Would You Let Your Kids Skip School
What kind of operation is that, if I may ask?My son will be going for an op on 11 Nov...so I will be keeping him at home from 8th onwards...which so happens 8th Nov is the day his class will be going for some outdoor activity. Can't afford to have him hit his head (TOUCHWOOD) or fall sick. So will keep him at home.
Otherwise, I won't let my kids skip school esp when they are at primary level...need some peace at home
Wishing your DS a speedy recovery and lotsa :hugs: -
RRMummy:
Hmm.. can seriously consider :lol: :lol: :lol:[/quote]Or a local oso can lah, just need to \"negotiate\" properly before marriage.Sun_2010:
[quote=\"RRMummy\"] But hor.. since I have 2 DDs, wonder if our CNY will be a lonely affair when they are married.. . :roll:
Get one of them to marry an ang moh
Never marry a foreign Chinese :x -
Busymom:
Nothing rigid or not rigid here. As parents, it is a question of what kind of values we want to inculcate in our kids. I see merit in both views, and I think there should be balance at the end of the day. To visit grandparents or parents, that is something everyone should do. However, this does not have to be in the middle of the school terms. To me, to miss 1 day of school in addition to the eve (as eve is already a granted must miss) is fine, but to miss 2 is probably too much.
I understand your side of the consideration too...
need to find a compromise.. :idea: -
Busymom:
double bummer!! If talk about :moneyflies: will your hubs budge?RRMummy:
Ah.. yes the make-up classes will be a bummer...
she will have to go for make-up on the 3rd and 4th day.
Hi Busymom,
Itβs a bone graft opβ¦to fill up the gap in the upper jaw caused by cleft.
Thanks for your well wishes. Hope this op is the end of it allβ¦itβs been 10 years. -
Busymom:
local not foreign Chinese, or else nego before marriage... okay list inside the criteria for Son-In-Law liao. This goes after the \"Check which Primary School he studied in\" CriteriaOr a local oso can lah, just need to \"negotiate\" properly before marriage.
Never marry a foreign Chinese :x
chill, chill Busymom :snuggles: -
Son-in-law list ? Wow, at kiasu parent also no need to be SOOOO kiasu.
My son-in-law criteria will be more stringent than my daughter-in-law criteria. HaHaHaβ¦sure got double standard bcos one is my daughter and the other is a boy. -
RRMummy:
As parents, we love our children equally (or try to
Actually, reunion dinner at guy's family is a rule in our family.. my dad said always must cater to DH side first..
But hor.. since I have 2 DDs, wonder if our CNY will be a lonely affair when they are married.. . :roll:
), and there is no such thing as in the past where daughters are ζ³ΌεΊε»ηζ°΄. 
RRMummy:
Family 1 and 2 - very fair.
A few options that my friends are doing:
Family 1: Work in Singapore, Husband's parents & Wife's parents in different part of Malaysia
Spend eve and 1 - 2 days at Husband's side followed by 2 days Wife's side. Then rotate the next year, first Wife then husband's.
Family 2: Work in Singapore, Husband's parents & Wife's parents in different part of Malaysia
Spend eve and 2 - 3 days at Husband's side. Following year, at Wife's side.
Family 3: Husband Singaporean, Wife's family in Malaysia
Since all the time in Singapore, Wife already got the deal since before marriage that all eve and CNY are spent in Malaysia with her folks
Family 4: Husband Singaporean, Wife's family in Malaysia
After Reunion dinner, they drive at night and spend CNY in Malaysia with folks.
Family 5: Wife Singaporean, Husband's family in Malaysia
Since all the time in Singapore, CNY are spent in Malaysia with his folks
Family 3 - nothing to say, and usually Singaporean men are easy on such things, no? :idea: what does it imply about Singaporean generally...?
Family 4 - how long is the drive?
Family 5 - same comment as Family 3 above... :faint: -
RRMummy:
double bummer!! If talk about :moneyflies: will your hubs budge?Busymom:
[quote=\"RRMummy\"]Ah.. yes the make-up classes will be a bummer...
she will have to go for make-up on the 3rd and 4th day.
[/quote]unfortunately, no.
Good luck!Hi Busymom,
It's a bone graft op...to fill up the gap in the upper jaw caused by cleft.
Thanks for your well wishes. Hope this op is the end of it all...it's been 10 years.
:xedfingers:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.