National Junior College (Junior High)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.3k Posts 467 Posters 855.6k Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

PowerPuff Mum:
      Thanks Phankao!

How is your DS enjoying school? What does he like most about it?
      has he done boarding yet? Thanks for sharing.
      Not in boarding yet. That's next term. He likes the programme. Says it is probalby much different from the sec sch affiliated to his pri sch - which is probably true. Lots of projects and group work. It suits his personality. The cohort is small, so he gets to interact not only with his own level but those in year 3, 4, 5, 6 and learns from the seniors. He's been given opportunities like the MOs, the science fairs. He's in the music programme and given opportunities to perform too.

Anyway, he's enjoying it lots, lah.

• JenniferJ Offline
        Jennifer

Hi, phankao.

Any comments on the boarding house?

PowerPuff Mum

A friend's boy applied for this year DSA exercise, so far her boy had sat for a test (on 1 day), gone on a day camp (on another day) and going for the interview (this Sat). Some classmates of her boy who also went for the day camp did not get select for the interview.

I thought once you are selected for Phase 2, you will be doing the Day activity and the interview as well. That's stated on their DSA page.
          http://www.njc.edu.sg/admission_p6dsa.htm

I am surprised that some didn't get an interview.

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

PowerPuff Mum:

A friend's boy applied for this year DSA exercise, so far her boy had sat for a test (on 1 day), gone on a day camp (on another day) and going for the interview (this Sat). Some classmates of her boy who also went for the day camp did not get select for the interview.

I thought once you are selected for Phase 2, you will be doing the Day activity and the interview as well. That's stated on their DSA page.
            http://www.njc.edu.sg/admission_p6dsa.htm

I am surprised that some didn't get an interview.

Or she made a mistake???

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

How can go for day camp but not interview? Day camp & interview is under the same phase.

PowerPuff Mum

PowerPuff Mum:

Thanks Phankao!

How is your DS enjoying school? What does he like most about it?
                has he done boarding yet? Thanks for sharing.

Not in boarding yet. That's next term. He likes the programme. Says it is probalby much different from the sec sch affiliated to his pri sch - which is probably true. Lots of projects and group work. It suits his personality. The cohort is small, so he gets to interact not only with his own level but those in year 3, 4, 5, 6 and learns from the seniors. He's been given opportunities like the MOs, the science fairs. He's in the music programme and given opportunities to perform too.

Anyway, he's enjoying it lots, lah.

Great! Good to hear that he's enjoying school so much. šŸ˜„ That means he will do well.

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

Hi, phankao.

Any comments on the boarding house?
                  It's HOT! haha. As in temperature hot. Not very windy if in the main atrium area! urgh.

The place is quite alright, lah. Like hostel in the Univ, basically. The entrance/foyers areas nice lah. Got water feature even. haha!

there is a link-bridge that our children would be one of the first to use since it will be ready only by the time they enter boarding.
                  http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4097/4929728284_4dbe923ba1.jpg\">
                  Rooms have:
                  2 beds
                  2 two-door wardrobe (v sufficient, lah)
                  Ceiling fan
                  Shelves
                  Study table/chair.
                  http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4929105979_5705ff2f8c.jpg\">
                  No need to bring mop, only need pail for clothes for laundry if doing laundry themselves.

Laundry service is free, pickup 10pm on Mon/Wed/Fri. Return on the next laundry day (eg. pickup Mon, send back Wed). Uniforms will be laundered and ironed. Only uniforms.

Full boarding term S$118 (cheap, hor?).

Food, seems quite alright. Only breakfast & dinner provided for Enhanced boarding students. (i think permanent boarding students get lunch as well).

For students who have regular enrichment classes, I think they said can apply for leave, eg. every thurs have piano lesson at 7pm, so parents must apply to the boarding school to let the child leave every thur for that class. But I think the students might not want to miss the evening programmes, so you have to check with your child. If can arrange for alternatives, best to do so.

Some parents asked about practising piano while in boarding school. They said there's one in the dining/study hall(no booking required), and a silent piano in another study room, I think, but need to book. And also there's music studios with pianos in the school itself.

Wifi access only available in the Dining/Study Hall and in the computer room. Bedrooms have no wifi. There are 18 computers in the computer room.

Er, did I cover most essentials? haha.

Vanilla Cake

Hi phankao,

(1) Is the restroom/toilet inside the room? If yes, does it come with hot/cold water supply?
                    (2) From the photo, the room door can be locked. So, keys are being used?Can the room be locked from inside?
                    (3) How many chairs are provided in the room? 2?
                    (4) No curtains for the window in the room?
                    (5) Just 1 each of 40 watt fluorescent lighting in the room? Is it bright enough?
                    (6) How many power supply outlets in each room?

Thanks for your feedback.
                    Vanilla Cake's mum.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

Vanilla Cake:

Hi phankao,

(1) Is the restroom/toilet inside the room? If yes, does it come with hot/cold water supply?
                      (2) From the photo, the room door can be locked. So, keys are being used?Can the room be locked from inside?
                      (3) How many chairs are provided in the room? 2?
                      (4) No curtains for the window in the room?
                      (5) Just 1 each of 40 watt fluorescent lighting in the room? Is it bright enough?
                      (6) How many power supply outlets in each room?

Thanks for your feedback.
                      Vanilla Cake's mum.

Er ... you go and see today, lor. You know how many parents throng hte room, in reality!?! This photo, i waited until everyone disappeared to take, and then I missed taking photos of the pantry. Didn't get to see the Laundry room.

1. You think what? Rooms come with Attached bathrooms, ah??!!!! Common toilet/bathroom outside, lah! I think in NTU hostels - there's only 1 hall that has attached bathrooms but after building that hall, NTU also decided to scrap the idea.

2. I don't know about lock to the room. Never occured to check.

3. chairs? should have 2 lah. 1 each.

4. Curtains? no idea. Don't think boys care about curtains. Your girls have been changing in the classrooms too, so I don't think they are all that self-conscious either. Windows have the \"magic seal\" netting though - some girls there asked me what they were for.

5. Room quite bright. At least 2 lights if I'm not mistaken.

6. Power supply : I think there are 3 plug outlets at the wall on top of the study desk. I think there may be another set elsewhere. whatever you see, just multiply by 2 bc it's the same on each side of the room. ANd you want to see plugs - go count yourself today. šŸ˜‰

MdmKS

[ - go count yourself today. šŸ˜‰

hi phakao, is today some kind of open house over there ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 156 / 534

sweetgirl80S
                        sweetgirl80