fionong:
Our First Indonesian Maid was from Lampung. She was living like a QUEEN with us. She was bad in household chores, our house was stink and messy for around 2 years. The food she cook sucks, not edible at all. When we had party at home, she will mixed around with other Indonesian Maids and simply forget about our baby.
My 2nd maid was from Lampung...her cooking sucks. When I had some gatherings with my friends, she was gossiping and mixed with friends' maids instead of doing her work. After everyone left, I have to remind her clean up :x
Then I got a replacement maid because this lousy one was on my nerves and gone beyong my tolerance level. The replacement maid refused to cook because with her prev employer, she doesn't have to cook at all. Her employer will buy lunch and dinner for her. I don't need maid to look after baby, if she doesn't cook, then what is a maid for ? -
Janet,fionong:
Our First Indonesian Maid was from Lampung. She was living like a QUEEN with us. She was bad in household chores, our house was stink and messy for around 2 years. The food she cook sucks, not edible at all. When we had party at home, she will mixed around with other Indonesian Maids and simply forget about our baby.
My 2nd maid was from Lampung...her cooking sucks. When I had some gatherings with my friends, she was gossiping and mixed with friends' maids instead of doing her work. After everyone left, I have to remind her clean up :x
Then I got a replacement maid because this lousy one was on my nerves and gone beyong my tolerance level. The replacement maid refused to cook because with her prev employer, she doesn't have to cook at all. Her employer will buy lunch and dinner for her. I don't need maid to look after baby, if she doesn't cook, then what is a maid for ?
I think some of the maids are merely here to have fun or to see the world. And for Myanmar Maids, we are their stepping stone for them to find a job in local hospitals.
During interview, all maids will definitely say \"YES\" to all questions. eg. \"Do you know how to cook?\" \"Do you know how to operate electrical appliances ?\"....etc. After arriving at our place, everything don't know.
Once I choose a maid whose portfolio indicate she is not afraid of dog, but she shivered after she saw our dog (SHIH TZU) then she told us she is afraid of dog.
Well..... I believe employing a maid depend all on our luck. -
Sadly.fionong:
Well..... I believe employing a maid depend all on our luck.
We spend so much time and money on them still should have lucky genes to have good maid :stupid:
We've had ONE good maid and 6 horrendous ones.
I cannot even begin to get into their \"antics\" here.
Nonetheless, we currently have a local PT maid come in the morning.
But she will be going away in December to help someone with her confinement, as she is a confinement lady as well. Cannot break her ricebowl, she does make more money being a confinement lady than helping us PT everyday.
I may very well quit my job and become a SAHM again instead of getting a new FT maid.
Just to illustrate: MIL treated one of our previous so well that when I tried to correct the stubborn mule's mistakes, she said to me:\"Ah Ma treats me like her daughter but you always scold me!\" :x My retort: \"I hired you here to work, not to have Ah MA fall in love with you and make you family. Do you think I go out everyday for a massage and tea with the ladies? I go out to work so you can get your pay every month!\" :x -
duriz:
MIL treated one of our previous so well that when I tried to correct the stubborn mule's mistakes, she said to me:\"Ah Ma treats me like her daughter but you always scold me!\"
Hi duriz,
Agree that other family members should not treat the maid TOO well such that it spoils the maid and cause problems for the employer. For eg. my brother said we should let my 3-week old maid go out for off days, go embassy etc.. to \"look see, look see\" instead of never going out dunno anything. I replied the maid is not here for a holiday, furthermore we have already paid her in-lieu of off days. So long we are not ill-treating the maid no need to go overboard with certain things. Especially when new.
My first maid was from Central Java…she is a great cook although she can polish off a bottle of peanut butter and strawberry jam in 3 weeks all by herself. She worked for me for 1 1/2 years…the maids after her are simply hopeless…gossip mongers, out to enjoy life and compare with one another.
I agree with DesertWind that maids (esp new) should not be spoiled or they take for granted. Family members shouldn’t spoil the maid or the employer will have a hard time. -
duriz:
well, if she dun do anything wrong, you wouldn't have scolded her. Gosh....she here to find 'gan-ma' izit?
Just to illustrate: MIL treated one of our previous so well that when I tried to correct the stubborn mule's mistakes, she said to me:\"Ah Ma treats me like her daughter but you always scold me!\" -
Very true. I really don't care if my maid falls in love and gets pregnant...NGO want me to treat her like adult (can fall in love etc) but gahmen say I will kena if she gives birth here. :?: :?:
I really wish gahman can allow us to legally have PT maid to come in the morning and go in the evening like work for 7-8 hrs then by the time we go bac they r no longer to give their face oredi.. guess we will have better lives no HP issues no bf issues :love: :love: -
Govt said maids are humans and so teach them to ask for rights…that’s why these maids ask for transfer the moment they are unhappy with their employers. Give Filipino maids off days, then if they pregnant and found out, they go home. Or else get involved with security guards at condos or Pakistani workers.
duriz:
Sadly.LKVM:
[quote=\"fionong\"]Well..... I believe employing a maid depend all on our luck.
We spend so much time and money on them still should have lucky genes to have good maid :stupid:
We've had ONE good maid and 6 horrendous ones.
I cannot even begin to get into their \"antics\" here.
Nonetheless, we currently have a local PT maid come in the morning.
But she will be going away in December to help someone with her confinement, as she is a confinement lady as well. Cannot break her ricebowl, she does make more money being a confinement lady than helping us PT everyday.
I may very well quit my job and become a SAHM again instead of getting a new FT maid.
Just to illustrate: MIL treated one of our previous so well that when I tried to correct the stubborn mule's mistakes, she said to me:\"Ah Ma treats me
like her daughter but you always scold me!\" :x My retort: \"I hired youhere to work, not to have Ah MA fall in love with you and make you family. Do
you think I go out everyday for a massage and tea with the ladies? I go out to work so you can get your pay every month!\" :x[/quote]
I too had one good maid and six terrible ones. At present I am maid-less. Am so scarred by these maids I am terrified of getting another one. At present managing full-time work, ds and cooking. Dh keeps telling me to get another maid but I think I need to do a maid detox for a while. Does anyone have a good maid to recommend? -
Honestly I prefer Indonesian ones than Filipino. Filipino die die must have off day. I had one good maid and 2 lousy ones during the 4 years...terribly scarred by the last one.
During those years when I had Indon maids, we ate mainly chicken since they can't eat pork. My brother even bought chicken pau and thought of them when we had meals outside...so what, these maids never appreciate. Agency always tells me, if we eat pork on days, tell the maid to cook noodles, or else fry an egg...also don't start the habit of giving them teabreaks or they will expect. It's SO true
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.