All About Primary Schools' Balloting History
cherrygal:
Hi cherrygal,LKVM:
PR also need to serve NS :?
:? Realli? why they don't take up citizenship?
I think they would like to hold on to their original citizenship as S'pore doesn't allow dual citizenship. Guess if they decide to go back for good, then they can still do so, win-win situation lor.
I know of 2 Malaysian PRs who worked here many years, accumulated their CPF then gave up their PR here. They went back to M'sia after withdrawing their CPF, so shiok!!! :boogie: -
cherrygal:
wow, very interesting posts everyone... IMHO, everyone has a thing to say about the MOE's rules be they fair or unfair. It's fair if you were an old boy and got priority at 2A, and unfair if you never attended a good school that you are now eyeing. Blame your parents? It's fair if you were a born Catholic and got priority at Catholic schools, yet unfair that you are a born Catholic and still couldn't get into Cat High or St Nicks. PVs think they should get priority for clocking hours but what makes PVs think they are better than born Catholics or clansmen who practice the faith and values all their lives? Are PVs willing to take the plunge and believe in the religion or values of such schools? Then PVs/grassroots people would not need to volunteer at all since they would then join as church or clan members. If everyone starts complaining to the MOE and make them fed up, MOE will just have a Phase 2C for everyone and then the old boys, current students etc will cry foul. I still think the fairest rule the MOE has implemented so far is the 2 ballot slips for citizens.
Phase 2B is for religious groups/PVs/grassroots...it is not fair to say that PVs should get more priority bcos they clocked up hours. This is the reason why these 3 groups fall under the same category...bcos they are equally important.
With the influx of foreigners, MOE has implemented the 2 ballot slips to help Singaporean kids get a better chance since govt has a foresight there will be more competition. I agree with you that this is a very fair rule that MOE has implemented, starting from this year. If PRs/foreigners find this unfair, by all means take up citizenship. -
All 3 groups are equally impt...that is why I said some PVs \"think\" they should get priority over church/clan/grassroots and some schools (eg. CHS) perpetuate that thinking by giving priority to PVs in the waiting list becoz they clocked hours... OK, end of this topic coz this thread is about balloting history... hehehehecherrygal:
wow, very interesting posts everyone... IMHO, everyone has a thing to say about the MOE's rules be they fair or unfair. It's fair if you were an old boy and got priority at 2A, and unfair if you never attended a good school that you are now eyeing. Blame your parents? It's fair if you were a born Catholic and got priority at Catholic schools, yet unfair that you are a born Catholic and still couldn't get into Cat High or St Nicks. PVs think they should get priority for clocking hours but what makes PVs think they are better than born Catholics or clansmen who practice the faith and values all their lives? Are PVs willing to take the plunge and believe in the religion or values of such schools? Then PVs/grassroots people would not need to volunteer at all since they would then join as church or clan members. If everyone starts complaining to the MOE and make them fed up, MOE will just have a Phase 2C for everyone and then the old boys, current students etc will cry foul. I still think the fairest rule the MOE has implemented so far is the 2 ballot slips for citizens.
Phase 2B is for religious groups/PVs/grassroots...it is not fair to say that PVs should get more priority bcos they clocked up hours. This is the reason why these 3 groups fall under the same category...bcos they are equally important.
With the influx of foreigners, MOE has implemented the 2 ballot slips to help Singaporean kids get a better chance since govt has a foresight there will be more competition. I agree with you that this is a very fair rule that MOE has implemented, starting from this year. If PRs/foreigners find this unfair, by all means take up citizenship.
Later Chief come and whack us. :nunchuk:
It is great that MOE gave us 2 ballot slips! My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel: -
cherrygal:
My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel:
So lucky!! :congrats: :celebrate:
cherrygal:
My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel:
:congrats: -
My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel:[/quote]
Which sch your DS is in? CHS? -
At end of 2C
Intake\t41550
Ph 1\t 14179
Ph 2A1\t759
Ph 2A2\t3376
Ph 2B\t\t2979
Ph 2C 15935
Total Registered Up to 2C:\t37228 -
So in terms of pure qty, West Grove tops the demand. I have to admit I've not heard of this sch until this registration exercise. Other than that Tamarind's dd is studying there.If nothing changes, the following 84 schools will need to ballot for 2C
School\tIntake\tAvailable 2C\t # registered\tShortfall
West Grove Primary School\t300\t75\t266\t-191
Went to the sch's website but didn't see any PSLE results leh. There must be something special about this sch. Any parents can share why it is so hot? -
The following schools got the absolute least number of registrations !!
School\tIntake\tTotal Registered (All Phases to 2C)
Guangyang Primary School\t150\t30
Qiaonan Primary School\t150\t33
Bedok West Primary School\t180\t33
Dazhong Primary School\t150\t40
East View Primary School\t150\t45
Hong Kah Primary School\t150\t46
Balestier Hill Primary School\t180\t47
Coral Primary School\t180\t57
Damai Primary School\t180\t60 -
Based on figures on this forum, 2004 birthrate is 31174. So, there are additional 6,054 children (20%) either converted to SC or PRs.At end of 2C
Intake\t41550
Ph 1\t 14179
Ph 2A1\t759
Ph 2A2\t3376
Ph 2B\t\t2979
Ph 2C 15935
Total Registered Up to 2C:\t37228
Unfortunately, MOE did not increase the intake, is that why there are so many schools balloting this year?
Anyone knows how many children registered for P1 last year?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.