Missing stationeries

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    36 Posts 11 Posters 11.0k Views 1 Watching
      san76

HI,

As for me, I will write his name on the colour pencils, pencils and with initials at the back of the pencil (flat part)

Ruler also name written on it. Story books, in fact all books, I will hold the book pages tightly then write it on the side of the book. No matter how they want to tear the first page off, still the name is there.

Oh, kids are no longer the same like us. They dont treasure their things and belongings as much as we do. All their things are so expensive, I bought colleen colour pencils faber castell and gonis, he dont seems to love them. Brand new, he will be very excited and love it. Very happy and thanked me for all these, time passed, he will put and mix inside a big box. Oh, when I saw it, oh… all mixed up and became a box full of colour pencils. We appreciate all our things cost we dont buythem so often when we were young. Now maybe we relly pampered them.

Now he is better, he will keep only a few to bring to school and lesson, the rest he will leave it at home.

I bought him a big piece of eraser, he will picked on it and throw it at his friends and when he is in deep thoughts, his fingers will subconcious picked at the eraser. Kids are kids.

kiasiparent

I remember when i was young, my parents will put in some new pencils for me when i am asleep.

The next day, when i go to school. I was like wtf these pencils are not mine and then i give them to my friends lol. When i return home, i was scolded by my parents for losing the pencils.

sleepy

Mine opposite. She comes home with additional stationeries, gifts from her classmates. eg. pencil lead, stack of colour papers, cute note book, colourful paper clips, etc

Generous children who have good intention but didn’t realise their parents need to replace those items given away.

I insist she returns those items the very next day or else I will throw away. So there’s no incentive for her to accept those gifts. She has since learnt to reject all gifts since she knows I’m not thrilled.

schellen:
            buds, luckily, my DD is nonchalant about the name labels. Maybe because she went to childcare where we have to label everything, she got used to it.

I gave her MY own set of colour pencils, the one I bought for myself when I had to use it for my previous job. Since I had no use for it anymore and almost brand new, and as a gift to her for starting P1, I gave it to her. It's from Faber-Castell and I noticed that at the end of each pencil, there is a little \"white area'' for you to write the name on. This is so useful as before, I had to change to a silver marker in order to label legibly on her old set of dark-coloured pencils.
            I have begun labelling all the kiddies things since they each had their own
            stuff. Cos i have two princesses, so some things bought are identical.. If
            thiings do get mixed up then there's no issue of mine or yours - all clearly
            labelled.

My elder daughter didn't mind any labelling i did for any of her stuff when
            she was in P1. In fact, if she has new stuff and i forgot to label them, she
            will remind me and insist i label them before she brought them to school..
            Now P2 oredi, hehehee... think she noe how to pai-seh liao. Big girl mah.
            Can't be still need mummy to label all her property. Must oredi know own
            property! Kekekeke..

Yes, i agree with you schellen. Those small white strip area is very useful!

Oh yes, childcare MUST label everything! Very important!

sleepy:
              Mine opposite. She comes home with additional stationeries, gifts from her classmates. eg. pencil lead, stack of colour papers, cute note book, colourful paper clips, etc

Generous children who have good intention but didn't realise their parents need to replace those items given away.

I insist she returns those items the very next day or else I will throw away. So there's no incentive for her to accept those gifts. She has since learnt to reject all gifts since she knows I'm not thrilled.
              Hey yeah sleepy... mine too. But again only initial periods in P1. Beyond
              that no more such nonsense already. Suppose its just a phase our kiddies
              go through lah.. But i do not remember bringing my frenz stuff home when
              i was her age though... 😛

Luvkid

For every pencil lost, put 10 cents

in special petty cash box. Make it
                ala donation box! Ahahaa! :lol:[/quote]

Hey buds,

I used your method, but instead of set a petty cash box/donation box, i deducted my boy pocket money. Each item found missing, deducts 10 cent on the pocket money for next day. This started 2 weeks back. Yet still in every few days, sure got something gone missing. But at least not that frequent anymore. 🙏 One day, he came back with an item missing, he pleaded with me \"give me chance, tmr i go and find,ok\" This really makes me dun know to laugh or cry :?

Hopefully by term 3 or term 4 or next year, he has no problem of this.... :roll:

Heyya Luvkid,

I'd hold my stoic self first... when he turns his face away,
                  giggle a bit... and later when i sit to think abt what just
                  transpired, mebbe tear a bit... 😢 ... its like haiyah..
                  so poor thing right...

Parenting ain't easy.
                  Most times parents feel so bad to discipline children in
                  certain ways and tend to succumb to \"its ok lah\" not a
                  big of a deal anyways.. but you let up once, you know you'll
                  let up again many other times after that.. so consistency and
                  perserverance is so impportant lor.

:ugogirl:

Anyways, just so you know... putting in petty cash box
                  provides a physical sense of the moo-lah ($$$). Meaning
                  that the child can see just how MUCH money was being
                  thrown in there say... in a month! As compared to the
                  deduction format, which is more of a loss of income
                  feeling. Hehehee.. But hey, when it comes to the moh-nay
                  whichever way, the pinch will be felt the same..

Have faith, Luvkid. Your lucky spell will show you the
                  way through thee end. 😉

Cheerios.
                  Hava great weekend!

Luvkid

sigh......recently my dear son came back with 2 missing item,ie eraser and THERMOMETER (given by the school at the start of this year). Due to swine flu, school is conducting actively on temperature taking exercise. But he came back with the thermometer missing.

me: \"where's yr eraser?\"
                    my son: \"in school.\"
                    me: \"where's the thermometer?\"
                    my son: \"in school.\"
                    me: \"WHY DUN U LEAVE YRSELF IN SCHOOL TOO?\" :x
                    my son: ......... :shock: (keep quiet,thinking why mummy said this)

I ended this by saying \"Go back to school and find back the items on tmr, th thermometer is critical for the temp taking exercise, u ought to find it, if not answer to yr teacher by yrself!\" And there goes his 😢 😢 😢 . \"Is yr responsibility to take care of yr stuff! Stop and off u go!\" (On that day, he has taekwando training)

After he went off, I checked his bag 1 more time. :booboo: I found the thermometer. Me, what to do now??? :imsorry: Apologise when his taekwando training ended. He replies \"Dun do that again hor\" (Scolding him with nothing) I'm sorry too, but not keeping my belongings properly....\" :snuggles:

acforfamily

Guess what? When my son was in kindergarten, he lost…not an eraser, a pencil or whatever but… his schoolbag!

It was an artbag and all of them had to carry to school on art day. Everyone’s was the same and he someone must have taken his. Was nonchalant about it. After a big lecture about taking care of his things, he learned to start looking for his things and trying to remember where he left them.

• Y Offline
                        yjj

acforfamily:
                        Guess what? When my son was in kindergarten, he lost...not an eraser, a pencil or whatever but.......... his schoolbag!

It was an artbag and all of them had to carry to school on art day. Everyone's was the same and he someone must have taken his. Was nonchalant about it. After a big lecture about taking care of his things, he learned to start looking for his things and trying to remember where he left them.
                        I find it useful to personalize the standard issue bags by drawing a picture with a slightly different shaded permanent marker, incorporating the initials as part of the design. Something simple like a flower with initials in the leaf for a girl.

This helps DD to locate her bag quickly and prevent others from taking hers.

Especially since DD is in a girls school and 95% of all the kids carry a PINK school bag, and 50% of those bought the same model in the school store when it was on discount.

I dont like to add other stuff like key chain/ dolls as they add to the weight of the already heavy bags.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 4