IJJ

Then she should ask MOE for GEP status ...parents will save a lot of hassle in transfering school when the time comes...
      If PH is a GEP, will be a no-brainer for PH kids who are selected. Plus, if many of the gifted kids selected are really from PH, then MOE should really consider this much deserved school.

Funx3

Thanks, or no thanks to GEP, there are truly kiasu parents who spend thousands to groom their kids to be gifted :siao:
        Hey that's Why Private Tuition is a Booming Industry in S'pore!

IJJ

GEP is not a good programme, MOE knows that. Unfortunately, they can't simply remove it...they need a new, darling minister to do that.... the time will come....
          My hubby speaks the same tone as you! :lol:
          GEP is grooming the elite...but do we actually need a program for that ? If the child is gifted, he/she will go far without having to go for any special program. In any case, the gifted child will always be at the best class. Thanks, or no thanks to GEP, there are truly kiasu parents who spend thousands to groom their kids to be gifted
          Gifted does not warrant success in life, even does not ensure smooth sailing. In some extent, I stand with the programme that their giftedness should be tapped. This programme definitely boosts confidence/self-esteem of selected kids and parents. Its easy to fall into the pit of elitism when one's head gets over-bloated. I like to remind my kids that only when God fills the vessel, we can be whole. If one is too full of herself, she will become an empty vessel. Humility is the way to success in life.

As for those who spends money to groom, well, they will be too naive to believe entirely those centres's commerical advertisements. I have empathy for these parents and kids, regardless if they get in, or not.

I know of a girl who is a gifted child…she transfered to RGPS. Her parents took it lightly and was just surprised she is gifted. Gifted is in-born. What’s the point of having gifted program ? It’s just having a smaller class…but gifted program doesn’t take you all the way to university.

It’s impt to remain humble. That’s most impt.

markfch

I actually think that GEP is a good programme for the truly gifted (too bad ds is definitely not in that league). I’ve a niece who’s born gifted. She could read independently at 2 and write essays with plots at 4. If she is put into a ‘normal’ class, I think she’ll be bored to death.

People like her should be given special education to nurture & maximise her potential. And yes, I agree that gifted doesn’t equal success in life. If you check this morning’s ST, there was a former child maths prodigy who ended up on the wrong side of the law.

• comfyC Offline
                comfy

MOE doesn't allow PH to get gifted program bcos there are several schools in Bukit Timah who already have it...furthermore, gifted kids are just a small percentage. Instead, PH is given the go-ahead by MOE to specialize in Maths and Science.

Can you care to elaborate abit what you meant by specialising in Maths and Science ? Is it send for more competition or inhouse training?

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

I actually think that GEP is a good programme for the truly gifted (too bad ds is definitely not in that league). I've a niece who's born gifted. She could read independently at 2 and write essays with plots at 4. If she is put into a 'normal' class, I think she'll be bored to death.

People like her should be given special education to nurture & maximise her potential. And yes, I agree that gifted doesn't equal success in life. If you check this morning's ST, there was a former child maths prodigy who ended up on the wrong side of the law.
                  Here are a few real examples:
                  1) girl -> GEP -> RGS -> didn't do well for \"As\", studied overseas
                  2) girl -> GEP -> RGS -> didn't do well for \"As\", took up Diploma
                  3) boy -> GEP -> Henry Park -> didn't do well for PSLE, neighbourhood Sec.

The above parents did not send their kids for any \"special training programmes\", the kids went thru the GEP selection and were successful.

4) girl -> non-GEP -> River Valley High -> studying Medicine in NUS.
                  5) boy -> non-GEP -> River Valley High -> studied Medicine in NUS, doctor now.
                  6) boy -> non-GEP -> RI -> accepted into Law in NUS
                  7) boy -> non-GEP -> RI -> accepted into Medicine in NUS
                  😎 more to go...

I've seen more successful individuals or scholars from the non-GEP streams. Of course, my examples are not enough proof to say it all. Not that I want to criticise our GEP system, but if a child is TRULY gifted (like mark's niece), is it really robust enough to see him/her through? I have my doubts. I had been to Gifted Conferences organised by MOE during my teaching days and besides working out non-routine Math questions and challenging Science questions, the other most common struggle I gathered from most presenters was to build the right EQ in each kid.

Many bright kids, GEP or non-GEP will continue to do well in life with proper guidance from schools or families that inculcate the right values in them and I am sure parents in this forum with kids who went for the GEP selection are already doing so. Sad to say, many others are not and kids ended up victims of their own cleverness (聪明反被聪明误).

Since the GEP questions are now so readily available online or can be \"trained\" in schools, I wonder why kids still need to go thru the GEP rounds? I guess it's fun to go for it (which I will probably let my dd go thru too) but I am really not sure how TRULY \"gifted\" the child is.

Singapore is too structured to have a TRULY gifted child. Even if there is, the child will be stifled in our \"protective\" environment and thus lost the giftedness. My dd is definitely not TRULY gifted. She is just a diligent girl with a bit more exposure and advantage to the education system, thus was able to keep abreast of most of her peers.

Unless MOE tailors a new programme in which nobody can \"infringe\" its rights, then I would say that it has a fairer yardstick to measure \"giftedness\". Subsequently, GEP schools should follow up with similar programmes to further keep these bright sparks motivated and stimulated and perhaps someone in Singapore can win a Nobel Prize in the future. 😉

Then again...we need TRULY gifted people in MOE to do that...Hehe :lol:

(Sorry...another long-winded one :oops: )

Hi Comfy,

The focus on Maths & Science was what the prev principal mentioned…but I have no idea whether the school has this plan. However, the Maths & Science exams are pretty tough.

• JenniferJ Offline
                      Jennifer

Hi Comfy,

The focus on Maths & Science was what the prev principal mentioned...but I have no idea whether the school has this plan. However, the Maths & Science exams are pretty tough.
                      My elder boy had PE teachers as his Science teachers in P4 semester 2 and whole of P5, then P6 the HOD Science. All taught according to textbooks. No useful labs sessions (according to my boy lah). I dun see where the focus was.

php

E3:

I actually think that GEP is a good programme for the truly gifted (too bad ds is definitely not in that league). I've a niece who's born gifted. She could read independently at 2 and write essays with plots at 4. If she is put into a 'normal' class, I think she'll be bored to death.

People like her should be given special education to nurture & maximise her potential. And yes, I agree that gifted doesn't equal success in life. If you check this morning's ST, there was a former child maths prodigy who ended up on the wrong side of the law.

Here are a few real examples:
                        1) girl -> GEP -> RGS -> didn't do well for \"As\", studied overseas
                        2) girl -> GEP -> RGS -> didn't do well for \"As\", took up Diploma
                        3) boy -> GEP -> Henry Park -> didn't do well for PSLE, neighbourhood Sec.

The above parents did not send their kids for any \"special training programmes\", the kids went thru the GEP selection and were successful.

4) girl -> non-GEP -> River Valley High -> studying Medicine in NUS.
                        5) boy -> non-GEP -> River Valley High -> studied Medicine in NUS, doctor now.
                        6) boy -> non-GEP -> RI -> accepted into Law in NUS
                        7) boy -> non-GEP -> RI -> accepted into Medicine in NUS
                        😎 more to go...

Ask yourself the following questions :-

How many top PSLE scholar come from GEP class each year?
                        How many top 'O' or 'A' level scholar come from GEP class each year?

Ans : The majority will come from non-GEP.....

If the assessment method is able to detect the top 5% gifted kids in each cohort, then a more decent figure of said 90-95% of them should come from GEP class, but this is not the case.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 236 / 2049