All About Market Rates of Private Tutors
obsession:
Which level and for which subject?
I never asked cos I can't afford it. Think should be for upper pri maths. -
autolycus:
If ds needs one-to-one tuition at secondary level, I'll tell the tutor you got only 30 mins per week. Cos that's all I can affordI've seen a top-line tutor charge $330/hr before.
I would never pay that much. However, by looking around at various qualified tutors, I would venture to say that $120-$150/hour is about right for secondary level tuition, 1 to 1.
Quintessential Mum:
Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:
:faint: -
atutor2001:
Hey atutor, I know your 3 ds are top students. Can ask your hubby to write a book on how to cultivate top students or not?
You so nice 280+ you feel is fair. I would demand a 300 (a record)peterch:
If he/she could give guarantee that DS/DD could 280+ for PSLE than it should be fair
By the way, well known \"Bishan Chem Teacher\" for JC only 70 per hr but group tuition lah. However, must go quick quick or fool house very fast.
$1000 per book I also buy. But must guarantee 270+ hor :rotflmao: -
Hey atutor, I know your 3 ds are top students. Can ask your hubby to write a book on how to cultivate top students or not?
You so nice 280+ you feel is fair. I would demand a 300 (a record)atutor2001:
[quote=\"peterch\"]If he/she could give guarantee that DS/DD could 280+ for PSLE than it should be fair
By the way, well known \"Bishan Chem Teacher\" for JC only 70 per hr but group tuition lah. However, must go quick quick or fool house very fast.
$1000 per book I also buy. But must guarantee 270+ hor :rotflmao:[/quote]Hey, Markfch, later you buy book and just place on bookshelve to bai sui, how to guarantee 270+ like that?
Atutor's book must have \"osmosis\" or \"diffusion\" capabilities then......travel thru' air into your kid's brain :laugh:
Quintessential Mum:
Alamak, if I have this kind of $$, also won't spend like this. $6k/mth works out to be $72k/yr works out to be >$400k for 6 yrs hor. With this kind of $$, can send kid to overseas uni anytime. Why need to suffer so badly with so much tuition for local schooling?
Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:markfch:
There is an award winning ex-teacher who is charging $100/hr for one-to-one home-based tuition at primary level. Is this considered as the market rate for top range tutors?
Just curious only. There is no way I can afford this kind of money :shock:. -
Pen88n:
Alamak, if I have this kind of $$, also won't spend like this. $6k/mth works out to be $72k/yr works out to be >$400k for 6 yrs hor. With this kind of $$, can send kid to overseas uni anytime. Why need to suffer so badly with so much tuition for local schooling?[/quote]Totally agreed with you. It is ridiculous. But my neighbour pay this kind of money since her the boy was in P3. Just sat for PSLE. I thought her boy is GEP or DSA but found out was knock out after 1st round. Does this make sense? I hired the same Maths tutor and was senseless for 4 mths. I think this year PSLE blew many parents off esp the Maths paper cos they spent so much on tuition. Sorry no offence. I also found out the children of this star tutor are studying in the same neightbourhoold secondary school as my DS3. What has this world become????
Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:Quintessential Mum:
[quote=\"markfch\"]There is an award winning ex-teacher who is charging $100/hr for one-to-one home-based tuition at primary level. Is this considered as the market rate for top range tutors?
Just curious only. There is no way I can afford this kind of money :shock:. -
$100/hr for one-to-one attention ??? You must be kidding. No way can I afford this amt.
I know of someone who arranges for tuition for each subject...but then can afford lah.
If kids have to attend tuition for 4 subjects, the parents might as well home-school the child. What will the child be doing during school curriculum...sleep ?...since he/she has tuition at home.
As for the GEP intensive coaching at P3, it's totally dumb. How can the child become GIFTED after attending a $400 course over a 3 month period ? Even if the child makes it to the 2nd round, he/she will be swarmed in the GIFTED program. Sorry, I know this sounds mean but gifted is in-born. Someone asked me whether I prepared my son for the screening test last yr...I was like 'huh ?' :? -
Pen88n:
Hmm, osmosis & diffusion are words that sound vaguely familar to me. A vision of a white circular paper popped up in my head as I read these words. :lol:
Hey, Markfch, later you buy book and just place on bookshelve to bai sui, how to guarantee 270+ like that?
Atutor's book must have \"osmosis\" or \"diffusion\" capabilities then......travel thru' air into your kid's brain :laugh: -
Haha, that will be a very expensive kind of sleep. A $600 per subject kind of sleep. :lol:$100/hr for one-to-one attention ??? You must be kidding. No way can I afford this amt.
I know of someone who arranges for tuition for each subject...but then can afford lah.
If kids have to attend tuition for 4 subjects, the parents might as well home-school the child. What will the child be doing during school curriculum...sleep ?...since he/she has tuition at home.
I suddenly got a get-rich-quick plan. But must entail a career switch requiring the cooperation of moe.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.