Can through-train school work in kiasu Singapore?
Speaking as a parent whose kid went thru PSLE last year, looking back my opinion is that this exam was a waste of our time. Two entire school years (P5 and P6) were unnecessarily spent by the teachers on nothing but cramming the topics into the kids, managing their stress levels, making them set grade targets and then coaching them on mental health management, stress management, answer parents’ panicked queries on how to improve grades…and at the end of it all, after the big exam, we have an entire admin exercise on sorting the kids into their matching level of secondary school.
Did I really need to go thru that entire rigamarole to find out that my child is just plain average academically? I think not. Would have skipped that for strolling along smelling the flowers and still end up at same outcome, thanks. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100883\" time=\"1678700188\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100883 time=1678700188 user_id=53606]
If you look at our system, it is like ancient China where they have this major exam for the whole country to sift out the best \"scholar\" to help run the country for the emperor. GEP also another one. Every year sure have 400/500 gifted students? Come on.
Speaking as a parent whose kid went thru PSLE last year, looking back my opinion is that this exam was a waste of our time. Two entire school years (P5 and P6) were unnecessarily spent by the teachers on nothing but cramming the topics into the kids, managing their stress levels, making them set grade targets and then coaching them on mental health management, stress management, answer parents’ panicked queries on how to improve grades…and at the end of it all, after the big exam, we have an entire admin exercise on sorting the kids into their matching level of secondary school.
Did I really need to go thru that entire rigamarole to find out that my child is just plain average academically? I think not. Would have skipped that for strolling along smelling the flowers and still end up at same outcome, thanks.[/quote] -
Ancient China scholar exam not compulsory for all 12-year-olds right?
Not meaning to pick for the sake of picking, but just wanted to note that using existing affiliated schools has a problem. Which ones to use? Eg Nanyang is not same level as Ngee Ann… -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100887\" time=\"1678701021\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100887 time=1678701021 user_id=53606]
That is why I said some schools need to change and make sacrifices. If not nothing will change.
Ancient China scholar exam not compulsory for all 12-year-olds right?
Not meaning to pick for the sake of picking, but just wanted to note that using existing affiliated schools has a problem. Which ones to use? Eg Nanyang is not same level as Ngee Ann…[/quote] -
kaisuism\" post_id=\"2100880\" time=\"1678699390\" user_id=\"199574:
I think the real issue is in the implementation
Of course it can work. But the MOE is lazy to make it work. It requires some schools to change and make sacrifices. IMO we don't need all the schools to operate through train because there are always some parents who prefer PSLE. So some schools can remain non-through train schools. I suggest 3 type of schools in operation :
1. Through train schools. Ideally the school chosen should be schools with affiliation to secondary schools. The students from these schools will not be allow to take PSLE and will only go to a specific secondary school. Hence to make it easier, schools with affiliation should be chosen. The students are not allow to participate in GEP/DSA or go to IP schools or SOTA/NUSH. At the end of sec 4 they will take O level which is their first major examination.
2. Normal schools with PSLE. Students from this school will take PSLE. Same as the current way.
3. I don't have a name for it but the 3rd category school will be schools for students(or parents) who are unsure to go through train or take PSLE and will make a decision at the end of P4. Those who decide to take PSLE will have the option to DSA etc as the current way. Those who decide not to take PSLE will go to through train secondary schools.
a) How do parent knows if through-train is right for their children? How do parents pick which school is best for their child at the preschool level? There may be late bloomers, or yet-to-discover talents.
b) What if parents regret choosing the school and wish to opt out?
c) If the secondary school is branded, how do we ensure P1 enrollment is fair and transparent and won't turn into a big competition?
d) If through-train students are not eligible for IP and DSA selection, there will be fewer applicants hence COP may be lower. less demand = a higher chance. Could parents end up favoring PSLE route instead?
e) Will students or society think that those who take PSLE route are smarter and better than those who do through-train? -
Therefore it may be more acceptable for the thru-train school to be a less popular neighborhood school, convert it to run the 10-year program. Or a newly built and named school in a young town.
Same curriculum as the rest of Singapore, so nothing actually needs to change, except that the P5 and P6 years can be spent less on training PSLE exam techniques in May to October, more on whatever holistic programs they have. Weighted assessments still appear every term (just like other schools’ P1-P5) but of no consequence, just a practice and gauge for students and their parents.
And the options to transfer out / in at various points, as the kids grow older and parents can tell which system suits better. -
Veyron\" post_id=\"2100896\" time=\"1678704333\" user_id=\"30663:
a) choose cat 3 school if unsure.
I think the real issue is in the implementation
a) How do parent knows if through-train is right for their children? How do parents pick which school is best for their child at the preschool level? There may be late bloomers, or yet-to-discover talents.
b) What if parents regret choosing the school and wish to opt out?
c) If the secondary school is branded, how do we ensure P1 enrollment is fair and transparent and won't turn into a big competition?
d) If through-train students are not eligible for IP and DSA selection, there will be fewer applicants hence COP may be lower. less demand = a higher chance. Could parents end up favoring PSLE route instead?
e) Will students or society think that those who take PSLE route are smarter and better than those who do through-train?
b) If MOE really implement through train, which some parents asking for it, and these parents regret after that, too bad then. There is no opt out because they reject the current system before that.
c) Currently enrollment for P1 to reputed primary schools with reputed affiliated school are already competitive. So I don't think there is a need to change because by choosing to go to these through train schools, parents give up GEP, DSA and IP opportunities. So it depends what the parents want for their children.
d) If there are parents ending up favouring PSLE route, that means they accept competition and embrace it which is a good thing. If the concern is fewer applicants, lower COP, then lower the supply for IP and DSA to maintain the demand.
e) No I don't think so. If these through train schools can regularly come up with outstanding O level performance, it will reaffirm the logic that we should not test the children too early, give them opportunity to grow and enjoy learning without the pressure of PSLE. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100898\" time=\"1678705434\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100898 time=1678705434 user_id=53606]
If we allow transfer out, there will be parents taking advantage of it. My suggestion of type 3 school maybe the choice for unsure parents. I chose at P4 to decide because you need at least 2 years to prepare for PSLE. So at end of P4 you do not want your child to take PSLE, then just finish primary school and apply for one of the through train secondary schools which will have specific criteria to get in. Eg distance.
Therefore it may be more acceptable for the thru-train school to be a less popular neighborhood school, convert it to run the 10-year program. Or a newly built and named school in a young town.
Same curriculum as the rest of Singapore, so nothing actually needs to change, except that the P5 and P6 years can be spent less on training PSLE exam techniques in May to October, more on whatever holistic programs they have. Weighted assessments still appear every term (just like other schools’ P1-P5) but of no consequence, just a practice and gauge for students and their parents.
And the options to transfer out / in at various points, as the kids grow older and parents can tell which system suits better.[/quote] -
Transfer out will be to a non-thru train neighborhood school lah. There are no vacancies in the popular schools liao. Unless willing to waitlist many years just like the other folks. Let this be an option if they suddenly discover the kid can ace exams and want to join the rat race.
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100910\" time=\"1678709496\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100910 time=1678709496 user_id=53606]
Why do you need to transfer out if these unsure parents apply the type 3 school at P1 which is for unsure parents? If you read my point 3 I suggested a type 3 school where the parents can choose at the end of P4 to decide if they want to take PSLE or not.
Transfer out will be to a non-thru train neighborhood school lah. There are no vacancies in the popular schools liao. Unless willing to waitlist many years just like the other folks. Let this be an option if they suddenly discover the kid can ace exams and want to join the rat race.[/quote]
[quote]3. I don't have a name for it but the 3rd category school will be schools for students(or parents) who are unsure to go through train or take PSLE and will make a decision at the end of P4. Those who decide to take PSLE will have the option to DSA etc as the current way. Those who decide not to take PSLE will go to through train secondary schools.[/quote]
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.