Advice - Divorce or Not to Divorce

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    366 Posts 141 Posters 229.0k Views 1 Watching
      clarabella

insider:

So far, came across two cases (told by husbands). These wives are nasty themselves. Trust they are under the advice of their lawyers or some friends with good legal knowledge, that they will challenge their husband to hit them (by saying or doing nasty things - “You are a useless man! I bet you dare to hit me? Come! Hit me if you dare! You coward! Blablabla…”).
      Hmmm, I cannot imagine that any lawyer would advise his/her client to provoke her husband to hit her, otherwise kena counter-sued by husband, hee.

clarabella

insider:

But somehow certain cases can't make use of this type of 'no-u-turn' lawyers and have to turn to 流氓律师 (gangster lawyers). This is a kind of lawyer who will teach you how to bend the laws without breaking them and they are easier to talk to (coz sometimes go strictly by the law will really bring you nowhere)...
        Very true... yeah sometimes there is really nothing much the law can do, but even when I know there is a 'creative' solution, I cannot open my mouth to utter a word... bosses say cannot do that wor...

clarabella

insider:

Simple thing like a trademark registration (not local but overseas). If die die wants to use a proper lawyer may take 5 years from date of application to date of registration. Using 流氓律师 takes about 6 months...
          Haha, insider, I once received that exact same remark, some client complained, how come you tell me a few years and so-and-so says six months can settle! I wanted to tell him, then you go to so-and-so, why look for us?? :?

Sometimes, even after divorce is finalized…

It does not necessarily end up with thee other
            half being happier either. Having to adapt to
            living a new life especially for older generation
            it may not be too easy and can be very emotionally
            challenging… and not to mention, lonely.

clarabella

Some useful information to know:

The court has the power to order the division of matrimonial assets at the time of/ subsequent to the grant of the decree of divorce.
              When doing so, the court takes into account several factors, set out in section 112 of the Women’s Charter. (see http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/)
              The list specifically refers to the extent of the contributions made by each party in money, property or work towards acquiring, improving or maintaining matrimonial assets.

The Women’s Charter also makes provision for a wife’s maintenance both during marriage and upon the grant of the decree of divorce (see s114). In determining the amount of maintenance, the court takes into account (amongst others) the standard of living enjoyed before the breakdown of the marriage, and the contributions made by each of the parties to the welfare of the family.

Insider, I think it will be prudent for your friend to keep careful records of all financial activities, e.g. family expenses, who paid what etc. Useful for the maintenance issue and division of assets, if she files for divorce one day. In divorce proceedings, things can get ugly and typically accusations fly. Without documentation, it'll be a case of her word against his word etc.

clarabella

Np… Insider, I think your friends are very lucky to have you to help them!

mintcc

Emelyn:
                  \"Mum, is the thing that I hoped will never happen in my life, going to happen ?\".... he is refering to the divorce. I cried when I heard this..... cos somehow I think the boy has been behaving badly because he knew of the dad's adultery, knew of the parents' problems, and has been worried about the breakup of the family....and just somehow....\"mal-functioned\".... as a way to get away from the problem? a way to get parents' attention ?....

Feel so sad....

Now, cousin-in-law has to endure silent treatment and those \"not-talking-to-you-but-is-saying-something-very-loudly-in-the-house-which-is-meant-for-you\" kind from the in-laws and the hubby who all live in the same household.

Very sad. Everytime I talk to her...she will cry...and I will cry... They started dating during Secondary school..... so, more than 30yrs of relationship....

Don't know how to help her.......
                  I am so sorry to hear this. I suppose the best you can do is to be her listening ear and help consel her son and help her settle into a new life. Need to let him know that mum will still love and be with him. Really don't get whu she should be enduring the silent treatment form the in-laws since her hubby is the one who have affair. The in-laws not ashamed that their son did something like this meh?

• E Offline
                    Emelyn

mincy:
                    Emelyn:

\"Mum, is the thing that I hoped will never happen in my life, going to happen ?\".... he is refering to the divorce. I cried when I heard this..... cos somehow I think the boy has been behaving badly because he knew of the dad's adultery, knew of the parents' problems, and has been worried about the breakup of the family....and just somehow....\"mal-functioned\".... as a way to get away from the problem? a way to get parents' attention ?....

Feel so sad....

Now, cousin-in-law has to endure silent treatment and those \"not-talking-to-you-but-is-saying-something-very-loudly-in-the-house-which-is-meant-for-you\" kind from the in-laws and the hubby who all live in the same household.

Very sad. Everytime I talk to her...she will cry...and I will cry... They started dating during Secondary school..... so, more than 30yrs of relationship....

Don't know how to help her.......

I am so sorry to hear this. I suppose the best you can do is to be her listening ear and help consel her son and help her settle into a new life. Need to let him know that mum will still love and be with him. Really don't get whu she should be enduring the silent treatment form the in-laws since her hubby is the one who have affair. The in-laws not ashamed that their son did something like this meh?

Mincy : the MIL (aka My aunt) told another DIL : \"aiyah, she never keep his money, that's why he has money to look for another woman lor !\"

I was like :shock: :shock: then :x :x

Insider : Yeah. I can't \"openly\" help her cos in case my dad gets dragged down for having a daughter who helps \"outsider\" and then get scoldings too. I give her morale support, some $$ for her to see a better doctor for her thyroid, and talk to the children.

We are very close because she is very very helpful..... 😞

mintcc

Emelyn:

Mincy : the MIL (aka My aunt) told another DIL : \"aiyah, she never keep his money, that's why he has money to look for another woman lor !\"

I was like :shock: :shock: then :x :x

Insider : Yeah. I can't \"openly\" help her cos in case my dad gets dragged down for having a daughter who helps \"outsider\" and then get scoldings too. I give her morale support, some $$ for her to see a better doctor for her thyroid, and talk to the children.

We are very close because she is very very helpful..... 😞
                      :shock: :nunchuk: jeeze, some people...what if it happen to themselves? Will they say that kind of thing? Sorry ...thought the MIL shd have more empathy here.

Sad when this kind of things happens to such nice people.

Hope she will be strong and secure her deserved portion of the matrimonial properties....and the younger son will turn for the better.

winth

insider:
                        Ladies, pls have a good idea / concept of who exactly a Mum In Law is...

The older generation of mums In Law - 9 out of 10 will side their own child, be it son or daughter, no matter under what kind of circumstances (can even include murder!).
                        Fully agreed! I'm always getting myself prepared should things turn ugly in my own marriage. And I think with the current relationship with my MIL and SIL, quite sure they will start to bad-mouth me should my marriage with DH turns anything near sour. It'll definitely benefit them if their son and brother comes back to 'help' them.

Should always read up on signs and signals when your man strays. By equipping with knowledge, it's easier to nip 'it' at its bud rather than to go through a full-blown affair. Typically at the affair's infancy stage, it's much easier to heal.

There are many many signs when a man or woman strays and it's not wise to ignore those signs thinking that it's normal to i.e. spouse says very tired for intimacy, wife/husband dressing/smelling better, spouse completely possessive over their mobile phones, wife/husband's changed of taste in wardrobe, spouse got to work later and later, sometimes saturdays included etc etc.

Anyway, fortune-telling did help alot too when it comes to certain predictions lar... At least DH and I gear ourselves towards defending our marriage territory. So we kinda watching each other's backs.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 37