How can a child gain weight? What do you feed your child?
Thanks, mrswongtuition, for your long list of food ideas. Wow, so many home made food. My poor DSs have a mummy who don't like to cook and so can't cook!
mrswongtuition:
I just wonder what's the point of hiding veg if u are grilling it. Isn't all the vitamins are destroyed by the high heat?My boy loves satay too! So what we tried was minced meat with some hidden vege, then marinate with spices similar to satay & put the meat on a stick. Then grill in the oven. & he can polish off 1/2kg of meat without realising!
Ha, have not come across anyone that don't like satay and grilled stuff.
But wonder how you all overcome the 'heatiness' of grilled stuff? My DSs super love grilled chicken wings but can fall sick if they eat only once a week. Alternative week seems ok. They drink barley once a week. Is barley not 'cooling' enough or is once a week insufficient? Also, someone told me that to have barley's cooling effect, stop cooking barley once it is boiled? Is this correct? -
nonKiasu:
Ya, I went \"WOW!\" when I saw the long list of home made food!! Impressive leh, even bought a dehydrator to dehyrdate fruits! mrswong's DS is so fortunate! And not forgetting all the tonics and health supplements mrs wong feeds him too. Another thought came to my mind, \"very difficult for his future wife to meet mrswong's high standard of TLC. :lol: \"Thanks, mrswongtuition, for your long list of food ideas. Wow, so many home made food. My poor DSs have a mummy who don't like to cook and so can't cook!
nonkiasu, Same here, I don't like to cook. Rely alot on my mummy :oops: -
Nonkiasu, when I grill, I don't use high heat cos I don't want the food to be too crispy also. I use low heat grill to cook the food only. In vege, only vitamins are affected by heat. Minerals are not

anyway, my boy loves cucumber, cut into sticks, taken raw!
So he gets cucumber with satay
for cooling barley:
you need to boil the water first. Once boil, then you add barley (wash first). Boil for a while (until the water be ones cloudy). Turn off the flame. Leave it to sit for a while then remove the barley from the water. -
dimsum:
my hubs also say I'll become an evil MIL. Hahahahha!!
Ya, I went \"WOW!\" when I saw the long list of home made food!! Impressive leh, even bought a dehydrator to dehyrdate fruits! mrswong's DS is so fortunate! And not forgetting all the tonics and health supplements mrs wong feeds him too. Another thought came to my mind, \"very difficult for his future wife to meet mrswong's high standard of TLC. :lol: \"nonKiasu:
Thanks, mrswongtuition, for your long list of food ideas. Wow, so many home made food. My poor DSs have a mummy who don't like to cook and so can't cook!
nonkiasu, Same here, I don't like to cook. Rely alot on my mummy :oops:
Cos I was an evil \"SIL\", chasing away all the undesirable girls going out w my brother
mrswongtuition,
What brand of formula milk do you use ah? I am now trying to decide the milk to buy for my son (6) and daughter (turning 1). Should I give them both Pediasure? My dd is also very small (only 50th percentile). -
cherrygal:
My boy was previously on Gain IQ. BF till 18mths then change to Gain IQ. Now he's on fresh milk (Meiji Full Cream). He loves it warm, so we warm it up for him. I think it's more easily digested compared so formula milk so it does not spoil his appetite and he's drinking alot of milk and eating alot too!mrswongtuition,
What brand of formula milk do you use ah? I am now trying to decide the milk to buy for my son (6) and daughter (turning 1). Should I give them both Pediasure? My dd is also very small (only 50th percentile). -
dimsum:
Ha, u hit the nail. My DH can tahan I can't cook simply bec his mum also can't cook and so I guess he don't expect mummy = know how to cook.Another thought came to my mind, \"very difficult for his future wife to meet mrswong's high standard of TLC. :lol: \"
mrswongtuition:
Good point. What deg u normally use? What minerals are not destroyed by heat?Nonkiasu, when I grill, I don't use high heat cos I don't want the food to be too crispy also. I use low heat grill to cook the food only. In vege, only vitamins are affected by heat. Minerals are not

nonKiasu:
I normally use the lowest on the oven. For my current oven, it's 150 degrees celsius. My previous oven was 100 degrees celsius.
Ha, u hit the nail. My DH can tahan I can't cook simply bec his mum also can't cook and so I guess he don't expect mummy = know how to cook.dimsum:
Another thought came to my mind, \"very difficult for his future wife to meet mrswong's high standard of TLC. :lol: \"
mrswongtuition:
Good point. What deg u normally use? What minerals are not destroyed by heat?Nonkiasu, when I grill, I don't use high heat cos I don't want the food to be too crispy also. I use low heat grill to cook the food only. In vege, only vitamins are affected by heat. Minerals are not

All minerals in food can withstand heat, but they will be leeched into water when boiled.
For vitamins, most of them are alright if cooked on low heat.
Btw, my hubs dun expect me to cook. It's because I majored in nutrition, so we have to learn cooking as part of the deal.
My hubs is the rare male that can cook (very nice food) & sew (hand sewing & sewing machine). So I'm not expected to do any of those, but I love it, so I still cook & sew
My 8yr gal is of small size (25 percentile) abt 116cm and 18kg. We have tried to coax her to take extra food, increase her meals size and frequency, give her appleton with lysine but sadly she doesnβt grow much.
She is very healthy tough (havenβt miss a school day since last year) and active too. We keeps wondering if she will ever grow bigger.
Would like to know if anyone can recommend any good doctor/nutritionist who is good at making children grow bigger. May consider bringing her there if her size is still the same by year end. Tks. -
Hi, there's a similar thread here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13359
Perhaps you can get some ideas there?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.