2010 P1 Registration Exercise for 2011 In-Take

1.9k Posts 193 Posters 724.2k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      Gecko

vicki:
      Last year at MS, 99 children for 98 spaces (Phase 2B). All allowed in cos of a pair of twin! My fren's boy is in the same class as one of the tiwn. πŸ™‚

Thx Vicki!!

markfch

minnie2004:
        This is a mystery. According to your calcuation, PR's chances of ballot out in Method 2 will be 100%: 2/20 x 10 :!:

Tankee, you figured out the solution?
        Ya hor. That would be terribly unfair to PR, isn't it. Did I just entered the Twilight zone (hum to the music of dee dee dee dee, dee dee dee dee)

bigfoot

Ya hor. That would be terribly unfair to PR, isn't it. Did I just entered the Twilight zone (hum to the music of dee dee dee dee, dee dee dee dee)

lolz.... let me do the maths: πŸ™‚

Method 1
          5/25 => 20% of getting in for local.

Method 2
          10/20 probability of being \"force out\" => 50% of getting in for local.

Note that method 2 calculation is not accurate and as simple as it seem. because when a PR is drawn, his other lot will still be inside. So, even if his other lot is drawn again, it doesnt make any difference to the number of vacancies left but the chances of other parents being drawn will increase as the denominator will be smaller. I am too lazy to think too much into that far. haha... πŸ˜›

favefaye

bigfoot:
            lolz.... let me do the maths: πŸ™‚

Method 1
            5/25 => 20% of getting in for local.

Method 2
            10/20 probability of being \"force out\" => 50% of getting in for local.

Note that method 2 calculation is not accurate and as simple as it seem. because when a PR is drawn, his other lot will still be inside. So, even if his other lot is drawn again, it doesnt make any difference to the number of vacancies left but the chances of other parents being drawn will increase as the denominator will be smaller. I am too lazy to think too much into that far. haha... πŸ˜›
            Huh? I thought PR only get one ballot slip? So if his is drawn, there will not be another slip inside.

RRMummy

favefaye:

Huh? I thought PR only get one ballot slip? So if his is drawn, there will not be another slip inside.
              they are discussing abt reverse balloting.. you gotta read the posts a few pages back.. πŸ˜‰

lambchop1976

my eldest son ll be registering for p1 this year under phase 2C. Wld appreciate if some1 cld enlighten me rgd balloting under this phase. wat does it meant by priority is given to those under 1km. how does the whole balloting work? thank you very much

RRMummy

lambchop1976:

my eldest son ll be registering for p1 this year under phase 2C. Wld appreciate if some1 cld enlighten me rgd balloting under this phase. wat does it meant by priority is given to those under 1km. how does the whole balloting work? thank you very much
                  Hi lambchop1976,

Meaning in the event of oversubscription, all those within 1km will be given a place first. Only after all within 1 km is allocated, the remaining places will be given to the next distance i.e. 1 - 2km followed by >2km.

Eg. 75 vacancies, 56 staying less 1km, 25 within 1 - 2km, 5 staying more than 2km
                  All 56 staying less than 1km are in, 25 of those in 1-2km will be balloted to select 19 while the 5 staying more than 2km totally no chance to ballot.

Balloting conducted with 2 slips for each Singaporean and 1 slip for PR. These slips will be placed in a box for drawing. The date and time will be informed. It is not necessary to be present for the balloting exercise..

Good luck! :xedfingers:

Daddy D

Just wondering… what actually goes on during registration?

- Parents Q-ing to collect application forms?
                    - Or whoever completes form 1st will be attended to?
                    - Or parents hogging the Q to ask all the Qs? (Am I within 2km? Do I qualify for 2B? Do I need to ballot? etc…)
                    - Any information displayed on notice boards? (Updated # of applicants)
                    - Will the sch admin go thru your application details to confirm everything is in order?
                    - Are u given any letter of confirmation?
                    - How long does the whole process takes?

markzh

Daddy 😧
                      Just wondering... what actually goes on during registration?

- Parents Q-ing to collect application forms?
                      - Or whoever completes form 1st will be attended to?
                      - Or parents hogging the Q to ask all the Qs? (Am I within 2km? Do I qualify for 2B? Do I need to ballot? etc...)
                      - Any information displayed on notice boards? (Updated # of applicants)
                      - Will the sch admin go thru your application details to confirm everything is in order?
                      - Are u given any letter of confirmation?
                      - How long does the whole process takes?
                      Jst had a real-life experience today:
                      - The admin person came directly to us asking if we are here for P1 application, & gave us a form to fill (we apparently look lost)
                      - I went around 10, and there were only abt 3 sets of parents there. I took QNo. 31, guess most parents went there earlier on. They go by Q no. so not whoever finishes first.
                      - The rest of the parents were chatting away with the principal cos they r PV. For us, we r grassroot, & i remembered the principal kept looking at us, i guess wondering who we were....
                      - There are notice boards to guide us on the process, so no need to ask qns. Its quite straight-forward
                      - When its our turn (abt 15mins), the admin will chk every single detail on your form against ur IC, BC, letter. They kept my original grassroot letter. Think they even helped to copy our docs cos they did not ask us for an additional set. We were too busy being excited to notice anything else...They did not even ask for the immunisation records....
                      - After 1 person checked our form, we waited for another team to key our registration into the system. When its our turn (5mins), they gave us back a carbon copy of the form we filled as confirmation.

They also gave a note to indicate balloting date & time, really hope we dun need to ballot....

OMG....maybe they did not need copies of our docs cos we r >2km!!! GOSH, getting paranoid..... :nailbite:

We have updated the interim Phase 2B status in KiasuParents.com's Balloting statistics. Please refer to our findings here:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/registration-2010-p1-phase-2b

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 135 / 187

My.Kind.PointsM
                        My.Kind.Points