Pat's Schoolhouse
debpch:
I am wondering... will the school help to toilet train the kids?
Don't worry, by the age of 2-3, yr kid will automatically do it due to peer pressure. Don't force them. -
How abt bottle feeding? My gal has a habit to drink milk from the milk bottle before she naps. She also refuses to drink milk from a cup. Heard from Tanya from Mt Emily that they don encourage bottle feeding which i agree. But i am worried that my gal can’t get used to it when she naps in the sch. Dono wat to do…
smurfy:
The first excursion was visit to Jacob Ballas Children's Garden, right? I was there too.... :celebrate:crystallbelle
there's a slight jam
but most parents will drop the students at that stretch of the road.. and every day, there will be 2 \"on-duty\" teachers to hold the hands of the students and help the students cross the road and into the school compounds right to the temperature checking area.
raining days even better. the teachers with their umbrellas will shelter the students across the road and into the temperature checking area.
to add onz.. though a bit out of point.. for my #1 first excursion, all parents went along.. the daddy told me it rained when they reached back school... the admin staff n principal all came out of the office and took umbrellas to shelter the kids frm the rain.
good service hoR?
crystalbelle08:
It depends on what time you send your child there. Yes, the 2 lanes always jam, only one lane with vehicles moving, the other is blocked by stopping cars. The school gate will be open daily from 8.50 am to 9.15 am for parents to drive in, we are told try not to park at the double yellow lines. If there are events going, the school gate will be closed. Normally, when we send my kid there, will park at the small lane (short walking distance) or park double yellow lines with hazard light on. During raining days, sure have drive into the school ...Dear Serangoon mummies,
I checked out that branch twice.
I was very impressed with the size and the layout.
Can I check, in the morning, when you're dropping your kids, isst convenient? The lane leading to the branch seems to be very tight.
Will there be jam in the morning?
Want to find out more, just in case one day I decide to transfer to Serangoon.
:lol: -
happydaddy,
hope u are right...
shiyunu,
u mean they can't have bottles? then my kid will have a problem too... there is no way she can sleep without drinking from a bottle... in fact, she needs someone to hold her bottle so that she can doze off... :?: -
Hi Crystalbelle,
Actually I've been to visit the school a few times already
Guess what... I finally decided to enrol my younger one in Mt Emily!! My older one is graduating from Halifax end of this year so he won't have the chance to be in the same school as her, haha (even though he has been pestering me non-stop since Jan this year if his mei mei will be in the same school as him!! :lol: )
Logistics-wise, it'll save me a few hundred dollars a year since I won't have to pay ERP charges to send her to school and home
But still have to pay when bringing DS home from Primary school
I really like the newly renovated look, so hope she'll enjoy school next year when she starts !! :lol:
Btw, the world is reeeeeallly small... When I went to register her at about 4+ in the afternoon, I bumped into this nice grandpa who was picking up his granddaughter from Squirrel Nutkin class... I asked him if he stayed around the area and he said, \"No, Serangoon!!\" I wonder if that could be your father/FIL?? Heheheh
And.... YES!! I am a great FAN of the no-uniform policy too... Before Pat's, my ds used to be in Eton House and although some pp think the uniform looks nice, it is a headache becos at that time i had no maid and had to HANDwash his uniforms (and THEN IRON) every other day!! Whereas with Pat's, you don't have to worry about having a fresh new clean set of uniforms to wear everyday - just wear whatever clothes they have in the wardrobe and do laundry every weekend!! So easy!! (Plus, I like dressing them up in different colours and designs everyday too - uniforms are SO BORING!!! Esp if you have to see your children wearing the same uniform everyday for almost 300 days in a year... kwim?
)
Another benefit of not having uniforms is... When they are on full/extended day, after bathing they can change into a new set of clothes... Whereas with uniforms you'll have to buy at least 8 sets if you don't want to have to handwash and iron everyday (since one day need to use 2 or 3 sets rite?? :-b) ... If you don't have maid you'll appreciate the feeling lah!! Haha....crystalbelle08:
Hi shiyunu,
Rest assured. Mt Emily's teachers speak perfect english. So definately better than LV
Hi augmum and koolmama,
Thanks for sharing! So, I made the right choice to put my kid in Pat's. :lol:
Now i understand why halifax has long waiting list! I'm impressed!
Koolmama, Why dont u check out Mt Emily and talk to the principal,Tanya.
She is a very friendly lady too. I suppose Halifax has individual classroom for different level?
So u intend to transfer your elder one to Mt Emily as well?
Gosh, $400 per month is per kid, so for 2 kids will be $800 per month for school bus?? :!:
then u might as well charterd a taxi! -
Oh yes, I just realised that quite a number of mummies here are going to be with Pat's @ Mt Emily next year - some in PG which is the same as my dd too!! :lol:
-> Shiyunu, Crystalbelle, Preciousmoments... (DC Mummy not sure which branch you are at?
) We should form a mummies group and meet up for coffee or a playdate sometime next year.... heheh ;-D -
Am curious, any parents in mt Emily whose kids take the school bus back to Serangoon? I had wanted my boy to take the school bus back to my parents’ place in Serangoon bt the bus driver told me the journey would take 1.5 hours!
DC Mummy:
yep yep.. the first excursion was JBCG..the daddy went.. the only daddy in his class..
The first excursion was visit to Jacob Ballas Children's Garden, right? I was there too.... :celebrate:smurfy:
crystallbelle
there's a slight jam
but most parents will drop the students at that stretch of the road.. and every day, there will be 2 \"on-duty\" teachers to hold the hands of the students and help the students cross the road and into the school compounds right to the temperature checking area.
raining days even better. the teachers with their umbrellas will shelter the students across the road and into the temperature checking area.
to add onz.. though a bit out of point.. for my #1 first excursion, all parents went along.. the daddy told me it rained when they reached back school... the admin staff n principal all came out of the office and took umbrellas to shelter the kids frm the rain.
good service hoR?
crystal
i think DC mummy's post on traffic conditions in the moRnings r more accurate.. :P.. but the umbrellas r definitely there.. :P.
oh i think they oso went for national day heritage tour.. and a show (the magic ocean or another earlier show).... it's only the first excursion they roped in the parents' help for the playgrps.. subsequent visits.. parents errr.. no allowed? -
preciousmoments,
1.5 hrs is too long… i think it might be better to opt for full day so that can send/pick-up before/after work…
think a lot of parents have the same problem… i have the same problem too…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.