Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)
Hi all
I am looking for a chinese enrichment centre for my DS1 who will be in P4 next year and are looking at the two centres near my house, Berries Pandan Valley and Eduplus Ulu Pandan. I have read the first few pages and the last few pages and have the impression that Berries is more suited to younger children (no time to read thro those pages in between).
Appreciate your comments/experience on either of these 2 centres if you have upper primary kids there:-
(a) Do your kids enjoy their lessons there? How do the teachers/centre curriculum instil the interest in the kids? My DS finds Chinese tough and is beginning to lose interest in the subject.
(b) Is the homework given overbearing?
Is there improvement in your kid’s results?
Thank you. -
Hi everybody
I am hoping to get some feedback about Han Language Centre teaching method. I am searching for Chinese enrichment centre for P1 & P3 next year.
Thank you. -
My gal has been with Jiang Education for 2 year, Molin another year before now settling in TH. Out of the three, Jiang beats all the rest if you do not mind the 3 hours and the travelling ( Rochor ). My gal has a strong foundation in Jiang after been with them for 2 years ( 1 year doing the 1.5hr as she was only K2) then. She can tackle the papers in Molin and TH with ease, with the exception of compo and compre as Jiang was not training them intentively then. As for Molin, despite the materials is good, I cannot say the same for the teacher and the environment. Hence, it was hard to convince my gal to stay further. Currently, she is doing 2 sessions with TH, both the enrichment and creative writing. Yet to see results as she is there for the last one month only. Nevertheless, my 2 gal friends have been hard-selling TH to me as their boys have been with them for the past 5 years. However, I need to qualify that there are doing both programs together in order to reap the result.
Hope my inputs help… -
my DD’s classmate studied at Jiang since primary school till sec 3 now - seems ok
my friends’ kids are spread around Berries, Tian Hsia, Busybees etc…seems okay too
but for my DS & DD, they are using same PRC chinese teacher who comes to house to teach - also okay leh…
important thing children must be willing to put in the hard work too
and there are more of open ended thinking type of questions, esp for compre -
Agreed, child must be willing to put in effortmy DD's classmate studied at Jiang since primary school till sec 3 now - seems ok
my friends' kids are spread around Berries, Tian Hsia, Busybees etc.....seems okay too
but for my DS & DD, they are using same PRC chinese teacher who comes to house to teach - also okay leh....
important thing children must be willing to put in the hard work too
and there are more of open ended thinking type of questions, esp for compre
I cheapo mum, my dd only attends creative writing at a nearby community club taught by a native teacher. Fees very affordable - also okay eh :lol: -
Totally agreed with Very Kiasu and Sleepy that the kid needs to put in hardwork. But first, the interests need to be stirred lah, which I can’t seem to be able to do that despite trying to read chinese story books as bedtime stories and giving them stickers to speak chinese (Sigh!). That is why I am evaluating these 2 centres which seem to have interesting curriculum and not so much homework, but not sure if they work for upper primary kids. Hoping other parents can comment on their experiences (positive or negative) with these 2 centres, namely Berries and Eduplus.
babynicole:
Can you share how is Jiang Education for P2? the class size of 20 students really put me off in enrolling into the program.My gal has been with Jiang Education for 2 year, Molin another year before now settling in TH. Out of the three, Jiang beats all the rest if you do not mind the 3 hours and the travelling ( Rochor ). My gal has a strong foundation in Jiang after been with them for 2 years ( 1 year doing the 1.5hr as she was only K2) then. She can tackle the papers in Molin and TH with ease, with the exception of compo and compre as Jiang was not training them intentively then. As for Molin, despite the materials is good, I cannot say the same for the teacher and the environment. Hence, it was hard to convince my gal to stay further. Currently, she is doing 2 sessions with TH, both the enrichment and creative writing. Yet to see results as she is there for the last one month only. Nevertheless, my 2 gal friends have been hard-selling TH to me as their boys have been with them for the past 5 years. However, I need to qualify that there are doing both programs together in order to reap the result.
Hope my inputs help... -
babynicole:
My gal has been with Jiang Education for 2 year, Molin another year before now settling in TH. Out of the three, Jiang beats all the rest if you do not mind the 3 hours and the travelling ( Rochor ). My gal has a strong foundation in Jiang after been with them for 2 years ( 1 year doing the 1.5hr as she was only K2) then.
Why didn't she continue with Jiang Education?
Visited the center once. With the kind of fees they are charging for their 精英班, I would have thought they could easily afford a more 书香气 location. Anyway, that's reason why I didn't sign up, felt kinda uneasy moving around in that building -
Re Jiang program, I was not able to comment for the P2s as my gal was only with them for K2 and P1. However, their 3hrs course is really a success. To some, it may be simply drilling, but the hard fact is, the result showed. However, I stopped when she was in end P1 cos really tired of waiting there for her for 3 hours, plus like all others, I thought other centres could do an equally good job.
I am giving TH a final try before enrolling her back to Jiang next year, if necessary. As some of you may know, my gal is currently in Poi Ching. Their Chinese standard is really very high. My gal has been constantly scoring almost full marks when attempting the other top school papers or in her enrichment centre but when doing her mock school exam last week, scored a terribly border-line mark
babynicole:
their 3hrs course is really a success. To some, it may be simply drilling, but the hard fact is, the result showed.
Do they cover creative writing and comprehension?babynicole:
Can sign up for gym at Bugis. 3 hours enough to do some workout, shower then back to fetch her. That was my plan if I do sign upHowever, I stopped when she was in end P1 cos really tired of waiting there for her for 3 hours, plus like all others, I thought other centres could do an equally good job.
babynicole:
:!: I heard Poi Ching order Chinese materials from China. Didn't use the standard MOE textbooksTheir Chinese standard is really very high. My gal has been constantly scoring almost full marks when attempting the other top school papers or in her enrichment centre but when doing her mock school exam last week, scored a terribly border-line mark

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.