All About Market Rates of Private Tutors

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    661 Posts 394 Posters 336.5k Views 1 Watching
    • Q Offline
      Quintessential Mum

I have a cousin who's tutoring secondary school kids for history.

Don't think there will be any 'tutors' in the working world...with people trying to outdo each other for promotion. Lots of bootlicking, office politics etc etc. Tuition should end at college, shouldn't it be ? :?:
      May be there will be if there is a demand. The kids who have been tutored since birth till uni - may feel lost without it when they start work. Also with tuition @ work, you may be able to get promoted faster etc. There may be an opportunity here! 😉

markfch

When I started this thread, I was just curious to find out what is the market rate for 'top range' tutors. I wanted to know whether I could afford such a tutor, in case hypothetically speaking ds needs one in future to boost his results. I must emphasize again that it's purely hypothetical cos I surely can't afford $100/hr tutor at this pt.

After reading thru all the posts, I realised that I should phrased my wordings better. My context of 'top range' tutor is one who can boost grades from low A* to high A* or at least from A to A*. However if another tutor can improve grades from D to A, then that is an equally good tutor to me. I'm not sure if ds is an 'A' or 'D' student as he's still in k2. But obviously I hope he's an 'A'. So it's from the earlier context I'm coming from.

Even putting budget (or lack of it) aside, I'm not sure whether I'll do it (I voted 'No' by the way). On one hand, I agree with the various posts here that we parents should not 'overdo' it, least our kids become helplessly dependent on external help. On the other hand, I also find malcolm gladwell's books logical in saying that a little advantage (in terms of better schs, more exposure) earlier on in life will translate into big advantages later. Hence the delimma.

As an active reader at KSP, I can deduce from the posts here that there are definitely parents who are willing to pay that kind of dough, and the number is more than the 3 who voted 'Yes'. 😉

I have NOT voted .. :evil:

• Q Offline
            Quintessential Mum

atutor2001:

most parents do not know the correct / right / adequate / proper exposure

I would rather say that ALL parent do not know the correct / right / adequate / proper exposure especially if it is their first kid in school.

During my time there is no forum to discuss. Internet accessibility was limited. We have to analyse and study with them. Now it is so much easier. So many forums to find out the short-cut way. Google and we can get all the information we need. However, I must conceit that Chinese is the hardest. We are equally blur but we learn with them. The process made us understand their suffering and become less demanding. There was NO Besta then, only a hard copy of dictionary, flipping like crazy yet still do not understand the meaning after finding the word because the \"phrase\" needed was not inside. What to do? Buy a thicker one with more coverage which means even harder to handle. Sigh! Those were the days. Never regretted though.

So it is the amount of sacrifice we are willing to make. If not, there is a ready excuse - \"I don't know how to teach my kid because the syllabus is so difficult.\"

So true! Lots of blood, sweat and tears! ha ha- I recall researching fixed and moveable pulleys to actually understand the concepts involved when my DD was in primary school. I dare say that it was an enriching learning experience for me and my DD and she never forgot the basic concepts. It boils down to effort and sacrifice on the part of the parents if you decide to go tuition-less!

• Q Offline
              quirkymum

I think if the tutor can really dramatically improve the child’s grades and perhaps teach the child extras like life skills then maybe, if not this price is a bit too exorbitant. I know of well-known tutors or centres that seem to work for some kids but yet there are other kids who do not do well under the same tutors. So it is also hard to say that a tutor can confirm and guarantee results as children are so different.

sometimes it is what i call ‘no choice’

without tuition / enrichment, score around high 80s / low 90s

but in order to ensure (kiasu mah) consistently high 90s…must spend the extra effort lor (both parent$$ & child) hopefully to be placed ahead of others at PSLE. that is reality of life, to get into IP / good JC after PSLE…

I am very kiasu

atutor2001

quirkymum:

I think if the tutor can really dramatically improve the child's grades and perhaps teach the child extras like life skills then maybe, if not this price is a bit too exorbitant. I know of well-known tutors or centres that seem to work for some kids but yet there are other kids who do not do well under the same tutors. So it is also hard to say that a tutor can confirm and guarantee results as children are so different.
                  Yes there are such tutors. However, the 1 that I heard of operates from home - group tuition. Students can stay on at his place as long as they want. Not for top students. But for the Bo Chiap type of Sec Ah-beng type. Somehow he can talk their language and made them respect him and are willing to work for him. The tutor actually followed the kid to school to help him settle some personal matter. On the flip side, if my imagination focus from the wrong angle, it is also scary - any way results were produced.

Quintessential Mum:

I was wondering shouldn't the Tuition Teacher know their students weaknesses/problem areas in the first place. 😉
                    of course they know; and with emphasis from school teacher as well, the impact is better on the child - as far as technique is concerned, else it is still 'my way' of answering, as long as 'i know' can already

Trapwithin

I have NOT voted .. :evil:

Neither have I :evil: :evil: :evil:

Trapwithin

I am very kiasu

Only for 2010 .. right? 😉
                        Next year don't need liao ... your ds in Sec Sch :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 18 / 67