7 New IP schools
MotherHen:
today......I tend to agree. No doubt academic excellence & curriculum are important, to me school culture is equally if not more important. Realistically CHS-SNGS do have a different school culture/background vs SCGS. I think there are many parents who send their children to a certain school precisely bcos of the school culture. There is also no doubt that the unique culture of each school will be diluted when all's blended together. At the end of the day, feeder schools do contribute to the shaping of the school culture and when it's so diverse, I dun know.... It's just different from existing models when the feeder schools are somewhat connected/affiliated and progress to an institution with dominant/common culture. Personally, I will be really sad to see another academically excellent government JC, tho only time will tell.[/u]
CHS/SNGS/SCGS > up to \"O\" levels (own culture) > go to various JCs (other cultures)
tomorrow...
CHS/SNGS/SCGS > up to year 4 (own culture) > go to Catholic Nick Chinese Gals JC (mixed but contain a bit of own culture)
nothing is lost, right? :? -
Agree. All are "Singapore culture". So what is the problem?
Quote from VS website
Principal's note
8 September 2010
Dear Parents, Old Boys and Victorians,
Victoria School to offer the IP in 2012
As announced by the Ministry of Education, Victoria School will offer the Integrated Programme (IP) in 2012 at the Sec 1 level. Similarly, Cedar Girls' Secondary School will do likewise. Students on the IP will be on the thru-train to offer the A level at Victoria Junior College.
VS will continue to offer the O level programme. As the affliated school to VJC, VS students will continue to have access to VJC via the JC admission based on their O level results.
Attached is a list of FAQs for reference to questions you might have on the IP.
Click here to view/download the FAQs.
Nil Sine Labore.
Low Eng Teong, Principal -
Q1. What will be the distinctive features of the Victoria School (VS) / Cedar Girls’ Secondary School (CGSS) / Victoria Junior College (VJC) partnership?
Ans : All three schools have a rich school culture and a vibrant school spirit. They have outstanding track records in the academic arena. Their teachers have implemented school-based curriculum innovation to enrich the teaching and learning of their students. With this partnership, the two secondary schools will draw from their expertise in the delivery of the ‘O’ level programme while VJC will share its expertise in developing students of higher ability. The 4-year Victoria Integrated Programme (VIP) in VJC has been successful and produced excellent outcomes. You can therefore expect the partnership amongst the three schools to produce a programme that encapsulates the best features of each institution.
In the non-academic arena, the integrated programme students in CGSS and VS will experience the ethos and privilege of an all girls and all boys education respectively and at the same time, they will also participate in joint programmes. In addition, the students will enjoy the full range of co-curricular programmes such as sports, performing arts, uniformed groups and student leadership development programmes.
Integrated programme students at VJC have given feedback that they enjoyed the learning approach which has allowed them to stretch their intellectual potential, while equipping them for self-directed learning. In fact, Chow Yi Ling, one of CGSS students who joined the VIP, has blossomed and has just received the President’s Scholarship. Other examples include Teh Yi Ying who was a prefect at CGSS, and proceeded to VIP in 2009. She has won the MOE Humanities Scholarship, and is now a Peer Support Leader at VJC. Rishvinder Singh, a Secondary 2 class monitor from VS who is currently in VIP, has won numerous awards namely the MOE Pre-University Scholarship, A*STAR JC Science Award, DSTA JC Scholarship, DSTA YDSP Academic Award for Mathematics, and presently serves as the Chairman of VJC Drama Club. The VS/CGSS/VJC partnership aims to extend these opportunities and expand the scope for development to even more students.
Q2. My child is in Secondary 2 this year. Can he/she join the integrated programme currently offered by VJC?
Ans : Application to the Class of 2011 is already closed and we no longer consider fresh applications.
Q3. My child is in Secondary 1 this year. Can he/she join the integrated programme currently offered by VJC?
Ans : Current Secondary 1 students (from any Secondary Schools) can apply to the Victoria Integrated Programme in March 2011. If successful, he/she will be part of the Victoria Integrated Programme in VJC from 2012 to 2015.
Q4. My child is in Primary 6 this year. If he/she wants to join the integrated programme currently offered by VJC, does he/she have to join VS/CGSS next year?
Ans : At the end of 2012, VS and CGSS will select eligible Secondary 2 students to be part of the integrated programme at Secondary 3 in 2013. If your child is in Primary 6 now, he/she can join VS/CGSS in 2011 and by the end of 2012, he/she can apply for the integrated programme. If successful, he/she will be part of the integrated programme in 2013 leading to the ‘A’ levels in VJC.
Q5. My child is in Primary 6 this year. If he/she does not go to VS/CGSS in 2011, will he/she still have the chance to join the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC when he/she is Sec 3?
Ans : VS/CGSS is open to accepting eligible applicants for the integrated programme at the end of Sec 2.
Q6. My child is in Primary 5 this year. How is he/she affected by the changes?
Ans : VS and CGSS will offer the integrated programme to Secondary 1 students starting in 2012. If your child is currently in Primary 5, he/she will be able to join the 6-year integrated programme in 2012 leading to the ‘A’ levels in VJC in 2017.
Q7. What are the selection criteria for the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC?
Ans : The details are still being finalised. We will publicly announce the details once they are available. For current Primary 6 students, you must first enrol in VS/CGSS in 2011 to qualify for the integrated programme in 2013.
Q8. What does \"dual track\" mean? How does it affect me?
Ans : Together with VJC, VS and CGSS will offer the integrated programme leading to the ‘A’ levels. At the same time, the ‘O’ level programme will continue at VS and CGSS. From 2012 onwards, subject to selection, Secondary 1 students at VS and CGSS can choose to offer either programme.
We will monitor the progress and performance of the integrated programme students. Integrated programme students who find the ‘O’ level track more suitable for them will be able to make lateral transfers to the ‘O’ level programme.
For non-integrated programme students who are late bloomers and have demonstrated the appropriate attributes, they will have the opportunity to join the integrated programme track. -
All those who keep harping about ‘shared culture’ are still having the mindset of living in the previous era. In today’s context and more importantly going to the future, executives and public servants need to have a balanced view and helicopter vision to be effective. MOE is wise to bring them together.
If the principal and board of SCGS feel a high degree of uncertainity on this occassion, they would have asked to join SJI, another established sch with a rich history and also a close neighbour. Surely all alternatives and options must had been debated at the board of SCGS before they accepted MOE’s initiative. This include all points outlined earlier in this forum. -
INNOVATE:
right. they all need to innovate ! the only constant is change and change is constantAll those who keep harping about 'shared culture' are still having the mindset of living in the previous era. In today's context and more importantly going to the future, executives and public servants need to have a balanced view and helicopter vision to be effective. MOE is wise to bring them together.
If the principal and board of SCGS feel a high degree of uncertainity on this occassion, they would have asked to join SJI, another established sch with a rich history and also a close neighbour. Surely all alternatives and options must had been debated at the board of SCGS before they accepted MOE's initiative. This include all points outlined earlier in this forum. -
happymum8:
The FAQs sibei cheem... or I noob...
Q7. What are the selection criteria for the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC?
Ans : The details are still being finalised. We will publicly announce the details once they are available. For current Primary 6 students, you must first enrol in VS/CGSS in 2011 to qualify for the integrated programme in 2013.
For P5 and P6 students, the IP selection is not based on PSLE results?
For current Sec1 (any sch), the IP selection is based on what results? -
INNOVATE:
3 of them were discussing:... Surely all alternatives and options must had been debated at the board of SCGS before they accepted MOE's initiative. This include all points outlined earlier in this forum.
Nick: wanna be frens?
Nyonya: we already frens, right?
Catholic:
Nick: eh monk! you wanna fren us?
Catholic:
Nick: eh! you smile wat smile?
Catholic:
Nick + Nyonya: eh! so you want or dowant?
Catholic: ok la! I fren you both.
Nick + Nyonya: :hugs:
and all live happily ever after. -
dunnoleh:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
3 of them were discussing:INNOVATE:
... Surely all alternatives and options must had been debated at the board of SCGS before they accepted MOE's initiative. This include all points outlined earlier in this forum.
Nick: wanna be frens?
Nyonya: we already frens, right?
Catholic:
Nick: eh monk! you wanna fren us?
Catholic:
Nick: eh! you smile wat smile?
Catholic:
Nick + Nyonya: eh! so you want or dowant?
Catholic: ok la! I fren you both.
Nick + Nyonya: :hugs:
and all live happily ever after. -
happymum8:
[b]Q5. My child is in Primary 6 this year. If he/she does not go to VS/CGSS in 2011, will he/she still have the chance to join the integrated programme offered by VS/CGSS/VJC when he/she is Sec 3?
Ans : VS/CGSS (and not VJC!) is open to accepting eligible applicants for the integrated programme at the end of Sec 2.
By inference it will appear that the current co-educational VJC VIP pgm for Sec3 /4 held in the VJC itself will be discontinued in 2013. Instead the IP'ers will continue in the respective VS/CGSS. Seems a pity that this is happening as the VIP pgm started in 2005 and I'm sure had been finetuned to its current state today by the VJC VIP teachers and staff..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.