All About Affiliations between Pri & Sec Schools
audreymarilyn:
No, it doesn't. NYPS has no affiliation to any secondary schools if i'm not mistaken. Furthermore, if one belongs to a primary's school affiliated secondary school but did not graduate from that particular primary school, they do not qualify to register for the primary school under Phase 2A1.Any definite answer with regards to
NYPS to HwaChong?
My husband graduated from Chinese High, now know as Hwa Chong Institution. Will that guarantee my son a place under phase 2A1 if he is also in the alumni? -
but i have our friends qualified for for phase 2a1 because they were from affiliated sec schools. they did not study in that particular primary school at all.
plus i know nyps is affiliated to nanyang girls high.... but since its all girls school, where do the boys go to? seem strange that the girls are well taken care of but not the boys then?
others have told me that nyps is also affiliated to hwa chong institution?angeliatay:
No, it doesn't. NYPS has no affiliation to any secondary schools if i'm not mistaken. Furthermore, if one belongs to a primary's school affiliated secondary school but did not graduate from that particular primary school, they do not qualify to register for the primary school under Phase 2A1.audreymarilyn:
Any definite answer with regards to
NYPS to HwaChong?
My husband graduated from Chinese High, now know as Hwa Chong Institution. Will that guarantee my son a place under phase 2A1 if he is also in the alumni? -
audreymarilyn:
Yes, NYPS is affiliated to NYGH. :lol:
plus i know nyps is affiliated to nanyang girls high.... but since its all girls school, where do the boys go to? seem strange that the girls are well taken care of but not the boys then?.
And NYGH is affiliated to HCI and that's where they go for Yr 5 & Yr6 when they do JC/A-levels.
But no, NYPS is not directly related to HCI. siao, hor. -
angeliatay:
Furthermore, if one belongs to a primary's school affiliated secondary school but did not graduate from that particular primary school, they do not qualify to register for the primary school under Phase 2A1.
I've been told that the exception is if you graduated from a 'full' school - Cat High, St Nicholas, Maris Stella, MGS, SCGS. Apparently, parents qualify to register under Phase 2A even if they had only attended the secondary section. -
audreymarilyn:
Yes, you're right. NYPS is affiliated to Nanyang Girls High. My young cousin got in NYGH via the affiliation from NYPS.
plus i know nyps is affiliated to nanyang girls high.... but since its all girls school, where do the boys go to? seem strange that the girls are well taken care of but not the boys then?
others have told me that nyps is also affiliated to hwa chong institution?
BUT if you graduated from Nanyang Girls in the '80s, you do not qualify for Phase 2A (Alumni) for registration at NYPS, as the Secondary and Primary section had 'delinked' . A few friends from NYGH thought they could qualify for NYPS but they were told that this only applies if they had graduated in the '70s (can't recall exact year). That was the time the Primary Section of the school gained autonomy and Nanyang Primary School was formed.
(I'm not from NYGH; the info above was given by my friends.)
audreymarilyn, perhaps your friends who qualified for Phase 2A without attending the primary school were from one of full schools?
NYPS is definitely not related to Chinese High/Hwa Chong. No affiliation.
As far as I have been informed (by my husband and FIL; both were alumni and FIL was on the school board), Nanyang Primary and Chinese High have no historical relationship at all. NYPS, as stated above, was part of Nanyang Girls. Chinese High was started by Tan Kah Kee as 新加坡南洋华侨中学校; no relationship to Nanyang Girls. The word Nanyang was purely a geographical reference.
There may be informal 'ties' between schools, but to reiterate, no affiliation for the purpose of primary school registration. -
westmom:
The national \"average\" PSLE score is about 210-220 range I think. Most popular secondary schools minimum entry score is at least 240, therefore your child has to be above average academic ability to enter such schools. Therefore it makes \"good\" sense that you opt for affiliation school if possible because the cut-off point for affiliated primary school can be \"40\" marks lower! Example, to get into SCGS Secondary express is at least 250 for \"outsiders\" but if you are affiliated, you get in at 200 point. Less stress & pressure in Primary 6 if you are in affiliated school. But of course, you pray that the secondary school does not increase the minimum cut off point for affiliated school when your child is in P6!
Interesting... if you have daughters, would you choose, for example, NYPS with a higher cut-off at 250 to NYGH over SCGS (Primary) with a lower cut-off at 200 to SCGS or vice versa? I suppose the one who choose NYPS would probably value bilingual (and chinese values) more, but is this \"value\" worth the \"risk\"?? There may be other factors that come into play, say CCAs. parents' affiliation, child's potential/ability, etc. but I'm interested to hear what you experienced mamas think (e.g. I would probably take the \"risk\" for choosing NYPS for its values and strengths if I think my child *would* have ability to score around 250 or more)? -
Yes…if one is confident that your child has the ability to score more than 250 (which probably is the top 5% of the cohort ) and chinese value/culture is a priority, then Nanyang might be a better choice. Having said that, I have seen many parents getting "nervous" & stressed out during upper primary years when their kids are not as motivated as they like them to be (& therefore putting risk at the "dream score"!) though they might be academically bright
clarabella:
But well...NYGH (sec) does do \"thru-train\" to HCJC.
NYPS is definitely not related to Chinese High/Hwa Chong. No affiliation.
<snip>
There may be informal 'ties' between schools, e.g. St Nicholas and Cat High are 'brother' and 'sister' schools, but to reiterate, no affiliation for the purpose of primary school registration.
St Nics & Cath High are not \"bro-sis\" schools, lah. No way. Ever. -
Yeah... like you said, indirect connection through through-train, but only for the girls lor
But well...NYGH (sec) does do \"thru-train\" to HCJC.
St Nics & Cath High are not \"bro-sis\" schools, lah. No way. Ever.
St Nicks and Cat High... I didn't mean that it's a formal relationship. I'm remembering what used to be said in my time; we always rolled our eyes when the principal talked about Cat High \"our brother school\". Btw, phankao, do you have a daughter at SNGS and/or son at Cat High? -
clarabella:
Both SNGS & CHS - a girl at SNGS(Sec) & 2 boys at CHS(Pri).
St Nicks and Cat High... I didn't mean that it's a formal relationship. I'm remembering what used to be said in my time; we always rolled our eyes when the principal talked about Cat High \"our brother school\". Btw, phankao, do you have a daughter at SNGS and/or son at Cat High?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.