In-law problems?
minnie2004:
Yr MIL thinks it's very cool to act generous in front of her friends and yet have a filial son paying for ALL expenses. The stuff toys should be accepted bcos it's for the kids. As for the red packet, maybe accept token. Very heartache indeed.My hubby paid for everything for them for the trip, air-tix, accomodations for 8 nites, tix to Universal Studio, Night Safari Halloween party, S'pore flyer, duck tour, chilli crab meals etc, etc. As a token of appreciation, her friends gave our kids 2 hong baos and some stuffed animals as gifts.
Tonite, after we came back from dinner, MIL kept asking us what's inside the hong bao. When she found out there were SGD220 cash inside each hong bao, she asked us to return to them :x . She doesn't spend a penny for the whole trip (DH paid for her tix from US-Taiwan-China-Singapore-Taiwan-US) and yet expects my DH to pay for everything for her AND her friends and even return their gifts for our kids! We don't really care about that little bit of $$ but I think it's basic courtesy to at least accept their gifts.
My hubby, out of vanity, bought a bracelet. His mother told him it is not nice on him and asked him for it :x Given a chance, all the old ones want to show off. -
Yah lor, high end restaurants not cheap. Anyone who had dined at Tung Lok group would know. So I tell her, since ur ds is so nice to bring u to Tung Lok, don't complain. Aiyoh, I don't know y she cannot appreciate ppl is trying very hard to be fillial. :? .
AuntieKiasi:
Yah lor, high end restaurants not cheap. Anyone who had dined at Tung Lok group would know. So I tell her, since ur ds is so nice to bring u to Tung Lok, don't complain. Aiyoh, I don't know y she cannot appreciate ppl is trying very hard to be fillial. :? .
Yes, Tung Lok restaurants not cheap leh...with all the GST, service charge etc etc. No need to pay a single cent and yet can show off in front of her friends. -
janet
OMG!!!!Ur MIL so greedy!!! :shock: Men's bracelet also want!! :slapshead: :siao: -
When my BIL passed on, my MIL savaged all the expensive stuff for herself and her youngest son..from sunglasses to watches.. those unwanted photos and old hats... to my place law..
Don't know the right word to describe, greedy def not 'enuf'...
No need to pay a single cent and yet can show off in front of her friends.
Seems like that's what MILs like to do
Today we took MIL and her 6 friends for dim sum at lei garden. Of course DH paid the bill. I didn't look at the final bill, but just a dish of HK kai lan cost SGD44!! Yet she showed a long face thru out the meal, complaining this and that, killing all my appetite.
Afterwards DH took them to the MBS casino. She asked my DH for $200 to gamble and said if she wins, she'll keep the money. But given her penny pincher and kiasi character, eventually she just kept the money and didn't bet at all! Just another of her excuses to snatch $$ from her son :x . -
AuntieKiasi:
She's just taking it for granted. Maybe she thinks her son owes the world to her that whatever he does, it's not enough. It's finally payback time. -
minnie2004:
Hope when we grow old don't be like that and make our children carrot heads....... :nailbite: and the way to avoid that is..........be financially indept of the kids la........ Then again I hope my joy luck club in future will all go Dutch and solve the problem.janet_lee88:
No need to pay a single cent and yet can show off in front of her friends.
Seems like that's what MILs like to do
Today we took MIL and her 6 friends for dim sum at lei garden. Of course DH paid the bill. I didn't look at the final bill, but just a dish of HK kai lan cost SGD44!! Yet she showed a long face thru out the meal, complaining this and that, killing all my appetite.
Afterwards DH took them to the MBS casino. She asked my DH for $200 to gamble and said if she wins, she'll keep the money. But given her penny pincher and kiasi character, eventually she just kept the money and didn't bet at all! Just another of her excuses to snatch $$ from her son :x . -
minnie2004:
Haha....old people has one bad habit.... anything not cooked by them is not tasty or not nice... you notice this trend? They don't care about ambience and cost of the food most of the time. So if we understand this, we also no need to feel too strongly abt the comments.AuntieKiasi:
She's just taking it for granted. Maybe she thinks her son owes the world to her that whatever he does, it's not enough. It's finally payback time.
Another thing is while old people appreciate the effort of the kids, sometimes their intrinsic frugalness cause them to \"misbehave\". Sometimes they feel..why spend money eating out, the food also not as good as home-cooked meal..
My mum and MIL are like that ...so I know and I never take their comments seriously cos as far as I am concerned, I have done my duty and do it sincerely so no bad feelings even if they want to make all kinds of unkind comments. The ability to give makes me happy enough. :lol: -
Hi ksi,
Sorry, mine different…as long as she doesn’t have to cook, she is too happy. On the condition that the place she is eating at is high class.
My mum doesn’t like to eat out…even a simple fried rice cooked at home is better than eating out. That’s why my kids hardly eat when we go out…they will be picking the food and refuse to eat.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.