All About Overseas Education

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    602 Posts 80 Posters 98.7k Views 1 Watching
    • Coolkidsrock2C Offline
      Coolkidsrock2

Netherlands universities cut English programs to reduce international student intake

https://businessday.ng/news/article/netherlands-universities-cut-english-programs-to-reduce-international-student-intake/

• sky minecrafterS Offline
        sky minecrafter

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2132368\" time=\"1712705815\" user_id=\"188234:

🙂 Ah so I've not understood well, my apologies

pirate

I remember back in the good days when everyone had to go to Winstedt Road, we started off in Sec 1 with 8 Japanese language classes. By O levels, there was one class left. By AO levels, we were left with around a dozen students, with no more than 2 or 3 from any particular JC.

30% sounds like an improvement.

And after 6 years, I still catch no ball what anybody was saying in any Japanese show or cartoon. 😆

pirate\" post_id=\"2132389\" time=\"1712734074\" user_id=\"66252:

And after 6 years, I still catch no ball what anybody was saying in any Japanese show or cartoon. 😆
            6 years... come on... you are still a toddler. You don't see toddlers speaking perfect English... right? 😂

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

pirate\" post_id=\"2132389\" time=\"1712734074\" user_id=\"66252:

I remember back in the good days when everyone had to go to Winstedt Road, we started off in Sec 1 with 8 Japanese language classes. By O levels, there was one class left. By AO levels, we were left with around a dozen students, with no more than 2 or 3 from any particular JC.

30% sounds like an improvement.

1). Last time all students need to prepare for O level exams. Now there is IP, so no need to drop 3rd Lang to prep for O levels

2). Lots of foreign language resources are easily available nowadays, example YouTube and Podcast.

Haha, you sound like those kids whose parents sent for Chinese tuition, yet still catch no ball / can’t communicate in proper chinese sentences.

• lee_ylL Offline
                lee_yl

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2132321\" time=\"1712640308\" user_id=\"188234:

Also, for clarity I am not saying one should seek out Third Lang so these other options are open. Instead, I think the kids that naturally make it that far happen to end up with some interesting options.
                Yes, when I signed up DD for L3, the thought of sending her to a non-English speaking country Uni did not cross my mind.

It is the same as learning Home Econs lessons. not aiming to be a Michelin-starred chef, but rather it indirectly taught our kids not to be afraid to venture into the kitchen to cook something, it’s a life skill.

In the ST article, Mr Hannan Hazlan shared that he wanted to go Germany but not sure how tough is learning German. Many of us know the Uni is free (or cheap) for Germany/Japan/France but had more students being exposed to L3, even for just a 1yr, maybe useful in encouraging more to explore a path less travelled

pirate

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2132400\" time=\"1712745563\" user_id=\"17023:

1). Last time all students need to prepare for O level exams. Now there is IP, so no need to drop 3rd Lang to prep for O levels

2). Lots of foreign language resources are easily available nowadays, example YouTube and Podcast.

Haha, you sound like those kids whose parents sent for Chinese tuition, yet still catch no ball / can’t communicate in proper chinese sentences.
                  Yah lor. Nowadays there are all sorts of online resources.

No, no, no. Last time where got tuition classes?

My Chinese was CL1 one. It was usable, but cannot write or recite poetry. It improved in JC. No more CL classes. I started reading 金庸武侠小说. 😂

It's my L3 that catch no ball. I did however learn that Japanese kanji pronunciation is closest to Hokkien or 闽南语.

pirate

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2132394\" time=\"1712742403\" user_id=\"3:

6 years... come on... you are still a toddler. You don't see toddlers speaking perfect English... right? 😂
                    No lah. 6 years old toddler still better than me lah. Actually, I suspect native speaker 6 years old toddler better than H2 L3, at least in oral and listening comprehension. 🦆

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                      Coolkidsrock2

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2132401\" time=\"1712747234\" user_id=\"17023:

Yes, when I signed up DD for L3, the thought of sending her to a non-English speaking country Uni did not cross my mind.

It is the same as learning Home Econs lessons. not aiming to be a Michelin-starred chef, but rather it indirectly taught our kids not to be afraid to venture into the kitchen to cook something, it’s a life skill.

In the ST article, Mr Hannan Hazlan shared that he wanted to go Germany but not sure how tough is learning German. Many of us know the Uni is free (or cheap) for Germany/Japan/France but had more students being exposed to L3, even for just a 1yr, maybe useful in encouraging more to explore a path less travelled
                      With NTU and NUS ranked so high, there is little or no motivation for parents / kids to study overseas, even if there is scholarship and a job thereafter - this is what I gathered from conversations with friends and their kids.

Even my DS also will not entertain me about studying overseas and quickly sealed his offer before I come home from work.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/nus-and-ntu-top-asian-universities-in-subject-rankings-again

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.economictimes.com/nri/study/course-correction-not-uk-us-but-more-indian-students-are-heading-to-these-off-beat-locations/amp_articleshow/107862129.cms

• zac's mumZ Offline
                        zac's mum

In Korean, “kamsa hamnida” is also very similar to kam sia 😂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 40 / 61