All About Market Rates of Private Tutors
Quintessential Mum:
So true! Lots of blood, sweat and tears! ha ha- I recall researching fixed and moveable pulleys to actually understand the concepts involved when my DD was in primary school. I dare say that it was an enriching learning experience for me and my DD and she never forgot the basic concepts. It boils down to effort and sacrifice on the part of the parents if you decide to go tuition-less![/quote]Agree. The best if we can become such \"super-tutor\" ourselves. Besides teaching them the right learning approach, critical exam skills, it is even more important to motivate and help them to become an independent learner. It is a combined role of tutor-coach-mentor.
I would rather say that ALL parent do not know the correct / right / adequate / proper exposure especially if it is their first kid in school.atutor2001:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
most parents do not know the correct / right / adequate / proper exposure
During my time there is no forum to discuss. Internet accessibility was limited. We have to analyse and study with them. Now it is so much easier. So many forums to find out the short-cut way. Google and we can get all the information we need. However, I must conceit that Chinese is the hardest. We are equally blur but we learn with them. The process made us understand their suffering and become less demanding. There was NO Besta then, only a hard copy of dictionary, flipping like crazy yet still do not understand the meaning after finding the word because the \"phrase\" needed was not inside. What to do? Buy a thicker one with more coverage which means even harder to handle. Sigh! Those were the days. Never regretted though.
So it is the amount of sacrifice we are willing to make. If not, there is a ready excuse - \"I don't know how to teach my kid because the syllabus is so difficult.\" -
Very true. Most of us would feel it is \"no choice\"; comparing quitting a good-paying job, down-grading lifestyle ... spending hours coaching little naughty ones, to paying extra tuition fees so that the little ones can get to the top, why not.sometimes it is what i call 'no choice'
without tuition / enrichment, score around high 80s / low 90s
but in order to ensure (kiasu mah) consistently high 90s.....must spend the extra effort lor (both parent$$ & child) hopefully to be placed ahead of others at PSLE. that is reality of life, to get into IP / good JC after PSLE.....
I am very kiasu
In fact it is shocking to note that most of the kids in RI & RGS have tuition even at JC level. They need to because they can't maintain straight As without it. When they go overseas to study, their parents must fly with them to accompany them for the first few weeks. Other JC's kids would fly on their own.
Must find out how such kids cope in Uni. -
atutor2001:
wow, now you make feel bad to allow my pri school kids fly on their own
Very true. Most of us would feel it is \"no choice\"; comparing quitting a good-paying job, down-grading lifestyle ... spending hours coaching little naughty ones, to paying extra tuition fees so that the little ones can get to the top, why not.verykiasu2010:
sometimes it is what i call 'no choice'
but in order to ensure (kiasu mah) consistently high 90s.....must spend the extra effort lor (both parent$$ & child) hopefully to be placed ahead of others at PSLE. that is reality of life, to get into IP / good JC after PSLE.....
I am very kiasu
In fact it is shocking to note that most of the kids in RI & RGS have tuition even at JC level. They need to because they can't maintain straight As without it. When they go overseas to study, their parents must fly with them to accompany them for the first few weeks. Other JC's kids would fly on their own.
Must find out how such kids cope in Uni. -
Quintessential Mum:
Do you have to do science project, there was this science card thingy where they must accomplish certain number of points? Went botanic garden to feed mosquitoes just to collect leaves. Bought different beans from market as collection of different types of seeds - then teacher said beans not allowed, re-do. The most scary thing was catching a cockroach for them. I nearly died of fright. Those good old days.
So true! Lots of blood, sweat and tears! ha ha- I recall researching fixed and moveable pulleys to actually understand the concepts involved when my DD was in primary school. I dare say that it was an enriching learning experience for me and my DD and she never forgot the basic concepts. It boils down to effort and sacrifice on the part of the parents if you decide to go tuition-less! -
We know that.sometimes it is what i call 'no choice'
I am very kiasu
Its great that your Pr kids are used to flying on their own. With all the assistance from the flight crew, in fact, they are given \"VIP\" treatment in a way. Most of my friends' kids fly on their own at a very young age to stay with their parents overseas during school holidays.
wow, now you make feel bad to allow my pri school kids fly on their own
Those JC guys are so big yet need parents to accompany them to settle down. In local uni you see maids helping to clean up the hostel rooms. Maybe army should also allow maids to help up during BMT. -
wonderm:
You have summed it up most beautifully. Thank you.
Agree. The best if we can become such \"super-tutor\" ourselves. Besides teaching them the right learning approach, critical exam skills, it is even more important to motivate and help them to become an independent learner. It is a combined role of tutor-coach-mentor. -
kekeke, I think you cannot wait....ok, now i disagree with you on this last statement :evil:
we have discussions with the school teachers (not tuition teacher) during the feedback / meet the parent sessions. we as parents were told which is the area of weakness in certain specific topics in each subject, why seemingly the effort by the kid did not get the requisite return in terms of marks.....and the analysis boils down to techniques. we are talking about breaking through from low 90s to high 90s, so it is about the last few marks - diminishing return as some would put it. but the challenge is not to lose any marks. so after the discussions with the school teachers, we told the tuition teacher or enrichment teacher to pay more attention in specific area - very targeted. breakthrough achieved.
If you can understand the issue, why can't you explain to your child? Why need to tell tuition teacher or enrichment teacher to pay more attention, not yr child? Isn't the $100 per hr supposed to be the value the tuition/enrichment teacher brings? If I pay $100 per hr and still have to teach the tutor, I should be pocketing the $100. :rotflmao: Sorry...but the argument is still flawed cos you are convinced that we should be paying super tutors. -
Have have..I have a cousin who's tutoring secondary school kids for history.
Don't think there will be any 'tutors' in the working world...with people trying to outdo each other for promotion. Lots of bootlicking, office politics etc etc. Tuition should end at college, shouldn't it be ? :?:
Tuition on Bootlicking
Tuition on Office Politics..
Aim to replace the company CEO in 1 year instead of 10 years.
:celebrate: -
wah..your kiddo doing so well!! Kudos!! :salute:sometimes it is what i call 'no choice'
I am very kiasu
ya lah.. u super kiasu!! :laugh:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.