Singapore, a nation of '75 percenters' ...

65 Posts 17 Posters 16.4k Views 1 Watching
      Trapwithin

atutor2001:

I let my kids decide what they want to be, and they have chosen to be computer game expert with a computer glued to his face. I will try to provide and facilitate that.

I also point the different directions, show them all the possibilities but he is dead sure he is only interested in computer - chats and games.

No wonder gahmen is providing internet access everywhere so that my kids can match their gaming counter parts in levels and scores and become the brightest in the world of computer game.

Hope he make something out of dis.
      Computer game expert really pai tan chiak

too dependent on sponsors.
      Recently many sponsors dropped out.

Singapore market too small.
      Even the IDA-backed IAHGames is trying hard coping.

Way2GO

Entrepreneurship is in the guts and blood, not in the education. In fact the lesser to lose and lower opportunity cost, the higher chance to end up as enterprenuer. Singaporeans' mind all on PSLE and kiasu, kiasi definitely not ingredients to entrepreneurship.... 👅

all these sums up one thing : the entrepreneur spirit is dead..
        d early pioneers were true entrepreneurs.
        Tan Kah Kee, Lee Kong Chian etc...
        So where did we lose it in our journey of progress?

vk2010, u sound like a business owner - any comments?

Trapwithin

Trapwithin:

So the only way for entrepreneur spirit to reign in Singapore is probably only one word - PASSION.

That is one of the main success factor in local entrepreneurship.

Passion is a starting point n a necessary factor.
          But without financial backing n incidental support,
          passion itself won't go far.

Our Founding father, Goh Keng Swee once said, \" Think hard enough and you will find a solution.\"

Passion is step 1, there are many many steps after that.
          Financial hurdle is one, opportunity is another, biz model is another, etc
          But think hard be passionate .. should be able to pull through.

Without Passion, it would even be harder to tackle those other issues.

Trapwithin

d early pioneers were true entrepreneurs.
            Tan Kah Kee, Lee Kong Chian etc...
            So where did we lose it in our journey of progress?
            In the old days, \"situation make heroes\" (Shi Si zhao Yin Siong).
            Now with the level of comfort and convenience plus the good standard of living, it will be harder.

Way2GO

art_n_i:

Success certainly contingents on several supporting factors.
              Success is definitely not easy, taking the first step even harder for many because of difficulty of success. 😉
              yea yea
              take heart in d saying
              - a journey of a thousnad miles begin with d first step -

Good luck in ur endeavcours. :celebrate:

Way2GO

Trapwithin:

Now with the level of comfort and convenience plus the good standard of living, it will be harder.
                Well, Shi Si can zhao Yin Siong again.
                I think u all r brainwashed dat we hv a good std of living 😐
                me think living was easier n it is getter harder for many.

Sun_2010

Tht I will post my teacher told a long time ago, i searched it out from the net now. Its something I as a parent try keep in mind and seems appropriate here

The Metamorphosis
                  Once a little boy was playing outdoors and found a fascinating caterpillar. He carefully picked it up and took it home to show his mother. He asked his mother if he could keep it, and she said he could if he would take good care of it.

The little boy got a large jar from his mother and put plants to eat, and a stick to climb on, in the jar. Every day he watched the caterpillar and brought it new plants to eat.

One day the caterpillar climbed up the stick and started acting strangely. The boy worriedly called his mother who came and understood that the caterpillar was creating a cocoon. The mother explained to the boy how the caterpillar was going to go through a metamorphosis and become a butterfly.

The little boy was thrilled to hear about the changes his caterpillar would go through. He watched every day, waiting for the butterfly to emerge. One day it happened, a small hole appeared in the cocoon and the butterfly started to struggle to come out.

At first the boy was excited, but soon he became concerned. The butterfly was struggling so hard to get out! It looked like it couldn’t break free! It looked desperate! It looked like it was making no progress!

The boy was so concerned he decided to help. He ran to get scissors, and then walked back (because he had learned not to run with scissors…). He snipped the cocoon to make the hole bigger and the butterfly quickly emerged!

As the butterfly came out the boy was surprised. It had a swollen body and small, shriveled wings. He continued to watch the butterfly expecting that, at any moment, the wings would dry out, enlarge and expand to support the swollen body. He knew that in time the body would shrink and the butterfly’s wings would expand.

But neither happened!

The butterfly spent the rest of its life crawling around with a swollen body and shriveled wings.

It never was able to fly…

As the boy tried to figure out what had gone wrong his teacher explained that the butterfly was SUPPOSED to struggle. In fact, the butterfly’s struggle to push its way through the tiny opening of the cocoon pushes the fluid out of its body and into its wings. Without the struggle, the butterfly would never, ever fly. The boy’s good intentions hurt the butterfly.

As you go through school, and life, keep in mind that struggling is an important part of any growth experience. In fact, it is the struggle that causes you to develop your ability to fly.

Way2GO

Sun_2010:

The Metamorphosis
                    [color=darkblue]

wat a nice story.
                    gonna let my boys read it. 😄

Trapwithin

Trapwithin:

Well, Shi Si can zhao Yin Siong again.
                      I think u all r brainwashed dat we hv a good std of living 😐
                      me think living was easier n it is getter harder for many.

Hee hee .. I mean comfort level compare to the olden days.
                      The Shi Si now slightly different 😉
                      or maybe ... like you said .. totally brainwashed and become :siao: liao

Trapwithin

Sun_2010:
                        The Metamorphosis

[color=darkblue]

Good story. Hardness produce patience and build character. :goodpost:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7

lilac8803L
                        lilac8803

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies