Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      SullyM

send her back to the agency for counselling since she wont listen to you and if she doesnt improve, change maid.

It’s amazing how these maids can actually put on a show just for one reason - change of employer. I wouldn’t allow her to do that…in fact, I will get a ticket and sent her HOME. :x

I’ve heard of some employers who buy ferry tickets to sent their maids to Batam…how to get home is the maids’ problem. It’s very harsh but sometimes these people don’t deserve to be pitied.

carebear

Agree with sullyM.

The maid's attitude is very important.
          If maid no good initially, but willing to learn, then can keep maid.
          If maid has a bad attitude from the start and refuses to change, then can forget about employing her.
          My maid was not so good initially, I had a talk with her and she said she needed this job. After many months, she is improving and I can sense that she is willing to improve and is not lazy.
          Recently I found out that she shares my love for animals, in fact can handle small animals very well. 😄

carebear:
            Agree with sullyM.

If maid has a bad attitude from the start and refuses to change, then can forget about employing her.
            My maid was not so good initially, I had a talk with her and she said she needed this job. After many months, she is improving and I can sense that she is willing to improve and is not lazy.
            Recently I found out that she shares my love for animals, in fact can handle small animals very well. 😄
            You are very lucky indeed...I don't have such luck:(. Transfer maids cannot be hired bcos most of them are actually trying their luck to find easy jobs. My 3 transfer maids are proven cases...Filipino being the worse, don't like to cook and want to find angmoh employer.

KSmom8

Hi KSmom8,

On top of being fantastic dreamers, these Filipino maids are also fantastic actresses. Maybe these run in their genes :x . My prev maid is one fantastic dreamer and she can act very well too...in front of me and the agency.
              Personally, I would send my maids HOME if they have an attitude. It definitely beats the idea of them sitting in the agency and paying the agency $12 a day for them doing NOTHING.
              Her attitude showed about 1 month after I employed her. She told me \"if you don't like my work then send me back to agency\" and this was for not cleaning the floor properly. I was pregnant then and thought I was too harsh ... pregnant hormones,etc... anyway, so tiring and sian to change maid. So instead counselled her. But every few months, she will be back to her rude ways. On hindsight, should have just sent her home then... it would have saved me lots of stress and headaches and sleepless nights. Looking back I think it is a miracle that I tolerated her for almost 4 years. Yeah, great actress... she is the model maid in front of my mum and hubby... until recently when they saw how she talked back to me.

I am using another agency for my new maid. My current Filipina maid wants to use my previous agency cos they will charge her lesser fee. I have no intention of paying this agency anything... if they insist, I will buy a airticket home for her! I also intend to give them only 2 weeks to get her a new employer, don't want her to sit and choose an employer whilst I continue to pay her levy!

Actually, I really want to send her home especially since I have now been enlightened to their ways (thanks to this forum I have learnt quite a lot) but I've already agreed to the arrangement that if she does her work well and does not show me attitude until my new maid arrives, I will allow a transfer. How to back out now when she is back to being a model maid... :stupid:

KSmom8

Transfer maids cannot be hired bcos most of them are actually trying their luck to find easy jobs. My 3 transfer maids are proven cases...Filipino being the worse, don't like to cook and want to find angmoh employer.

My family had a transfer maid that stayed with us for 8 to 10 years before returning to Phillipines to get married. Those were the good old days.

Maids nowadays tend to be lacking in appreciation and have loads of attitude. Is it becos that they are from generation X, Y or is it Z?

I still like to think that chemistry between employer and maid is important. No such thing as ideal maid ... ... or ideal employer.

Ha ha ... you are right, my Filipina maid disappears to do ironing when I start cooking. Probably worried that I will ask her to cook when she has learnt... better not to know. Except recently, hovering around kitchen so that she can pick up cooking tips to show new employer ... how to justify big salary when she can only cook 1 to 2 dishes and soups! I shooed her out of the kitchen!!

My Indo maid must have impressed her agent back home that she can cook very well…thus landing a job in HKG. I sent her home bcos of her poor attitude and extreme laziness.

Oh yes, I learnt something with the maids - NEVER say, ‘when you are free, do this’. I was new at having a maid then…so didn’t know this line will backfire :x . My maids told me, ‘mam, I not free’ when I asked them why they didn’t clean the fan :x After I learnt my lesson, I told the subsequent maid to do this and that at what time.

Snow White 0

[quote="SullyM"]send her back to the agency for counselling since she wont listen to you and if she doesnt improve, change maid.[/quote

Agent has been counselling her since her 1st month of work. we tot treat her like a family member and bring her with us wherever we go, she will appreciate and do the work properly but we are wrong. she told the agent she wants to change employer b’cos she wants her employer to chit chat, joke with her every day, adapt to her style of working and life style. she worked in Sin for 3 yrs before gg to HK to work for 2 yrs. total she has 5 yrs of working experiences. we brought her with us every month when we goes for our holiday. her 1st holiday trip was 2 wks after she starte work in my family. she went for 3 holiday trips within 3 months. we even bring her along when we dine out at restaurant. i even have to cook b’fast, lunch and dinner for her every wkend. if i dun cook, she dun eat for b’fast, eat cup noodle for lunch and dinner.

Snow White 0

carebear:
                      Agree with sullyM.

you are lucky your maid is willing to listen to you. she must be in need of money back home

Snow White 0

KSmom8:

Hi KSmom8,

On top of being fantastic dreamers, these Filipino maids are also fantastic actresses. Maybe these run in their genes :x . My prev maid is one fantastic dreamer and she can act very well too...in front of me and the agency.
                        Personally, I would send my maids HOME if they have an attitude. It definitely beats the idea of them sitting in the agency and paying the agency $12 a day for them doing NOTHING.

Her attitude showed about 1 month after I employed her. She told me \"if you don't like my work then send me back to agency\" and this was for not cleaning the floor properly. I was pregnant then and thought I was too harsh ... pregnant hormones,etc... anyway, so tiring and sian to change maid. So instead counselled her. But every few months, she will be back to her rude ways. On hindsight, should have just sent her home then... it would have saved me lots of stress and headaches and sleepless nights. Looking back I think it is a miracle that I tolerated her for almost 4 years. Yeah, great actress... she is the model maid in front of my mum and hubby... until recently when they saw how she talked back to me.

I am using another agency for my new maid. My current Filipina maid wants to use my previous agency cos they will charge her lesser fee. I have no intention of paying this agency anything... if they insist, I will buy a airticket home for her! I also intend to give them only 2 weeks to get her a new employer, don't want her to sit and choose an employer whilst I continue to pay her levy!

Actually, I really want to send her home especially since I have now been enlightened to their ways (thanks to this forum I have learnt quite a lot) but I've already agreed to the arrangement that if she does her work well and does not show me attitude until my new maid arrives, I will allow a transfer. How to back out now when she is back to being a model maid... :stupid:

dun be fooled by them. i've learnt my lesson so many times. in order to get what they want, they will pretend to do the job properly.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 328 / 1032

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog