3.6k Posts 838 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching
      Luanee

:?: I need some advice. Not successful in any of my PV application. DD is in RGPS and we live nearby but not within 1km of any of the schools along Bt Timah. Most of the schools around my area require balloting within 1km.

We are considering moving within 1km to a school in order to increase our chances of getting into the school. And since we have to make a move, might as well be one of the more popular schools. Can some kind soul shed some light on which of the following schools will provide a higher chance for securing a place for phase 2C within 1km?

ACS
      NYPS
      PHPPS

I looked through the balloting history but umm... blur so need some advice or suggestion.

Well backup school will be BTPS.
      I assuming u doing this for ur DS?

Well NYPS definitely has the lowest chance. ACS u mean the junior or primary? PHPPS may be slightly safer since it balloted for 1-2km in some years only.

Why dont u try to apply for PV first and see which one accepts ur application? Then move to within 1km of that school??

Busymom

:?: I need some advice. Not successful in any of my PV application. DD is in RGPS and we live nearby but not within 1km of any of the schools along Bt Timah. Most of the schools around my area require balloting within 1km.

We are considering moving within 1km to a school in order to increase our chances of getting into the school. And since we have to make a move, might as well be one of the more popular schools. Can some kind soul shed some light on which of the following schools will provide a higher chance for securing a place for phase 2C within 1km?

ACS
        NYPS
        PHPPS

I looked through the balloting history but umm... blur so need some advice or suggestion.

Well backup school will be BTPS.
        How about Henry Park? If not mistaken, this year there is no balloting for 2C within 1km, right?

For ACS, whether it is Primary or Junior, there is a good chance for balloting within 1km.

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

Luanee, I have applied for PV for all these few schools along with HPPS but no luck. That’s why now exploring moving to within 1km of one of these schools. I thought so too that PHPPS will give me the best chance but somehow, this year’s registration there was balloting required for those within 1km. I think it is due to all the new condos coming up in that area.

Busymom, I did not include HPPS though it was my first choice for PV cos I saw the balloting history, practically every year balloting required for within 1km and highly over subscribed.

Decided to include NYP cos thot if move around that area oso more convenient for DD if DS gets in, since both are nearby.

As for ACS Primary, well my Dad was an old boys, unfortunately, tak pakay. I was looking at the balloting history of ACS and it seems they have a cut off the last 2 years. Don’t understand how this cut off thing works though. Problem is the vacancy for 2C is very low since majority of the space is taken up by alumni and church members.

Can someone explain what that cut off means?

After looking and looking and comparing, I thought ACS might accord a higher chance since it is a boy’s school and population density is lower. That is if by cut off they mean they number of registrants equal vacancy without any manipulation done.

And if I balloting within 1km is involved, I think ACS and NYPS will accord higher chances since the last 2 years, the registrants exceeded capacity by 10+% instead of like HPPS exceeded by 40+%.

Well in terms of financial impact, PHPPS will be the ‘cheapest’ and I thought it was a sure thing if we move within 1km going by past years’ record but this year, balloting within 1km. And after visiting the PHPPS thread here, no offence to the school or parents with kids there, I have 2nd thoughts about putting DS there since my Chinese sucks and DH oso not that good. And I dun like the idea that they stream kids into different classes based on capabilities as early as P2.

Haiyah, I oso totally confused. Told DH just put DS in BTPS but DH say no must try, else next time DS may say we bias why DD go RGPS while he go BTPS. Ok, I’m like huh? Oh well, his 2 words ‘must try’, I gotta do all the work.

BigDevil

As for ACS Primary, well my Dad was an old boys, unfortunately, tak pakay. I was looking at the balloting history of ACS and it seems they have a cut off the last 2 years. Don't understand how this cut off thing works though. Problem is the vacancy for 2C is very low since majority of the space is taken up by alumni and church members.

Can someone explain what that cut off means?
            Cut off means that the number of applicants = number of available places in that distance category, so no balloting required. All who fall outside of that distance category will be rejected.

Eg. At 2C, number of places = 50. Number of applicants within 1 km = 22,
            number of applicants within 2km = 28, number of applicants outside 2km = 35. This will be a cut off since 22 + 28 = 50. All 35 applicants outside 2km will be rejected.

And if I balloting within 1km is involved, I think ACS and NYPS will accord higher chances since the last 2 years, the registrants exceeded capacity by 10+% instead of like HPPS exceeded by 40+%.

Well in terms of financial impact, PHPPS will be the 'cheapest' and I thought it was a sure thing if we move within 1km going by past years' record but this year, balloting within 1km. And after visiting the PHPPS thread here, no offence to the school or parents with kids there, I have 2nd thoughts about putting DS there since my Chinese sucks and DH oso not that good. And I dun like the idea that they stream kids into different classes based on capabilities as early as P2.

Haiyah, I oso totally confused. Told DH just put DS in BTPS but DH say no must try, else next time DS may say we bias why DD go RGPS while he go BTPS. Ok, I'm like huh? Oh well, his 2 words 'must try', I gotta do all the work.
              NYPS will challenge your chinese lang hor, if you have no intention to outsource chinese coaching / tuition .......

• FunzF Offline
                Funz

NYPS will challenge your chinese lang hor, if you have no intention to outsource chinese coaching / tuition .......
                Yah aware of that. Currently oredi outsourced.

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

BigDevil:
                  Cut off means that the number of applicants = number of available places in that distance category, so no balloting required. All who fall outside of that distance category will be rejected.

number of applicants within 2km = 28, number of applicants outside 2km = 35. This will be a cut off since 22 + 28 = 50. All 35 applicants outside 2km will be rejected.
                  Thanks!

Busymom

Busymom, I did not include HPPS though it was my first choice for PV cos I saw the balloting history, practically every year balloting required for within 1km and highly over subscribed.

Decided to include NYP cos thot if move around that area oso more convenient for DD if DS gets in, since both are nearby.
                    Hi Funz,

I just checked the balloting history for this year and in the case of HPPS, the balloting under 2C is for > 2km. Not sure why HPPS is quite \"cold\" this year with the 2004 kids' parents, but you can probably try to see next year's trend. By the way, when is your DS due to be registered for P1?

For NYPS, you have to bear in mind the massive Farrier Road project that would soon be launched.

How about through grassroot leader route? You would have more choices of schools in the Holland- Bukit Timah GRC.

Busymom

BigDevil:

Also, just to add, sometimes having a cut off does not necessarily mean that supply = demand for a category. It could be that some parents decided to go to another school instead of going for balloting. I remember noticing in one of the years that ACS initially had to ballot on the day when registration closed, yet somehow, before balloting was to be conducted, it became a case of cut-off. Heard from a friend as well that if there is just 1 more student, sometimes, the school will take in that 1 extra person.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Busymom:
                        Hi Funz,

I just checked the balloting history for this year and in the case of HPPS, the balloting under 2C is for > 2km. Not sure why HPPS is quite \"cold\" this year with the 2004 kids' parents, but you can probably try to see next year's trend. By the way, when is your DS due to be registered for P1?

For NYPS, you have to bear in mind the massive Farrier Road project that would soon be launched.

How about through grassroot leader route? You would have more choices of schools in the Holland- Bukit Timah GRC.
                        Gotta register DS next year. Explored a few options so now down to the last option and that is move nearer to the school, which was our 2nd last option. Last option will be to just register him in BTPS.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 358

Winston689W
                        Winston689