YOG in Singapore

180 Posts 37 Posters 45.3k Views 1 Watching

My child’s contribution to YOG is writing an article about it to create awareness in SG children of the event.

Way2GO

cascada:
        I find the recent TV advertisement showing kids asking their parents to bring them to watch YOG / parents saying they will bring their kids to watch YOG very very HARD SELL.

Is the ticket sale so bad?
        You say leh?
        ~80,000 tickets were distributed to schools.
        GLCs and stat boards employees will probably be given tickets to attend if sales remain poor.
        YOG is advertisement for Singapore but it is not connecting with the general public....yet!
        Singapore won't look good on TV as host of inaugural YOG if spectators stands are empty.
        cascada:
        Give way also must rehearse meh?
        Sure, because many Singaporeans are still an ungracious lot.:P
        You see how motorists don't even give way to ambulances with their sirens blaring?
        The driver could be abusing the rule and rushing to lunch but it could more likely be someone having a medical emergency and need to get to the hospital fast.
        cascada:
        And why start give way to YOG vehicles from today?
        These signs and banners are all over the roads with the five Olympic rings
        GIVE WAY
        Is this a command or a request? :lol:
        Who put up the signs - MYCS? LTA? TP? SNOC?
        In asking the citizenry to be gracious, shouldn't the authoritative buffon(s) also be gracious in asking?
        A 'please' would be nice and would go a long way.
        Please GIVE WAY
        Is that so difficult or is that going to bust the budget by another 1/2 mil$$ :moneyflies: ?

Is it a bookable traffic offence if you don't give way?

Way2GO

TP (in loud voice) : GIVE WAY!

W2G: whY?
          TP (in Chinese accented Singlish): OrGy.
          W2G: where?
          TP: Here! Move or I summon you!
          W2G: whY?
          TP: OrGy.
          W2G: can’t you say please?
          TP: whY?
          W2G: OG, must be gracious mah.
          TP(in softer voice): Please give way
          W2G: sure. No problem.

cascada

At first when I saw the GIVE WAY decals on those vehicles, they look so weird cos it was placed in reflection way, if u know what I mean. Then I realised it was for the vehicles in front to see using the rear view mirror. LOL.

Way2GO

Is it a bookable traffic offence if you don’t give way for whatever reason on designated YOG GIVE WAY lane?

mrswongtuition

Is it a bookable traffic offence if you don't give way for whatever reason on designated YOG GIVE WAY lane?

I recall it is...
                Fines will be similar to bus lane....

Way2GO

mrswongtuition:

Is it a bookable traffic offence if you don't give way for whatever reason on designated YOG GIVE WAY lane?

I recall it is...
                  Fines will be similar to bus lane....

Fine for bus lane is S$130 and 3 demerit points, izzit?
                  Any idea if YOG vehicles are mounted with cameras like in buses?

Eg The PIE has four lanes, sometimes three lanes either way.
                  Left most lane is for slow moving traffic,
                  2nd left most lane is designated for YOG vehicles leaving
                  only 1 or 2 right most lanes for other vehicles.
                  Right most lane is for fast or overtaking vehicles.
                  If there is a vehicle breakdown or accident, wouldn't it be a real OrGy on the road?
                  The arterial roads only have three lanes which leaves only one lane for normal traffic.
                  What if you need to filter?
                  If YOG vehicles snap a picture, how can they tell you are not just filtering and not deliberately not giving way?

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Aiyah, Way2Go, the spirit of the games lah! A bit of give and take lah, not everything need to be black and white right?

mrswongtuition

Tt’s why my hubs installed CCTV in my car…

If they take a pics n talk rubbish, we have evidence to back up…

Way2GO

3Boys, I got no problem with the give n take part.

It just that I had a recent experience with the TP on waiting in a double yellow zig zag zone.
                        Technically, I wasn't in the zone as I was waiting in a gap that was not marked as such in a double yellow zig zag zone and I felt the traffic warden didn't follow procedure. I received a ticket thro' the mail.
                        Aniwae to cut a long story short, there were grounds for appeal.
                        I went to TP and saw this DSP (I think) who tell me grandmother story about how she raise her kids :faint:
                        She didn't want to listen to any circumstances or reason. Everything by the book - basically her position was you kena summon, then you kena summon and pay. What is the purpose of the appeal process anyway if they don't listen and consider? Is it a just for show?
                        Anyway she said if I don't accept her verdict, I can write in an appeal which was what I did.
                        My summon was waived with a warning. But the explanation given was not accurate so I would call the traffic warden's integrity into question.

My point is all these people just work accordingly to SOP; so if the YOG driver doesn't exercise discretion and judgement, just snap a picture and you end up answering for it to TP and you get the same DSP :!: :faint:
                        You know what I mean :x

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 18