E3:

don't know how to kickstart son's interest in writing interesting compo.

Janet, just a suggestion. Can you ask your son to write short journals to kickstart his interest in writing. He just needs to express his thoughts and feelings. It can be on any topic, such as any incident that he talked about to you, incidents that impacted him, pleasant things, unpleasant things, all can be written down. It's not so much like a diary, it's just to journal down his thoughts and feelings. Give him a special notebook, give him a special time. He will treasure this time and may start to take interest in writing. See whether he allows you to read them, if he does, read with understanding. Don't correct his grammar or spelling, just encourage. He might start to write longer journals and thus will help in his composition too. Writing expressively is a long process, cannot be rushed. 😉

I used to give him ideas for his journals (school hw), but now I leave this completely to him...this was what his teacher told me. Don't correct grammar/tenses/spelling. He lets me read them...grammar wise, quite acceptable but still lacking the 墨水 to score high marks.

Hi markfch,

Alamak, why you scare your son by telling him the female teachers are very very fierce ? I prepared my gal by telling her to start speaking proper English and behave like a lady.

markfch

Hi markfch,

Alamak, why you scare your son by telling him the female teachers are very very fierce ? I prepared my gal by telling her to start speaking proper English and behave like a lady.
          But it's true. I myself also scared of the loud voices of those female teachers. Anyway ds is those super resilient types. He won't get affected so easily one.

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

Janet, did his teacher assign specific topics for his journals? I find it becomes a chore if it's not self-initiated topic. It will not be easy for him. I was thinking more of just expressing his frustrations or excitement in journals based on his own life's experiences, something close to heart. Can be anger towards unfair treatment or hilarious moments he had with friends. Anything he wants, free of his own expressions. 😉

Mrsbongz

Hi markfch,

But it's true. I myself also scared of the loud voices of those female teachers. Anyway ds is those super resilient types. He won't get affected so easily one.

LOL.. I tell my DS that he has to write his words properly, if not the teacher will throw his books away (that's wat happened to me b4).. n he told me: \"then I stay in nursery forever loh.. no need to do homework at all!\".. sigh.. no sense of self-motivation at all..

E3:
                Janet, did his teacher assign specific topics for his journals? I find it becomes a chore if it's not self-initiated topic. It will not be easy for him. I was thinking more of just expressing his frustrations or excitement in journals based on his own life's experiences, something close to heart. Can be anger towards unfair treatment or hilarious moments he had with friends. Anything he wants, free of his own expressions. 😉

Nope, those journals have 'theme' like 'My June Holidays', 'My ambition' etc etc. If I ask him to write journal based on anything he wants, it would be filled with anger. HaHaHa.

Hi markfch,

My son got punished often in P1 for talking. Came home with black face and sulking in the corner. At P2, still got punished and even had to stand in front of whole school during assembly for talking. At P3, his skin is thick already.

IJJ

notabox:
                    I know most parents advocate teaching their kids on their own and I do agree that a child’s best teacher is his parent but only if the parent know how to teach well.

I am weak academically (still can’t get the rules of grammer right most of the time) and have really quick temper…not cut out to teach at all. The last thing I want is to have my children hate learning because of me scolding them all the time.

I have since put away the guilt of having to outsource the teachings because in no way am I less concern of my children’s well being then parents who teach their own children. There is a lot more we need to teach our children than just academic subjects so since my strength is not in this area, I rather concentrate on teaching my children in other areas such as their social and moral skills.

Just to share my thoughts. 😄
                    I cannot agree more on that sentense.

Every family has their ways of doing things. Someone else's success story does not nec work on another person. We just have to try to optimise the potential of every family members to the best of our knowledge. As parents, we just want to do our best, within means, for our children. Whichever way I choose, I will think that is the 'best' way for my family. I dun bother much about what others may say, although I keep an open mind for opinions and recommendations. 😎 Frankly, I actually wanted to return to workforce if not for my little precious gift last year. If I am a part time or full time mom, most likely, I will outsource some teaching too. Since now, I am a sahm, I thot since I am home, and I enjoy coaching myself, why not? 😉 Save quite a sum and lots of time too. 😉

notabox

My son got punished often in P1 for talking. Came home with black face and sulking in the corner. At P2, still got punished and even had to stand in front of whole school during assembly for talking. At P3, his skin is thick already.

Haha...actually this is what I can foresee will happen to my kiddo, he just talks non-stop! His K2 teacher makes him sits beside her so that he doesn't distrupt her lesson :oops: . So his skin is already pretty thick now!!

Hi notabox,

I’m not academically strong…didn’t do well in school, but now have to teach son (and daughter going P1) in their subjects until I cannot handle, then I will have to outsource. Lower primary still can lah, but subjects are getting tougher every year.

Like what IJJ mentioned, it’s quite enjoyable coaching them and knowing their strengths & weaknesses. Can save quite a sum of money…tutors are not cheap now, but CL tuition $$$ cannot be saved.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 174 / 2049