All About Active Community Leaders
In the committee I am in , I have to organise activities for the residents to participate. Really enjoy grassroots work. I treat it as giving back to society.
Orhh... either your hubby very on-the-ball kind... or he kena arrowed cos' he's the Treasurerb2b3m4:
It is not ironic at all. Observers attend meeting and help out in organizing activities. EM like treasurer, secretary, vice-chair attends audits at PAs, represent the zone RC in meetings, courses, typing minutes, sending e mails, banking money, man RCs (booking for BBQ pits, facilities etc)....
Just last week alone, hubby went to PA twice for financial audit, 1 to RC for handing over and last SUnday to Buona Vista for course.
Other than that... most tasks u mentioned above are pretty mundane ones... I feel the hardwork are those kinds that require alot of \"leg work\"... sadly, which most GRLs would avoid doing.
pirahna:
Orh... noted. U happy can liao.
In the committee I am in , I have to organise activities for the residents to participate. Really enjoy grassroots work. I treat it as giving back to society.
:celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: -
I agreed with pirahna .. I do enjoyed participating in grassroots activities and helping out the needy. We may be the fortunate group, but there are many people that requires our help, and the grassroots is a good platform that brings the people closer and close up the gap.
Orh... noted. U happy can liao.pirahna:
:celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate:
And in addition, you can also set a good example to your children and let them understand the spirit of sharing. For once my elder son (6 yrs old then) told the younger one .. \"Don't disturb Daddy, he is going out to help people ...\" I was so touched and happy -
marudine:
I agreed with pirahna .. I do enjoyed participating in grassroots activities and helping out the needy. We may be the fortunate group, but there are many people that requires our help, and the grassroots is a good platform that brings the people closer and close up the gap.
Orh... noted. U happy can liao.Daddy

[quote=\"pirahna\"]
And in addition, you can also set a good example to your children and let them understand the spirit of sharing. For once my elder son (6 yrs old then) told the younger one .. \"Don't disturb Daddy, he is going out to help people ...\" I was so touched and happy[/quote]Wow..you guys put me to shame..hmm, I must start to think more about the community I live in too..not be too self-centered..thanks for the sharing. -
Alexandrea:
The schools under 2B is either the constituency you are serving or the constituency you are staying.I saw from GRC meeting of minutes that you have to be an active grassroot leader for at least 1 year before they will put you in Phase 2B.
They will also only give you a list of selected school around your constituency. -
littlewoman:
Wow..you guys put me to shame..hmm, I must start to think more about the community I live in too..not be too self-centered..thanks for the sharing.[/quote]Great to hear that you are one step closer to helping others. The GRO are constantly looking out for sincere citizens or PRs to come forward to help our people/community. And I always think that it is fine to join the GRO with a clear objective (i.e. get into P2B) .. and you never know that you will continue serving even after you have met your aim.
I agreed with pirahna .. I do enjoyed participating in grassroots activities and helping out the needy. We may be the fortunate group, but there are many people that requires our help, and the grassroots is a good platform that brings the people closer and close up the gap.marudine:
[quote=\"Daddy D\"]
Orh... noted. U happy can liao.
And in addition, you can also set a good example to your children and let them understand the spirit of sharing. For once my elder son (6 yrs old then) told the younger one .. \"Don't disturb Daddy, he is going out to help people ...\" I was so touched and happy -
pirahna:
Just to clarify, you are only allowed to serve in the RC/NC that you live in, so the schools that you can choose to apply for at P2B will be in the same GRC that your RC/NC belongs in.
The schools under 2B is either the constituency you are serving or the constituency you are staying.Alexandrea:
I saw from GRC meeting of minutes that you have to be an active grassroot leader for at least 1 year before they will put you in Phase 2B.
They will also only give you a list of selected school around your constituency.
The only instances where you can register in the schools that are in the GRC you live in and the one that you serve in, is if you are in the CDC, CCMC or CCC.
And yes, the time frame is that you need to serve as an Executive Member for more than a year, but note that it takes some time for you to get promoted to an EM, so do account for about two years if you want to take this route. -
What Citygal wrote is right. GRL under RC/NC, 2B will be the constituency you serve. Only in CDC, CCC and CCMC, will your 2B in the constitency you serve and resite.
Good that Citygal made this point clear. -
I joined that grassroots during the time when I was in uni. Didnโt know about HDB parking, primary school registration etc. Only when I became a parent then I realised about the 2B thingy. Ha ha!! Almost 10 years of serving and I still enjoy the grassroots work. The best part is that I not even living in that GRC i serveโฆ
Dear parents,
Is there any differences between serving in RC and NC? Thanks!
Cara
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.