How do you know your child is maturing?

51 Posts 18 Posters 12.8k Views 1 Watching
      markfch

Blobbi:
      Mark, your son is very young. These things, about independance and building up their own self esteem, they have to learn. And it takes many years to learn. We have to give them opportunities to do that. Two steps forward, one step back (and sometimes one step forward two steps back!!) is what I see in my little guy :).

I'd love it if my son was as sweet as yours, to prize you so dearly. You have a very loving kiddo, Mark. Enjoy! :love:
      Thanks for the encouragement, Blobbi. Yah, I guess I should be grateful that at least ds wants to study hard to make me happy. Btw, he's back to his old ways of wanting to kiss my on the lips again šŸ˜›

markfch

'I was in a bad mood this morning and when didi asked me to play with him, I snapped at him. That made him unhappy and he went to complain to mummy. I was angry with him for complaining to mummy. I know I should not snap at him but I just did. But why must he complain to mummy? I am sorry for snapping at him but now I don't even feel like saying sorry.'
        Bad mummy, secretly reading dd's journal, keke. Your sweetie is so cute to be articulating her feelings. Hmm, you just gave me an idea. Maybe I should also encourage ds to do the same, then I can read him inside out :evil:

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

'I was in a bad mood this morning and when didi asked me to play with him, I snapped at him. That made him unhappy and he went to complain to mummy. I was angry with him for complaining to mummy. I know I should not snap at him but I just did. But why must he complain to mummy? I am sorry for snapping at him but now I don't even feel like saying sorry.'

Bad mummy, secretly reading dd's journal, keke. Your sweetie is so cute to be articulating her feelings. Hmm, you just gave me an idea. Maybe I should also encourage ds to do the same, then I can read him inside out :evil:

No lah. Not secretly. She showed it to me. She's only 7yrs old, not 17 so no secrets yet. DD is a very expressive girl. Her emotions can be all over the place though. So this is a big, big, huge step. Only thing is she is still not very consistent. She still lets her emotions get the better of her. Well that is part and parcel of growing up. In any case, I dun want them to grow up too fast either.

when i showed my 4yo my tattered sandals (still wearable and very comfy though)...

ds2 : mummy, you go buy new shoes.
            me : but i didn't work, so i don't have money for new shoes.
            ds2 : i give you money.
            :love:

that night, he took all of his 60 cents from his piggy bank (he did not have a proper piggy bank and that is just his play bank with real money though) and gave it to me and told me to buy new shoes....after he demanded to see if my wallet is really empty! :faint: - showed him an empty pouch though šŸ˜“

then last night, he opened his piggy bank again to show me a lot more money and told me to take out my wallet; he then started to put money into my wallet :love: , and reminded me to buy new shoes for myself...but...

me : where did you get all these money?
            ds2 : i take from gege's coin box.
            me :faint: : but these are gege's money.
            ds2 šŸ˜ž : but i don't have any money to give you to buy shoes.

:faint: but : :love: as well...

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

My ds can act like a mini adult sometimes. This event happened last Sat afternoon. DS was preparing to bathe. Then he took out his dirty clothes and put it on the bed. Too quick of mouth, I said this:

me: don't be an idiot, put your dirty clothes on the floor (I regretted saying tis half way thru my sentence)
              ds: (turn around, and looking at me a queer manner) are you calling me an idiot?
              me: (quickly change the subject) no, I mean you put dirty clothes on the bed is an idiotic action. I don't mean you're idiot.
              ds: do you like people to call you idiot?
              me: no, I'm sorry (now ego very small liao)
              ds: don't let me catch you doing this again, ok?
              me: I already said I'm sorry (almost whimpering) :oops:

After he's satisfied that he made me felt bad enough, he happily proceeded to bathe. So I must constantly remind myself to watch my words. Liddat qualified to be maturing or not?

Blobbi:
                Autumnbronze, you've inspired me to share a little story that happened over the last few days.

DS really hates to be taught, and I mean, it makes me vomit blood. He's great with assigned work where he can figure out for himself or disccusions, but it's really painful to \"teach\" him or oversee him rigidly. But bopian - he has Chinese spelling tests every week and I want him to have the correct bi hua. Anyway, I told him if he had that sort of attitude, he'd just have to do it himself because he'll always get the marks he deserved. That must have set him thinking because on the day before his latest test, I saw him fumble through his books and start learning loudly (for me to see lah :roll: ). He then asked me to test him after about 10mins. And why? \"Because it's so true what you say, Mummy. I don't like the process, but I really like the full marks\".

So happy that's he's growing up! :love:
                :celebrate: to your child seeing your point eventually...part of maturing.. šŸ˜„

I also have a story to share. But it's bittersweet. Recently ds told me that he wants to study hard to get good marks. 'Why?' I asked. His reply: 'Cos I want to make you happy'. I'm actually undecided whether or not his reason is valid. Cos I very much preferred that he wants to do well for himself, rather than to make me happy. Am I expecting too much?
                  Eh...Mark, actually your child is smart la....when you are happy he is happy too...so indirectly for himself right? šŸ˜‰

Muffins

as the exact opposite of this thread, my parents keep saying that I grow younger in the mind as I grow older in the body... :lol: :rotflmao:

Muffins:
                      as the exact opposite of this thread, my parents keep saying that I grow younger in the mind as I grow older in the body... :lol: :rotflmao:

:rotflmao: I thought this only happened when one reached half-life? You are still quite far from half-life...... šŸ˜‰

autumnbronze

Blobbi:
                        Autumnbronze, you've inspired me to share a little story that happened over the last few days.

DS really hates to be taught, and I mean, it makes me vomit blood. He's great with assigned work where he can figure out for himself or disccusions, but it's really painful to \"teach\" him or oversee him rigidly. But bopian - he has Chinese spelling tests every week and I want him to have the correct bi hua. Anyway, I told him if he had that sort of attitude, he'd just have to do it himself because he'll always get the marks he deserved. That must have set him thinking because on the day before his latest test, I saw him fumble through his books and start learning loudly (for me to see lah :roll: ). He then asked me to test him after about 10mins. And why? \"Because it's so true what you say, Mummy. I don't like the process, but I really like the full marks\".

So happy that's he's growing up! :love:
                        Ahhhhh, that golden statement .... Blobbi, a sure shot sign that he's aligned himself with you .... šŸ˜„

Thanks, for sharing this really sweet episode ...

:celebrate: :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 6

NiteFlyerN
                        NiteFlyer