Tackling Oral Examination

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    143 Posts 61 Posters 123.2k Views 1 Watching

csc:
      Being a typical kiasu parent, how can I not have those reference books?

I grabbed them when they were first out on the market! :lol:

The books are indeed a good guide.

Just for sharing, I think the P5 & 6 syllabus has changed slightly, so the pictures in P5 & 6 are no longer as 'complicated' depicting many situations. Nowadays, the picture given is simpler with 1/2 situations to talk about. We need to remind our children the need to elaborate, infer and interpret the situation besides giving a mere description. Otherwise, children will be at a loss for words, given the limited situations.

Nevertheless, those pictures provide good practice.
      Thanks csc, for the heads up in the slight change to the upper primary
      exam context. Very much appreciated. πŸ˜‰

keekee:
        Buds,

Thanks for the recommendation. Bought both the chinese and english versions yesterday.
        keekee, is the chinese one good?
        does it has a list of commonly used chinese phrases (with english translation) in it?
        TIA.

dilemma:
          Buds......

Yes... Yes... I'm here! πŸ˜‰
          dilemma:
          Two questions for you or anyone who knows.....thanks....

Is it compulsory to draw model for P1 maths or is it ok if they just show workings like 20-12=8 at the side? I think model makes my gal even more blur.....
          Yup, dilemma. I truly understand your dilemma... hehee..
          pun intended. πŸ˜‰ Yes, it can be confusing for a child
          who is not used to the modelling technique to see the
          supposedly seemingly straight forward way it is... and
          it takes more effort to draw and make the markings as
          compared to just doing the number workings...

My take is first to quickly check with teacher before the
          upcoming Maths paper. Next, while waiting for teacher's
          reply... observe and recall if all this while your gal has in
          fact been doing model workings for her class work as that
          will mean that her school implements that working style in
          their Maths lessons and homework. Lastly, i agree with csc
          that usually unless its specifically asked that the student MUST
          use model working to show how the answer was derived, then
          yes... then bo-pian... must do liao.
          dilemma:
          For English picture writing, do they have to write in paragraph form or they can number their sentences as follows :-

1) Ali is 7 years old.
          2) He is a boy.
          3) He has a pet dog named Bobby.

OR in paragraph :

Ali is 7 years old. He is a boy. He has a pet dog named Bobby...........

Appreciate anyone who can respond to the above.
          The requirements vary in different school of thought. In my case, my
          kiddie did not hafta choose between the two as in the exam paper itself
          the the answer part was outlined already with numbers... hence she just
          needed to fill in the sentence blanks.

But in P2, the students have begun paragraphing for their 80 words compo
          and must have the initial bigger gap for each new paragraph... like mebbe
          5 fingers kinda gap from the left / margin.

Hope this sheds some light.

Please run through your doubts cast here with the teacher, so you won't
          worry you're revising it entirely in a different manner as to how it has
          all the while been done in school.

Have a good day ahead, dilemma.

schellen

buds, sashimi and I went to get the Oral book last night. I’ll be trying it out today. I flipped through last night and the pictures look so much better.

dilemma

Hi Buds and CSC

Thanks so much for your valuable advice. Will check with the class teacher if model drawing is compulsory.

I bought the Elementary for Oral Techniques yesterday too. Think it is very good. Buds, thank you very much for your recommendation.

schellen:
                buds, sashimi and I went to get the Oral book last night. I'll be trying it out today. I flipped through last night and the pictures look so much better.

Better than the one i posted up ya, schellen...?
                Mebbe not so clear when transferred electronically?

Ermm, YES! Its the pictures i really like!
                Like jedamum said, the practise ones sch
                gives are the relatively blurred ones and
                you're right to say that its due to hand me
                down reasons and also bad photocopying..
                (master-photocopy print out archive)

I also like that the book gave me some
                questions to prompt just in case my kiddie
                got stuck pausing for thought too long...

I cover the prompt-questions during my
                practise with her... and also have the
                relatively a-lotta-stuff-pictures scanned
                and blown up on A4 paper for better
                referencing.

Happy trying!

*Oh schellen, i have another one. Just bought.
                *Putting it up now... πŸ˜‰

dilemma:
                  Hi Buds and CSC

Thanks so much for your valuable advice. Will check with the class teacher if model drawing is compulsory.

I bought the Elementary for Oral Techniques yesterday too. Think it is very good. Buds, thank you very much for your recommendation.
                  You are very welcome, sweetie!
                  Like Chief said, we only recommend the best here!

One of my frenz like to say, \"Good things must share...\"

schellen

Better than the one i posted up ya, schellen...?

Mebbe not so clear when transferred electronically?

Ermm, YES! Its the pictures i really like!
                    Like jedamum said, the practise ones sch
                    gives are the relatively blurred ones and
                    you're right to say that its due to hand me
                    down reasons and also bad photocopying..
                    (master-photocopy print out archive)

I also like that the book gave me some
                    questions to prompt just in case my kiddie
                    got stuck pausing for thought too long...

I cover the prompt-questions during my
                    practise with her... and also have the
                    relatively a-lotta-stuff-pictures scanned
                    and blown up on A4 paper for better
                    referencing.

Happy trying!

*Oh schellen, i have another one. Just bought.
                    *Putting it up now... πŸ˜‰
                    No, better than what we got from her teacher.
                    I also like it that there are sample passages of different genres.

Tonight must mug already cos she'll be with my in-law's for the weekend and oral starts on Monday!

schellen:

No, better than what we got from her teacher.
                      I also like it that there are sample passages of different genres.

Tonight must mug already cos she'll be with my in-law's for the weekend and oral starts on Monday!
                      Oh i see.. Yup, better than what i got from her teacher too back then in P1
                      so i source out and found this gem of a piece and thought this one must
                      share, especially now with oral exams in full swing!

Can ask IL to help revise with her?
                      Mebbe for Mandarin picture discussions?

New book up for recommendation everyone..

But this time its assessment book for English..
                        Why i like it?

Has everything test paper based questions but
                        not in a test paper form. Book form. Also has
                        Picture Discussions (pix not bad too) and Reading
                        Passages and also Listening Comprehension ex.

Here is the front and back cover.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq2IXWPr

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2Cqdqi

Some sample pages to entice you... πŸ˜‰

ORAL PASSAGE
                        http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CqnoS

PICTURE CONVERSATION
                        http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CqMli

LISTENING COMPREHENSION (1)
                        http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gx1M3zyi

COMPREHENSION
                        http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CrLHS

There's also vocabulary and cloze passage practises.
                        And cool pictures for Picture Composition plus word aid
                        and phrases for children to apply to their composition.
                        Also available from Popular.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 15