School Teachers Working as Tutors

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    203 Posts 75 Posters 37.2k Views 1 Watching
      Daddy D

I feel that the kids who go to these additional tuitions classes are already more driven (either on their own/peer pressure/parents)… as compared to the masses in mainstream sch.

So it’s easier for the tutors to teach these kids… instead of spending extra time/effort on the few delinquent kids who disrupt the entire class.

Ironic though… teachers/tutors who have been thru SG education system during their sch days, cannot stand the system in adult life.

jasmineong

Daddy 😧
        jasmineong:

Ya..agree!! My child's form teacher last year quit to become a tutor..then another teacher that is very good quit to go into banking....the parents all say the good ones go..only left those who 'cannot make it' in the outside world stay because it is a job they cannot lose even if they do not perform..that is why all the tutors get rich..because many of the teachers left in school are not really doing a good job..

Ermm... dun say they CMI than stay lah... I feel that many who left are cos' they don't have the passion for teaching... more driven by $$$... and usually fresh grads who dun really know what they want in life...
        End of the day... our Gen Y again... 🙂

Ok ok..haha..not all so bad until CMI..later some teacher read and want to hantam me..its true there are many who have no passion and leave but my child's form teacher was very good, just tt she find it meaningless to do all the unnecessary stuff, she said. She wants to just focus on teaching.

But sad lah..I think that somehow although our education system is good, the teaching profession does not attract the talent, or if they do, they cannot retain them.

I really like our education system compared to others in other countries, but the teachers :? (Not very fantastic)

Daddy D

jasmineong:

I really like our education system compared to others in other countries, but the teachers :? (Not very fantastic)
          And I understand that MOE has been recruiting FT teachers... many of whom are really CMI... worse standards than our locals... next thing MOE will say cos' locals don't want to be teachers... sad lah... and our kids will be taught by these CMI FT teachers... next time our kids also CMI... more sad lah...

Brenda10

If give too many homeworks parents complaint

If give too little homework parents also complaint

If worksheet too difficult parents complaint

If worksheet too easy parents also complaint

Hard to be a teacher lah

mrswongtuition

Brenda10:

Hard to be a teacher lah
              if discipline kids, parents complain.
              If dun discipline kids, parent also complain.

ccgoh

mrswongtuition:
                Brenda10:

Hard to be a teacher lah

Actually while I agree that the standard of teachers is not very high
                in schools, I also pity them.

If parent is demanding, everything they do also cannot. And some parents
                go complain and principal take their side cos want to have good PR. I know of a teacher friend who kenna from complaining parents. She really want to make sure the students do homework so make them stay back and will scold if dont do work, then kenna a very bad complain. The parents say she is very harsh and that her work is not up to standard. But actually she is a very hardworking teacher, parent just want fo find fault.

Principal scolded her and then made the hod go and observe her class for 3 weeks. In the end, she now more bo chap, don do homework don do.

I think it is also the Principal..many of them very scared, then make morale of teachers suffer.

the principals also want to meet their own kpi mah, so the teachers kena lah, so many targets to meet, then the kids kena lah from the teachers as they don’t know how to co-operate with the teachers to meet the teachers’ kpi…then the kids also kena from parents for not meeting the parents kpi …

at the end the parents suffer in the pocket for having to send the kids for tuition, the kids suffer from too much school home work + tuition homework, the teachers suffer from complaints by parents and suffer black face from principals for not meeting kpi, jeopardising the principals’ promotion …lol

atutor2001

I think we have hit the nail. The root of the problem is principal. Mostly young MOE scholar out to shine.

Remembered my kids principal, an old lady, walking around everyday with a cane behind her back. She dares to tell unreasonable parents off and teachers’ morale was high. Under her time, school produced top PSLE student twice. School also become GEP school. Sadly she was transferred out and retired shortly. Soon a young man with many theories came. Ever since, the school has no more top PSLE student. Even the GEP’s results were mediocre (by GEPs’ standard)

jesschan

atutor2001:
                      I think we have hit the nail. The root of the problem is principal. Mostly young MOE scholar out to shine.
                      Agree. The school principal is like the CEO of an organisation. If he/she is able to set good directions, the rest of the things will fall into place...

jesschan

mrswongtuition:
                        Brenda10:

Hard to be a teacher lah

Actually, sometimes, it is subjective. The class size is 40 and made up of children with different abilities. For instance, in my son's class, his Maths teacher gives 3-4 pages of homework everyday. The brighter ones are able to complete them in class but the others struggle to finish them at home. So is it too much and too difficult or otherwise?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 21