Chung Cheng High (Main)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    1.3k Posts 283 Posters 521.6k Views 1 Watching
    • bbbayB Offline
      bbbay

phtthp\" post_id=\"2048409\" time=\"1637849245\" user_id=\"35251:

bbbay\" post_id=\"2048344\" time=\"1637839243\" user_id=\"175278:

There were 5 triple science classes for Sec 3 2021.

Unless the student like science, else, is 3 science a wise choice ?

1)
      For 2021 Sec 3, Total,
      how many classes are there ?

Total - 5 classes = the rest,
      are all

( Double Pure Science + Double Humanities) classes ?

2)
      for those end of Sec 2 students taking Sec 3 Double Pure Sciences, how do u decide whether to discard / drop Sec 3 ( Bio or Physics ) ?

By looking at the strength of your own Sec 2 Science subject performance + your future career path consideration ?

How do u know that u are not dropping the wrong Science subject (at Sec 3 Bio vs. Physics) ?

2021:
      Correction: Total 10 Sec 3 classes, not 9
      Correction: 4 triple science classes, not 5
      5 double humanity classes
      1 class with no extra subject .

Next year 2022: I heard from my son, 9 Sec 3 classes, with 3 triple science classes

Taxi-Driver

May I know the walking distance and time taken from Dakota MRT station and any walkway shelter ?

School allow to drive in the main gate and drop off?

• bbbayB Offline
          bbbay

Taxi-Driver\" post_id=\"2048777\" time=\"1637929054\" user_id=\"34486:

May I know the walking distance and time taken from Dakota MRT station and any walkway shelter ?

School allow to drive in the main gate and drop off?
          I suppose it depend how fast you walk. It’s around 10-15 min type of distance.

Just outside the MRT station you can get shelter from the HDB blocks but rest of the journey (85% or so) no shelter.

The previous principle strongly discourage parent driving child to school, but let take public transport. His reasoning is “if now don’t start to let your child learn to care/manage for themselves, then when?”

Taxi-Driver

Attended this morning YouTube channel introduction by the school principal and decided to Reece with daughter by MRT and walking to the school rear gate. The traveling time from Sengkang to the school is about 52 minutes

Wondering will she be able to cope with the distance for the next 4 years .

Noticed the compound area is run down

• bbbayB Offline
              bbbay

Taxi-Driver\" post_id=\"2048979\" time=\"1637993109\" user_id=\"34486:

Attended this morning YouTube channel introduction by the school principal and decided to Reece with daughter by MRT and walking to the school rear gate. The traveling time from Sengkang to the school is about 52 minutes

2 national heritage structures inside the compound. This program introduces in depth about CCHM;

https://www.mewatch.sg/watch/Tuesday-Report-When-the-Bell-Rings-S2-E5-Nurturing-Talents-by-Lakeside-%28Chung-Cheng-High-School%29--71447

FantasyLandDreams

Perhaps you can consider Nan Chiau High too due to distance factor? A classmate received confirmed offer for both Nan Chiau high and chung Cheng for arts- related DSA in 2019. In the end she chose Nan Chiau due to distance factor I think, as staying in Sengkang too. Just sharing.

Taxi-Driver

FantasyLandDreams\" post_id=\"2049087\" time=\"1638017968\" user_id=\"105816:

Perhaps you can consider Nan Chiau High too due to distance factor? A classmate received confirmed offer for both Nan Chiau high and chung Cheng for arts- related DSA in 2019. In the end she chose Nan Chiau due to distance factor I think, as staying in Sengkang too. Just sharing.

Daughter want to continue netball in secondary school and Nan Chiau doesn’t have netball as CCA

My block is just opposite Nan Chiau and is comparable shorter distance than CCHM

Since you stay Sengkang, CCHM not convenient.

Imagine, everyday (public transport),

1) your daughter have to catch a bus from your house to Sengkang mrt.

2) take North-east (purple line mrt) from Sengkang, down to Serangoon mrt Interchange

3) then from Serangoon mrt interchange, walk across the travellator to the yellow Circle line, take to Darkota mrt station.

4) from Darkota, walk to school ? Walk how long ?

Goodness !
                    All these changing buses and changing MRT line, walking around, is going to tire out your poor daughter.

Ask your girl to try out 1 week first, see if she can tahan. Not to mention next 4 years ahead, everyday to and fro.

Pls choose another school, nearer Sengkang.

=========================

Another important thing !

Actually, why you want her to choose CCHM ?
                    Because of the Affliation to Nanyang Junior College, after her O level ?

But,
                    even if your daughter were to go to some other Secondary school, as long as she

1) can clear O-level (HCL) at end of Sec 4

And

2) can score 2 Cca points,
                    that's it ! She already can score maximum 4 points discounted liao !

Moreover,
                    there are so many other Cca, besides netball.
                    Be open minded to try other types of Cca.

Convenient distance travel is far more important than Cca (eg. netball for your girl) for Secondary school students

Because of

1) The frequent number of times they need to stay back after school, every week

And

2) the heavy burden of studying so many subjects (8 or 9), in Upper Sec 3 and 4. Time is so important, esp . in Sec 4.

Imagine.
                    If go to school take more than an hour, including waiting for buses, waiting for mrt train to come, time needed to walk to school. Means every day, u need at least 2.5 hours just for travelling, how much time have been wasted ? After that, reach home, need to rest too, right ?

Thinker

Taxi-Driver\" post_id=\"2049129\" time=\"1638023811\" user_id=\"34486:

FantasyLandDreams\" post_id=\"2049087\" time=\"1638017968\" user_id=\"105816:

[quote=Taxi-Driver post_id=2048979 time=1637993109 user_id=34486]Attended this morning YouTube channel introduction by the school principal and decided to Reece with daughter by MRT and walking to the school rear gate. The traveling time from Sengkang to the school is about 52 minutes

Daughter want to continue netball in secondary school and Nan Chiau doesn’t have netball as CCA

My block is just opposite Nan Chiau and is comparable shorter distance than CCHM[/quote]In Sec sch, most sports CCAs need to go through selection trials or have been selected via DSA. Have you anticipated what happened if your DD got in CCHM but not netball?

• bbbayB Offline
                        bbbay

phtthp\" post_id=\"2049164\" time=\"1638054991\" user_id=\"35251:

Since you stay Sengkang, CCHM not convenient.

Imagine, everyday (public transport),

1) your daughter have to catch a bus from your house to Sengkang mrt.

2) take North-east (purple line mrt) from Sengkang, down to Serangoon mrt Interchange

3) then from Serangoon mrt interchange, walk across the travellator to the yellow Circle line, take to Darkota mrt station.

4) from Darkota, walk to school ? Walk how long ?

Goodness !
                        All these changing buses and changing MRT line, walking around, is going to tire out your poor daughter.

Ask your girl to try out 1 week first, see if she can tahan. Not to mention next 4 years ahead, everyday to and fro.

Pls choose another school, nearer Sengkang.

=========================

Another important thing !

Actually, why you want her to choose CCHM ?
                        Because of the Affliation to Nanyang Junior College, after her O level ?

But,
                        even if your daughter were to go to some other Secondary school, as long as she

1) can clear O-level (HCL) at end of Sec 4

And

2) can score 2 Cca points,
                        that's it ! She already can score maximum 4 points discounted liao !

Moreover,
                        there are so many other Cca, besides netball.
                        Be open minded to try other types of Cca.

Convenient distance travel is far more important than Cca (eg. netball for your girl) for Secondary school students

Because of

1) The frequent number of times they need to stay back after school, every week

And

2) the heavy burden of studying so many subjects (8 or 9), in Upper Sec 3 and 4. Time is so important, esp . in Sec 4.

Imagine.
                        If go to school take more than an hour, including waiting for buses, waiting for mrt train to come, time needed to walk to school. Means every day, u need at least 2.5 hours just for travelling, how much time have been wasted ? After that, reach home, need to rest too, right ?

Hi parents sharing with you my experience and what I know about it:

My child are in CCHM and I stay In Punggol. After CCA they reach home closed to 8pm. After dinner they do their homework and get to sleep before 11pm , latest.

My child told me before, he knows a student , after reaching home, bcos of tireness, sleep right away without taking dinner. That student will wake up around 10pm , to take dinner and do home work. And turn in during wee hours. And having to wake up early next day for school and feeling tired due to sleeping late,so the vicious cycle continue.

I ask my child why that student is tired after reaching home but he is not. My child told me bcos that student was not focus while doing homework, playing with phone. Thus works till wee hours and the not enough sleep causes the tirednesses when reach home next day , sleep a while and only start doing homework late at night, and the play on phone continue, and the cycle continue.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 104 / 130