Discussion on Dr Ong Teck Chin
jencrs:
Ha Ha! Makes him all the braver I think! Yah, many folk would ding him for being a RI old boy, but he went ahead and did it anyway. Maybe his way of lighting a fire under underperforming staff and shaking the school out of complacency.
Not biased? You DO know his alma mater is Raffles right?hquek:
There are so many choices out there in the world, it's refreshing to hear something that's not biased just cos one is an employee or has something to gain from their recommendation.
jencrs:
I am struggling to understand why not. Perhaps you could cite a more appropriate analogy?3Boys:
I don't think there is a perfectly correct answer for this. I have had vendors who have recommended a competitor's product based on specs I set. In the case of the above, if the company indeed does not have the best product in that segment, then I DO expect that even the CEO would tell me to go elsewhere. Its not so much whether the CEO has faith in his own company, but whether the company serves that market segment or not. If not, far better to declare that at the outset than to struggle along and fail to deliver.
Again, not the same thing. The further we go down this financial product illustration, the more we'll digress.
We are losing the plot here a little. One needs to keep in view the results. Yeah, if what he did was not coupled with strong leadership, and let to a meltdown in morale and performance, sure, knock him. But if turned the school around and shot them up the academic rankings, who could argue that the methods did not work? Not everyone could do what he did and get away with it, but he had an end-game in mind, and the faith in his own abilities, so we need to view the tactics in light of winning the war, and not on their own. -
If he wants, do it in staff meetings.Ha Ha! Makes him all the braver I think! Yah, many folk would ding him for being a RI old boy, but he went ahead and did it anyway. Maybe his way of lighting a fire under underperforming staff and shaking the school out of complacency.
haha I am struggling to understand why an analogy is needed in the 1st place.I am struggling to understand why not. Perhaps you could cite a more appropriate analogy?
No one's knocking his achievements. They are undeniable.We are losing the plot here a little. One needs to keep in view the results. Yeah, if what he did was not coupled with strong leadership, and let to a meltdown in morale and performance, sure, knock him. But if turned the school around and shot them up the academic rankings, who could argue that the methods did not work? Not everyone could do what he did and get away with it, but he had an end-game in mind, and the faith in his own abilities, so we need to view the tactics in light of winning the war, and not on their own.
So what you're saying is that the end justifies the means? To view tactics not on their own but just to win the war?
This is the part where on surveys I'll put 5 on the scale for strongly disagree
Life is as much a journey as it is the destination. And more so during the early impressionable years of a teenager.
Is what he did really so admirable that after all these years it still leaves a bad taste in the mouth of my ex-teachers and my ex-classmates?
But I'm curious to know where you're coming from. It's easy to be a devil's advocate and to make comments as an armchair general to put a positive spin into almost anything. Given a little time, I'd bet anyone could even come up with a case for the Holocaust. Doesn't mean it's right. So are you an Old Boy? -
csc:
yeah... just hope Dr. OTC is fine now....muffins,
just focus on the major now...which is to study hard for your year end exams.. that's ur responsibility..
As for the other affairs, we just pray that everything will be straightened out soon.... we need to balance grace with truth... it is difficult from a human perspective..don't know if u understand
if what jencrs posted (abt telling top students to go somewhere else) was true, he really should not be running the school.
uβve got to be kidding me to say this is "admirable".
RI is just another school. A bright student will do well no matter where he goes. And itβs not like ACS is a very bad school with poor teachers!
disclaimer: Iβm not affiliated with either ACS or RI -
WeiHan:
My theory is basically the one mentioned above. BTW, I do not know anything about the emails, still kept a mystery by the senior administration :roll:
Muffin. It seems that you know or have speculated what are the contents in those emails. What is your speculation?Muffins:
What about this:
Dr. Ong is innocent, and this teacher was his assistant.
Because he was angry that OTC had fired him, he had turned a little :siao: When OTC had stepped out, who says he couldn't have left his phone there to charge, or that he left his email on, to save time from logging in. This assistant, could have himself sent messages and emails. And who would keep thosse messages? If I were him, getting those types of messages from someone, I wouldn't keep them, I would delete them, unless I knew that he was going to be interrogated by the police about it.
What do you guys think?WeiHan:
But, the guy says that Dr. Ong sent him inappropriate emails and messages. I don't think that he would want to keep messages, especially if there are dirty words or pictures in them.In fact, I disagree that if one receives unusual emails from their superior, they will delete them. The normal action shuld be to retain them. Similarly, one don't delete or throw away love letters from their lovers immediately after reading....in fact quite the opposite, people keep them.
Would you keep a message with dirty stuff that your \"stalker\" had sent???
Dr. Ong, he says, is not his lover, Dr. Ong is actually stalking him. It's like a stalker following you. Would you want that?
I dun know leh.... keep my head out of these matters in school... dun want any warnings or demerit points coming my way.... :faint: :yikes: -
rgps888:
I agree with you somewhat and have another way of looking at it. If a school can't retain and attract top students, how on earth can it ever moves up the academic rank. If it is better for top students in the school to go to RI, then why didn't he says that anymore after he take charge of the school?if what jencrs posted (abt telling top students to go somewhere else) was true, he really should not be running the school.
u've got to be kidding me to say this is \"admirable\".
RI is just another school. A bright student will do well no matter where he goes. And it's not like ACS is a very bad school with poor teachers!
disclaimer: I'm not affiliated with either ACS or RI -
rgps888:
I can tell you that this was one of the main reasons for at least 1 of the petitions against Ong when I was no longer in the school.if what jencrs posted (abt telling top students to go somewhere else) was true, he really should not be running the school.
WeiHan:
Think you and I both know why.If it is better for top students in the school to go to RI, then why didn't he says that anymore after he take charge of the school?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.