Maris Stella High
vicki:
That's why I say 24-hr mum is very kiasu! very stressed leh...
Err.... you mean your boy is not coming in 2011 but 2012 har?24hr-mum:
no exams? that's gd.
i hvnt started hanyu pinyin.waitg for his childcare to do next year.
so cant say i so kiasu lah.
Btw - you still have 1 full year of preparation then.
vicki:
My boy's CCC is also like that and they only started tingxie in K2. But his HYPY is better after going to Berries. I had put him in an unknown tuition centre nearer home fr Jan - Jun and saw no progress in his HYPY. Then I switched him to Berries from July and I saw a marked improvement within a few months. Guess their methods are proven.
Most CCs dont really touch hanyu pinyin until K2 - per my boy's teacher (they prefer to get English concept n phonics done in K1 and start HYPY in K2 - so as not to confuse the kid with the chinese n english phonics..)
Not sure if all CCs are like this though!
Dun worry Vicki, most of the boys at MS come from English speaking backgrounds so they all face the same issues. It's better than having our kids in Ai Tong where the expectations on Chinese are higher rite? -
ya, my boy supp to be p1 in 2012, but next year he is k2 and i m deciding whether he needs to go any preparatory class for any subject.
my girl never go any academic class in presch, cos i teach eng n ch myself. math i sent her to mpm a short while n stopped cos the wksheets were kind of simple n becos i dont like math, i also duno wat to expect and how to teach at that time. i realised her math concept were still weak in p1 cos she has no flair in math, like me.
thats why my boy i started him in math early.
but then my girl is the good girl type, can hm teach.
my boy is super cheeky lazy n playful so i think better outsource.
dont hv $ for all subj lah. so must teach some at hm.
for ch, i plan to just get him to read tons of ch bks WITH him (cos he be left alone type), plus teach hypy n flash cards on ch words, stroke etc. if the parents do know ch, can really self teach, if the child is cooperative.
all my kids can read by 3 to 3.5 yrs. even for my boy, i force him to read flashcards. if dont "force" him, i will be broke n i perceive its a lazy attitude in him whc shows in everythg else, feed himsf dinner, dress up, pack things, brush teeth etc. so i got to discipline him.
but i nvr teach phonics since CCC got teach n i cant tahan the slow progress in those phonics centre but maybe i shd rethink bcos my boy has no flair in language also. so i m thinkg abt Lcentral, i can read or duno wat lah. my boy is the slow type. unlike my girl. so i m so kiasu n kiasi. very scared he will be the last in class cos he cant sit still and got to push n push to do hmwk. 360 deg opp frm my girl.
i read in earlier post that MS has exams for p1. they just did away with that for next year? my girl no exam for p1 but problem is her cracks (in compre n compo) only show in end of p2, when they hv SA2. and they grade her for p2 based on daily work, whc is worse to me, cos u know, for daily work is based on impromptu performance unlike in sa u can prepare for it. and any weakness only show in p2, by then wasted one year time to rectify in early p2 had there been exam in p1 -
Does anyone know MSβ PSLE top score?
Thanks smurf! SJIJ has a better score! Surprisingly, Catholic High didnβt get a better score than 271. With the GEP program, thought they would get higher results.
No worries.

Cath high should have better score, but dunno why. :? -
cherrygal:
Thanks smurf! SJIJ has a better score! Surprisingly, Catholic High didn't get a better score than 271. With the GEP program, thought they would get higher results.
GEP doesn't really mean the kids will do well in PSLE. In my experience in teaching GEP kids, there are basically 2 types of GEP kids: The Math/Science type and the Languages type. The first group usually can do very well in Sci and Math. The second group can write very well. They have a flair in languages. Many of them may not score well because of their MT as well.
One thing is for sure, they are intelligent and pick up concepts really fast.
smurf:
Looking at the highest PSLE Aggregate Score (MOE dun use T-score anymore) may not be a good indication. For me, I rather look at the median score as it is a better indication. Just my 2-cent worth.No worries.

Cath high should have better score, but dunno why. :?
bigfoot:
Bigfoot,cherrygal:
Thanks smurf! SJIJ has a better score! Surprisingly, Catholic High didn't get a better score than 271. With the GEP program, thought they would get higher results.
GEP doesn't really mean the kids will do well in PSLE. In my experience in teaching GEP kids, there are basically 2 types of GEP kids: The Math/Science type and the Languages type. The first group usually can do very well in Sci and Math. The second group can write very well. They have a flair in languages. Many of them may not score well because of their MT as well.
One thing is for sure, they are intelligent and pick up concepts really fast.
If you are a teacher in a GEP school, why didn't you put your kid in your own school? :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.