I Can Read - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    987 Posts 354 Posters 478.6k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      yuppybb

steffi88:
      yuppybb:

hmm was wondering if there is any mummies here who have tried ICR @ Rivervale mall in SK?

need to garner some feedbacks.

thanks 🙂

my gal is currently with the branch. which level are u looking at?

Hi steffie88

i m not sure of the level. my gal is 4 yr now.

Yesterday went over to check out the course outline but the counter lady wearing a big big diamond ring was not friendly at all. make me pissed man. 😛

• DC MummyD Offline
        DC Mummy

My DS also in ICR @ Rivervale mall. He is in PRP and just completed 2 terms there. Me too, noticed the reception lady always wearing the BIG diamond ring and she doesn’t seem approachable and friendly. But I still send DS there due convience, for shorter travel distance.

Teacher in charge is okay as my son enjoys going there. The only thing is the teacher does not update you the child progress, unless you ask. Also, I do not know what has been taught in the lesson and unable to do revision with DS at home. What I did is using some phonics books purchased from the popular to teach him, hope in this way, he can pick up faster…

• Y Offline
          yuppybb

usaik:
          yuppybb:

hmm was wondering if there is any mummies here who have tried ICR @ Rivervale mall in SK?

need to garner some feedbacks.

thanks 🙂

Hi, I used to send my son to ICR@SK. And that was more than 3 years ago. I find ICR programme very effective in teaching and helping young children to read and spell. I personally felt that it is an extremely effective programme for kindie going children. My son was unable to read when he first joined the class at the beginning of k2. In fact, the reason why I send him to ICR is because his kindie principal raised concerns on how he can't read simple words. I can see very good progress very shortly after I send him to ICR@SK.

I believe there were some concerns by parents who felt that the programme has a lot of drilling where they give long list of spelling words each week. However, personally I felt that it's not difficult for the child as the programme teaches concept of how they pronounce each word phonetically. Once the concept is grasped, it doesn't really matter whether it is 10 words or 50 words, the kid will know how to spell them almost effortlessly. And from how the child know how to spell the words, the teacher would know whether the child had successfully grasped the concepts too.

Very importantly, ds likes going to lesson. He used to have this teacher whom he called Teacher Philip (there used to be 2 teacher Philip there, but the younger teacher is the one who taught my son. Not sure if he is still there). Ds clicked extremely well with him. The teacher is responsible and Ds seems to have fun going for lesson every week. I had stopped Ds at the centre when he was in P1 as the timing was just not right. In addition, I have this impression (or you might call a lame excuse) that their writing problem may not be as good as their reading programme (afterall they are called 'I Can Read').

Administratively as a centre, I don't have any bad experience during the 1.5 year with them. However, if I do compare it with some other enrichment centres, i must say they are definitely weaker. One of them was : no regularly communication letters. Most communication back then was either verbally or parents need to read it from the notice sticked on the glass door at the centres. So it would help for parents to personally go down to fetch the child a little bit earlier and check out any notices back then. I am not sure how things is being run now, it might have improved.

helo usaik

thanks for the feedback.. 😄

my gal is 4 this year and i realise that she is weak in reading (english) despite me regularly reading /flashing cards to her. As such i m planning to enrol her in \"I can read\" to improve her reading skills.
          On the other hand, i did no work on mandarin at home but her mandarin is quite alright. She can read books for beginners...i must really thank her CC teachers.

btw was wondering are the the teachers mainly \"angmoh\" in this branch? this thread only review about 2-3 branches mainly and was thinking y is there no compliments for the teachers in some other branches. hmm should i enrol her here or send her further to other ICR branch?

DD will be going for her assessment next tues. What does the assessment encompass? DD is pretty shy and might not speak up during the assessment. headache :?

• Y Offline
            yuppybb

DC Mummy:
            My DS also in ICR @ Rivervale mall. He is in PRP and just completed 2 terms there. Me too, noticed the reception lady always wearing the BIG diamond ring and she doesn't seem approachable and friendly. But I still send DS there due convience, for shorter travel distance.

Teacher in charge is okay as my son enjoys going there. The only thing is the teacher does not update you the child progress, unless you ask. Also, I do not know what has been taught in the lesson and unable to do revision with DS at home. What I did is using some phonics books purchased from the popular to teach him, hope in this way, he can pick up faster.......
            hey DC mummy

haa so m not the only one that notice the big stone on her finger 🙂

i asked the lady
            1) what level will my 4 yr gal be? ---ANS : must do assessment. dunno.
            2) what will be tested on during assessment? --- ANS : cant tell u, she must be here
            3) what is the course outline? ---ANS : phonics.

i'm really pissed man. :x what her short and SHARPPPP answer hehe
            so was thinking of changing to other branch but yet like your situation, this is the closest as im residing in punggol.

MLJ

Hi parents,

Does anyone have kids at the Newton branch, if that is what it is called. It is near United Square. If you do, how do you find the teachers there? Are they effective? 😄

• U Offline
                usaik

yuppybb:

helo usaik

thanks for the feedback.. 😄

my gal is 4 this year and i realise that she is weak in reading (english) despite me regularly reading /flashing cards to her. As such i m planning to enrol her in \"I can read\" to improve her reading skills.
                On the other hand, i did no work on mandarin at home but her mandarin is quite alright. She can read books for beginners...i must really thank her CC teachers.

btw was wondering are the the teachers mainly \"angmoh\" in this branch? this thread only review about 2-3 branches mainly and was thinking y is there no compliments for the teachers in some other branches. hmm should i enrol her here or send her further to other ICR branch?

DD will be going for her assessment next tues. What does the assessment encompass? DD is pretty shy and might not speak up during the assessment. headache :?
                Hi yuppybb,
                You are most welcome.
                It's great that your girl can read CL books! I do agree that teacher make a difference.

When ds was there 3 years ago, yes, the teachers were mainly \"Angmoh\". Not too sure now, perhaps other forumers with kiddos still there may be able give you a more up-to-date info.
                Whether you should send your kiddo to a further centre, it really depends. If you are uncomfortable with this centre, then yes, you should find one which both you and your kiddo are comfortable. The most important person I felt should be comfortable is the CHILD.
                Just to share, I first started my boy with a centre@ orchard (Not ICR). This centre has very professional looking admin staffs and the Ang moh teacher looked kind and patient. However ds just hated it. After 2 lessons, he refused to go for class. That's when I switched to ICR@SK.
                The assessment at ICR is very much a placement test. The child will be asked to read some letters or words from a set of colour cards. It basically helps the teacher to decide which level should the child be placed in the ICR programme. If I remember correctly, parent is allowed to sit next to the child during the assessments. You might like to re-assure your girl and prep her a bit before the assessments.
                All the best!

steffi88

Hi Yuppybb

I was at the centre yesterday too! My gal has her lesson every thurs.

Yup, the receptionists over at RM are not at all friendly. Also, they always leave before the lessons are over, leaving the teachers and cleaner auntie to handle the kids and lock up the centre. For me, i did not approach the receptionist. What i did was to register for an assessment on the ICR website. Once registered, the person who called up (think was the recept), was much friendly.

For 4 yr old, will be placed in either the TCS or PRP depending on whether ur kid know the sounds of the alphabets. My gal started with TCS cos she was only able to say the alphabets, not the sounds. She did well enuf to be promoted to the next level within a mth.

Btw at RM, the little learners, TCS and PRP are all taught by a local - teacher cindy. PRP has a class taught by a ‘relief’ teacher though. Overall i find teacher cindy responsible and caring. My gal likes her and her lessons.

Sorry for the long post

steffi88

DC Mummy:
                    My DS also in ICR @ Rivervale mall. He is in PRP and just completed 2 terms there. Me too, noticed the reception lady always wearing the BIG diamond ring and she doesn't seem approachable and friendly. But I still send DS there due convience, for shorter travel distance.

Teacher in charge is okay as my son enjoys going there. The only thing is the teacher does not update you the child progress, unless you ask. Also, I do not know what has been taught in the lesson and unable to do revision with DS at home. What I did is using some phonics books purchased from the popular to teach him, hope in this way, he can pick up faster.......
                    DC Mummy

Ur son currently in PRP? Which class is he attending? My gal is in the thurs class.

U r right, usually i dun know what is being taught in class. Dun think the assessment book is relevant? Also, till now i dun really know the purpose of the plastic folder that was given to her. Only know that if she managed to answer some qns correctly, the teacher will stamp on it.

hapydino

any idea if progress reports will be given by the teachers so we will know how our child is doing?? i know LCentral giving these reports…

• DC MummyD Offline
                        DC Mummy

hapydino:
                        any idea if progress reports will be given by the teachers so we will know how our child is doing?? i know LCentral giving these reports..

So far, after completed 2 terms, there is no progress report given out at ICR@SK.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 99

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies