In-law problems?
The hardest part about that short visit is to put up with her 你听我说…almost all her sentences are peppered with that. The floor in her house can be sticky when it’s just 2 of them…and toilet has an unwashed smell. I think my flat is way much cleaner.
orchids:
My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of \"道理\". She also specializes in 重男轻女 and good at being superstitious. What can the DIL do? Close one eye lor!
Hi orchids,
My MIL is just like your MIL. Sometimes, over superstitious. Recently, she so free until always read about 'feng shui' and she can keep telling me that our house is not good according to feng shui. At first, I just listened to her but the more she says, the more you will feel worried. Then I told my hb. My HB is free-thinker, he does not believe one so he just tells me to avoid my MIL.
How to avoid? She is staying with us. If I dun talk to her, she will complain that I give her black face. I dun respect her. Then how? -
HI Angela,
It's tough bcos she is staying with you...the best part is your hubby being a free-thinker. So why not ask him to tell his mother not to bring up the feng shui issue. It's always easier for the son to open his mouth.
Just waiting for the old ones to go to US to look after their precious daughter and newborn grandson next yr...it would be great if their stay there is extended and extended...since they are not keen to look after sons' children, then they can look after daughter's children...like cook for them...bearing in mind that son-in-law is angmoh.
orchids:
My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of \"道理\". She also specializes in 重男轻女 and good at being superstitious. What can the DIL do? Close one eye lor!
Wow...u must b very patient lor. -
The hardest part about that short visit is to put up with her 你听我说...almost all her sentences are peppered with that. The floor in her house can be sticky when it's just 2 of them...and toilet has an unwashed smell. I think my flat is way much cleaner.
He..hee..my MIL too busy majonging and have this funny stench on her which she covers with tons of strong perfume :faint:
She now into the term 'forgive and forget' and kept repeating it when we do meet :roll: -
duriz:
:shock: :shock: :shock:
My MIL went to university and majored in French.LOLMum:
just curious...
all these not so nice mils, well, are they
a) the highly educated type with a good job
b) the highly educated type but sahm
c) the \"o\" level, \"a\" level, etc with a good job
d) the \"o\", \"a\" level etc but sahm
f) from rich family so that's why so nasty to others
i notice that some of my friends' mils who are considered highly educated (well in their era esp those who speak english) tend to be a bit more snobbish.
Nuf said.
creme de la creme ............
or :love:
angela:
Feng shui still not so bad, my MIL's superstition is so ridiculous that I am too embarrassed to mention them here. The lucky thing is she's not staying with us.orchids:
Hi orchids,
My MIL is just like your MIL. Sometimes, over superstitious. Recently, she so free until always read about 'feng shui' and she can keep telling me that our house is not good according to feng shui. At first, I just listened to her but the more she says, the more you will feel worried. Then I told my hb. My HB is free-thinker, he does not believe one so he just tells me to avoid my MIL.
How to avoid? She is staying with us. If I dun talk to her, she will complain that I give her black face. I dun respect her. Then how?
Somehow, I pity my poor FIL who has to tolerate her nonsense for the rest of his life. After knowing her for more than 10 yrs, I'm more amused than annoyed by her antics.
Yah, I had told my hb many times but he never talks to her.HI Angela,
It's tough bcos she is staying with you...the best part is your hubby being a free-thinker. So why not ask him to tell his mother not to bring up the feng shui issue. It's always easier for the son to open his mouth.
Just waiting for the old ones to go to US to look after their precious daughter and newborn grandson next yr...it would be great if their stay there is extended and extended...since they are not keen to look after sons' children, then they can look after daughter's children...like cook for them...bearing in mind that son-in-law is angmoh.
Now I am also waiting for my MIL to go over to my BIL to look after their new born baby. Although my BIL stays just a few bus stop away from us but she has to stay there during confinement. My MIL also dun want to look after my gals and since that one is her precious son, better go over to look after them. I am waiting for that time to come. Ha ha ha!!
Very bad rite? -
Hi angela,
Mine here also favours boys but she is not keen in kids…only wants to play play and return. Now that her precious daughter in America is going to have #2, her daughter asked her to go there and help. I wonder how she is going to help since she doesn’t like to cook…but in America if you don’t cook, there is no coffeeshop to 打包. -
Same same. Although my MIL said girl also good but actually she hopes to have a grandson but mine is all gals. Ha ha ha!!Hi angela,
Mine here also favours boys but she is not keen in kids..only wants to play play and return. Now that her precious daughter in America is going to have #2, her daughter asked her to go there and help. I wonder how she is going to help since she doesn't like to cook...but in America if you don't cook, there is no coffeeshop to 打包.
My MIL dun cook every day and she only cooks when my SIL and BIL come to my house.
She dun like to look after kids 1. If you ask her to help out a few hours ok, but not the whole day. She likes to watch tv program especially the taiwan shows 'ai' and 'nian jia'. So engrossed. She just likes to play with kids that all.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.