, for Sec 1 to 3 (OP and IP) students. Now is year-end exam period, for the Sec (1s to 3s). The last paper for end of the year school exam is held on Friday, 8 Oct, in a number of Secondary schools. When is 8 Oct ?
            only 2 weeks away !

After 8 Oct,
            if MOE want to close the entire Term 4 school Term, bring forward the year end school holidays to start earlier, can, by all means ! Then, our Secondary school students will just get back their report card next year, when January 2022 new academic year start.

However, it will create another new problem ! Because with such a long school holiday ahead, naturally, students will be bored staying at home whole day. What will they do ? Pour out, spill over effect into the streets, onto the road, into MRT train cabin, go shopping centre , window shopping, makan inside air-con restaurant, jalan jalan, look see look see, because too bored staying at home, can't be confined, imprisoned at home, whole day looking at the 4 walls. Some more, is school holiday, supposed to shake leg, enjoy, not regular Term time, no need to study. Then what happen? Numbers will rise again !

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

zeit.\" post_id=\"2039274\" time=\"1632467763\" user_id=\"194295:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2039268\" time=\"1632465692\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2039268 time=1632465692 user_id=53606]

But MOH doesn't electronically tag every one hor. Don't ask me how many Gateway units they have procured. For instance, this CK's father was not tagged and sneaked out to water his plants and even went out for breakfast! If not tagged, you can walk to a 24h supermarket too at 2am.

Her father, who \"doesn't like to sit in one place for too long\", has also been roaming around their home, according to CK.

When CK and her other family members came back home from a clinic to do their polymerase chain reaction PCR tests as instructed by MOH, she noticed her plants outside had been watered, and deduced that her father had once again stepped out of the flat.

The other elderly, L's father and family were tagged though, but the family members could not stop their father from walking around the house!

https://mothership.sg/2021/09/home-recovery-scheme-moh-elderly/

There are many other solutions besides stepping out.

Another possibility. Eg the Stay Home had to order food to settle their meals issue. They could have left the proper bagged rubbish outside and asked the rider to help throw on his / her way out. Then offer a nice tip for their troubles. Most riders would be willing to help if explain nicely.

• SG_KP1S Offline
                SG_KP1

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-dining-group-size-two-social-gatherings-reduced-moh-2199456

• SG_KP1S Offline
                  SG_KP1

One more day of HBL...

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-hbl-extended-oct-7-psle-break-tuition-online-2199541

• ZappyZ Offline
                    Zappy

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2039296\" time=\"1632479875\" user_id=\"188234:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-dining-group-size-two-social-gatherings-reduced-moh-2199456
                    Haiz... liddat how to ever open up and get back to a semblance of normal life if we cannot even tahan the higher number of cases while the hospitals & ICU are still able to cope.

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2039297\" time=\"1632481011\" user_id=\"188234:

One more day of HBL...

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-hbl-extended-oct-7-psle-break-tuition-online-2199541
                      so, no more Children day celebration this year on 7 Oct, where Teachers give small gifts to the whole class

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                        starlight1968sg

Zappy\" post_id=\"2039299\" time=\"1632481400\" user_id=\"134817:

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2039296\" time=\"1632479875\" user_id=\"188234:

Haiz... liddat how to ever open up and get back to a semblance of normal life if we cannot even tahan the higher number of cases while the hospitals & ICU are still able to cope.

On one hand, we want to be safe and this is obvious.
                        One the other hand, we want to open up and this is normal bec we cant be close forever.

What left will be just to tweak the measures lor... Nothing new šŸ˜ž

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1