Club Only Child Club
krazy:
Hi-five :hi5:Augmum:
my girl knows. Ha ha.. actually, i talk to her like she is an adult, i realised. I am a practical person and i also believe in giving her all these necessary information.
I am not a fan of surprises. haha.. so i prefer to be prepared and give the proper instructions to important stuff.. least my girl is caught off guard.Augmum:
i think differently........
my gal is also an only child.
since she is the only child, i think we, parents, shd let her/him know
how much is our saving, which banks, our shares, our insurance, our assets
and also our WILL, where it is kept and how it is worded......etc.....
i feel that it is important to let her know all these details .......
just in case if anythng happens to both of us......(touch wood.....
)
i also talk to her like an adult, such as financial guidance, prepared her for the worst and who to turn to when she needs assistance,
and also includes who are the people she shd be weary of.....
i dun know how much would sink into her head,
so every now and then i would test her.....haha (when we watch similar epsiodes on TV) -
starlight1968sg:
yes, agree that the child has to earn his/her own $$$ when he/she grows up
I have only a girl too.Augmum:
i think differently........
)
Dh and I chose to keep mum on our savings etc because it is OUR $$. She has to work hard to earn a living herself instead of relying on our $$. We did not get much $ except education from our parents. This is what we are doing to her ie give her education as long as she can study.
but meanwhile, i feel that some impt information shd be made known to her
and that doesn't mean that she can be idling ard, doing nothing
in fact, she already worked out how much money she intends to allocate to us when she works -
Hi augmumyes, agree that the child has to earn his/her own $$$ when he/she grows up
in fact, she already worked out how much money she intends to allocate to us when she works
Yes. We ever ask dd that in case something happen to us, who will she choose to stay with? also more important thing is life has to go on and don't live in the sadness and the past. -
in fact, she already worked out how much money she intends to allocate to us when she works
A little housekeeper in the making :love: -
I have only a girl too.starlight1968sg:
[quote=\"Augmum\"] i think differently........
)
Dh and I chose to keep mum on our savings etc because it is OUR $$. She has to work hard to earn a living herself instead of relying on our $$. We did not get much $ except education from our parents. This is what we are doing to her ie give her education as long as she can study.
in fact, she already worked out how much money she intends to allocate to us when she works[/quote]Good for you both.
Actually, our intention is for our only child to b financially independent. We have been telling him \"he has to earn his own keep\". He would also have to has his own savings. Hubby & I actually have an agreement. We would let him know abt all those $ stuff after he has his own family or b4 our last breath.
If you know your parents have tons of gold coins (possible as our hdb flat is already one of the most expensive items) in their bank a/c, how much harder would you work? :lol:
starlight1968sg:
If you know your parents have tons of gold coins (possible as our hdb flat is already one of the most expensive items) in their bank a/c, how much harder would you work? :lol:
That's the reason why we do not want to let him know abt inheritances. Hubby says if he turns out to be a idyllic, we should sell our house & the money given to charity while we will check into a old folk's home. i totally agree. -
Brenda10:
hi brenda
Hi augmumAugmum:
Yes. We ever ask dd that in case something happen to us, who will she choose to stay with? also more important thing is life has to go on and don't live in the sadness and the past.
oh...that sort of question.....very sensitive, kids usually like to avoid by saying, \"dunno\"
how abt yr child ??
duriz:
it's better to learn from young.....Augmum:
A little housekeeper in the making :love:
and also other money matters, so as not to be \"con\" by men, esp only child.....haha -
starlight1968sg:
still have to work lah......
as to be intergrated into the society, for social purpose, for passion and for not becoming a useless person.....
anyway, the money cannot last for generations if without refilling
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.