Nanyang Primary

4.3k Posts 436 Posters 1.5m Views 1 Watching
      mrswongtuition

DImsum, think your class make up is different from my hubs.

It’s very sad on what we experienced but it’s not the schoo. It’s the parents who don’t teach their kids well.

My students from NYPS don’t come from well to do families but their parents put good sense into them. They told me that their classmates do compare (who has hp, who has iPhone/iPod touch, etc).

Ultimately, it’s how the parents teach their kids.

• geniceG Offline
        genice

it is up to the parents to educate the children about kids comparing materialistic stuffs, coming in big cars or walk on foot, chauffeur-driven or not, etc etc

in every school, famous or not, there will be comparisons, good or bad - it is a teaching point by the parents.

many \"atas\" parents ? it is all mindset problem with the parents. starting solving the problem at home with the parents having the right perspective and attitude first

it is also the best opportunity to teach the kids to rise above all these unimportant \"distractions\" of comparisons and the kids will grow up knowing how to deal with boastful friends

in fact, many of the rich and famous walk or cycle to school - eg Jim Roger's daughter....and many others - simply walk

the school has a good mix of pupils from all background ...... and they are hardly noticed

Hehe.. the rich and famous walk/cycle to school cause they stay down the road mah.. by the time they start their engine and drive out of their parking lot and join the jam think their kids already reach school liao. 👅

I do agree that its impt to educate them on all these issues abt comparing between their peers and being contented with what they have.But to be honest, in a class of 35, if 75% are rich ( i dun think the kids noe abt famous at this age) and they hang out together, inevitably kids will start to have a lot of questions on their minds abt why his fren can have this /that and blah blah... just worried that our kids will be affected negatively and we have to constantly be dealing with this issue of explaining to him/ her abt it and we might not be explaining in the best ways that can make him/her think more positively.

If worst case end up only have 1-2 frens.. even more jialat :roll:

But if there is a good mix then i am not that worried liao. 😄 wonder what is the profile of the parents in general in a class.. Any ideas?? 80% parents are grads of unis? 50% staying in pte? Is this like the primary school version of pats schoolhse?

Come to think abt it, when i was in sec. school, some of my frens were quite rich but i din even noe.. apparently 1 classmate of mine, her father is a famous brain surgeon then the rest got lawyers and stuf.. but i also din ask much cause i dun even hang out with them... differnt wavelengths.. i am the heartlanders grp.. haha

• geniceG Offline
          genice

[quote]If you are using your IL's address, means must make statutory declaration that they are looking after your child. Then you will be considered within 1-2km even if your IL's place is just beside the school.

Unless you are moving to stay with your ILs and your IC address change, then you will be considered within 1km.

Anyway, I think there'll be balloting no matter which phase you are in.
          Rather scary for parents trying to register at NYPS.[/quote]Har.. only can qualify for 1-2 km?? oops i din noe that... then jia lat already cause their vacancies filled up within 1km rite?

Mrs wong so even in phase 2 B must ballot? So they rese3rve slots for phase 2B and 2 C? eg.. only 50 slots for phase 2 B so there3 may be 60 parents from PV and GR balloting? does it go by distance here??

• geniceG Offline
            genice

[quote](and that includes that ridiculous $1000 alumni fee to allow my boy to register at NYPS at an earlier phase).[/quote]
            i confirm with guaranttee chop.. will do that too if i am former student... dun waste time liao... :lol:

mrswongtuition

genice:
              [quote](and that includes that ridiculous $1000 alumni fee to allow my boy to register at NYPS at an earlier phase).

i confirm with guaranttee chop.. will do that too if i am former student... dun waste time liao... :lol:[/quote]We are not that rich to just throw out a lump sum of $1k just like that. My hubs gotta scrimp and save on himself for at least half a year to save up that amount....

NatTif Mummy

My DD just finished P6 last yr, she has friends from various classes/levels of all sorts of family background, alot are from rich families. We are from humble family background, but I have never heard of her complaining being snob at during her 3 yrs' stay there. One even opened her hse in King's Rd for the kids to eat, rest & study before CCA at 4pm (I was most grateful). One of her good friend is daughter of a minister. Maybe she is lucky, but seems that the kids are mostly well brought up.

I told my DD before she started studying there that if she is being look down upon due to her family background, then that person is no friend of hers. She has met none of that sort. She and her class/schoolmates remain close contact even after graduation.
                My DD said they were told to join the junior alumni last few days of school, my grandchild confirm has a place there, unless policy change :lol:

VooVoo

genice:

it is up to the parents to educate the children about kids comparing materialistic stuffs, coming in big cars or walk on foot, chauffeur-driven or not, etc etc

in every school, famous or not, there will be comparisons, good or bad - it is a teaching point by the parents.

many \"atas\" parents ? it is all mindset problem with the parents. starting solving the problem at home with the parents having the right perspective and attitude first

it is also the best opportunity to teach the kids to rise above all these unimportant \"distractions\" of comparisons and the kids will grow up knowing how to deal with boastful friends

in fact, many of the rich and famous walk or cycle to school - eg Jim Roger's daughter....and many others - simply walk

the school has a good mix of pupils from all background ...... and they are hardly noticed

Hehe.. the rich and famous walk/cycle to school cause they stay down the road mah.. by the time they start their engine and drive out of their parking lot and join the jam think their kids already reach school liao. 👅

I do agree that its impt to educate them on all these issues abt comparing between their peers and being contented with what they have.But to be honest, in a class of 35, if 75% are rich ( i dun think the kids noe abt famous at this age) and they hang out together, inevitably kids will start to have a lot of questions on their minds abt why his fren can have this /that and blah blah... just worried that our kids will be affected negatively and we have to constantly be dealing with this issue of explaining to him/ her abt it and we might not be explaining in the best ways that can make him/her think more positively.

If worst case end up only have 1-2 frens.. even more jialat :roll:

But if there is a good mix then i am not that worried liao. 😄 wonder what is the profile of the parents in general in a class.. Any ideas?? 80% parents are grads of unis? 50% staying in pte? Is this like the primary school version of pats schoolhse?
                  Come to think abt it, when i was in sec. school, some of my frens were quite rich but i din even noe.. apparently 1 classmate of mine, her father is a famous brain surgeon then the rest got lawyers and stuf.. but i also din ask much cause i dun even hang out with them... differnt wavelengths.. i am the heartlanders grp.. haha

Interesting...what is it about pat's schoolhse would you mean by that statement?

BlurDad

sigh... you know , i know.. 😉

mrswongtuition

BlurDad:
                      sigh... you know , i know.. 😉

😉

• dimsumD Offline
                        dimsum

NatTif Mummy:

My DD said they were told to join the junior alumni last few days of school, my grandchild confirm has a place there, unless policy change :lol:
                        NatTif Mummy, does your DD need to pay $1K to join junior alumni? If no need, it's really good to join now than to incur $1K later. 😛

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 63 / 426