Share with us your kid's P1 registration experience

74 Posts 34 Posters 38.8k Views 1 Watching
      LOLMum

cherrygal:

The Balloting was held in the AVA room on the 3rd floor... I climbed the stairs till I panted. It was full house by the time it started. Citizens all had 2 ballot slips while the 5 PRs had just one each. The slips were all projected for all to witness and thrown into the bowl. Children were then asked to come up to pick 10 slips each. My son's slip was chosen by an IJ gal. I kept saying the Memorare to Our Lady and we asked the Holy Spirit to guide the gal's hand. We let out a huge sigh of relief when my ds' name was called. Praise the Lord. We are thankful that this is HIS will.
      congratulations!

my galfriend's son got in as well under phase 2b. nearly had a heart attack when she heard his name. God bless. :lol:

spikey

cherrygal:
        We planned ahead and moved to Bishan-Shunfu area when ds was only 2+. We were 1km from CatHi AND Ai Tong... good planning right? NOT. We were in the vicinity of 2 of the most highly sought after schools in Singapore's most densely populated district. I tot I had a good chance at CHS since we could register at Phase 2B and <1km. Everyone we knew said we stood a high chance. How were we to know 2010 would be a freak year? 9 seats were left and 48 people <1km registered to ballot. Like many Catholic Bishan moms, I refused to take the risk and decided to try Maris Stella instead. The admin person at MSH was really nice and even advised that they don't usually have balloting at P2B. Lo and behold, it was also a freak year at MSH where they had a ballot at P2B for the first time! Though it was only over subscribed by 7 pax, all of us still didn't want to be the 7 who don't get a place...

The Balloting was held in the AVA room on the 3rd floor... I climbed the stairs till I panted. It was full house by the time it started. Citizens all had 2 ballot slips while the 5 PRs had just one each. The slips were all projected for all to witness and thrown into the bowl. Children were then asked to come up to pick 10 slips each. My son's slip was chosen by an IJ gal. I kept saying the Memorare to Our Lady and we asked the Holy Spirit to guide the gal's hand. We let out a huge sigh of relief when my ds' name was called. Praise the Lord. We are thankful that this is HIS will.

The supposed CHS boy will now be a Marist boy. Perhaps it is God's will to place him at MSH since MSH is a badminton powerhouse. I always felt it a waste of ds' badminton talents if he went into CHS which didn't have the sport as a CCA.
        CHS at 2B this year is really scary! I have a DS as well and live within 1km of MSH but i am about to move out to ensure a place for DD's registration next year.

MSH is a nice place...near MRT too!

i3mum

cherrygal:
          We planned ahead and moved to Bishan-Shunfu area when ds was only 2+. We were 1km from CatHi AND Ai Tong... good planning right? NOT. We were in the vicinity of 2 of the most highly sought after schools in Singapore's most densely populated district. I tot I had a good chance at CHS since we could register at Phase 2B and <1km. Everyone we knew said we stood a high chance. How were we to know 2010 would be a freak year? 9 seats were left and 48 people <1km registered to ballot. Like many Catholic Bishan moms, I refused to take the risk and decided to try Maris Stella instead. The admin person at MSH was really nice and even advised that they don't usually have balloting at P2B. Lo and behold, it was also a freak year at MSH where they had a ballot at P2B for the first time! Though it was only over subscribed by 7 pax, all of us still didn't want to be the 7 who don't get a place...

The supposed CHS boy will now be a Marist boy. Perhaps it is God's will to place him at MSH since MSH is a badminton powerhouse. I always felt it a waste of ds' badminton talents if he went into CHS which didn't have the sport as a CCA.
          Congratulations! It indeed sounded scary! I cannot imagine if it's my turn which need to ballot.

VooVoo

Reading these \"horror\" stories, I can only wish for a totally non-eventful registration for me next year šŸ™

• O Offline
              oneheart

cherrygal:
              We planned ahead and moved to Bishan-Shunfu area when ds was only 2+. We were 1km from CatHi AND Ai Tong... good planning right? NOT. We were in the vicinity of 2 of the most highly sought after schools in Singapore's most densely populated district.

Congrats to you!

I understand what u mean...I've been living opp Southview in CCK eversince I got married. Being in the vicinity of the hottest sch in CCK makes it hard to get into the most nearest sch. We had to PV to get the kids in and thank god we did. I've seen some kids in my block waiting for sch buses to ferry them to sch farther away while there is one just nearby.

cherrygal

oneheart:
                I understand what u mean...I've been living opp Southview in CCK eversince I got married. Being in the vicinity of the hottest sch in CCK makes it hard to get into the most nearest sch. We had to PV to get the kids in and thank god we did. I've seen some kids in my block waiting for sch buses to ferry them to sch farther away while there is one just nearby.

You are very blessed! At least you got into the school. I didn't dare to try CHS or ATS at all coz I can't stomach the risk of not getting a place. I am also not willing to send him to a neighbourhood school at Phase 2C Supp so I am contented with what I got. Luckily MSH is rite next to the MRT and our place is on the circle line. Will teach him to take the MRT when he's older.

smurf

HI Cherrygal,

you are very lucky to get into MSH lah...my boy has to either take school bus or I bring him take mrt or bus, all the way to Novena. and from P3 onwards, the bus uncle told me that those staying at Bishan has to wait for sch bus at about 6.10am. šŸ˜›

at least MSH is a lot nearer, and I think since u stay at Shunfu, you must be quite near to Marymount MRT (at the doorstep?). 1 stop straight to MSH.
                  Shunfu is not very near to CHS lah, gotta take bus right?

I'm very sian...keep seeing those CHS boys and my boy couldn't get into CHS!!!

cherrygal

smurf:
                    HI Cherrygal,

you are very lucky to get into MSH lah...my boy has to either take school bus or I bring him take mrt or bus, all the way to Novena. and from P3 onwards, the bus uncle told me that those staying at Bishan has to wait for sch bus at about 6.10am. šŸ˜›

at least MSH is a lot nearer, and I think since u stay at Shunfu, you must be quite near to Marymount MRT (at the doorstep?). 1 stop straight to MSH. Shunfu is not very near to CHS lah, gotta take bus right?

I'm very sian...keep seeing those CHS boys and my boy couldn't get into CHS!!!
                    I know what u mean... I feel the same way when I see those CHS boys hanging around Junction 8. Green with envy...

Your ds got into SJIJ rite? Thatz a good school and you got in via 2A. No anxiety for you.

Shunfu is near to CHS (900m) but in terms of transport, no straight bus (but school bus will be cheaper). For MSH, I guess if ds can take MRT, it will be convenient (2 stops) but in the first few years, we gotta fetch him. Dun want to waste money and time on the school bus. Nowadays, school bus is super expensive. I still remember it was only $20/mth 25 years ago...

In fact, SJIJ and MSH is abt the same distance from Bishan. Only diff is the traffic conditions. SJIJ is towards town whereas MSH is towards Tampines / Upp Serangoon.

smurf

The traffic to sjij is really :P, so is the Chinese standard.haha.

MSH traffic is way better.

marudine

Sorry, I thought this thread is suppose to discuss on the experience of P1 registration, but I think it had somehow been drifted away by some of the discussions.

Anyway, I had gone through the P1 registration last year. Being a P2C applicant, it was extremely stressful and unpleasant.

Pre-registration, was worry-some and many sleepless nights
                        After registration, was tough and sleepless due to the balloting wait
                        Post-balloting, for me & spouse … was a total breakdown (balloted OUT)

My spouse and I would never want to go through that cycle again … it was a terrible and horrible experience.

Finally and fortunately, we still managed to get our child into the school of our choice (school that we had registered in P2C)… factual, perservere and determination shall pay off. With that, we have no more worry for our 2nd child who will be admitted into the same school as his sibling in 3 years time.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 8