How to toilet train children

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    111 Posts 53 Posters 44.2k Views 1 Watching

MLR:
      Something similar happened to DH too. He always carry a spare diaper/pull-ups in his briefcase for those just in case situation. He went for a meeting and when he took out his notebook for presentation, out came the diaper in a zip-lock bag :shock: :oops: . Luckily his client also has 4 kids and he made a joke and broke the ice..... DH got his exculsive account... :celebrate: never guess diaper can help to clinch a deal huh.

As DS is now wearing XXL, we switch to Mammy Poko Value Pull-Ups, not bad for the price, better than Drypers. We are still using diaper cream to protect his bum-bum.

Other than diaper, theres little plastic animals/dinosaurs/cars/trucks, extra packs of wet wipes (we love NTUC's anti-bacterial packs, comes in 15 and 40 wipes pack), hand sanitisers in our bags too.

Got to live up to Kiasu-ism mah...
      CONGRATS to your DH for securing that account, MLR! :celebrate:
      And way to goooo, diaper!! :lol:

MLR, when DS bum not too sensitive anymore you can consider swapping
      to HUGGIES PULL-UPS... they're ok too. My kiddies can't take the Drypers
      Pull-Ups even though we wud prefer to.. The additional cream $$$ put in
      just doesn't add up. 😐

Yup. Yup. I'm a self-confessed \"baby-wipes-freak\"! πŸ˜‰
      I have wipes everywhere! And yes, the NTUC one is worth it.
      The cheaper Pureen bought from Sheng Siong oso not bad. πŸ˜‰
      Recently tried the Guardian Pharmacy's ones oso good. Smells
      nice, especially the Rose. Think there's Green Tea, Lavender, (etc)

RRMummy:
        i also kena once, walking back from CC with my gals, suddenly below my block, DD2 said need to shue-shue... ask her to put on pull-up, dun 1... said princess don't wear diapers.. rush home but not in time.. also shue-shue outside the gate..

ended up, I kena scolding and glaring from her.. said it's my fault, I slow poke..open the gate so slow woh.. :roll:
        Hahahahahaa! Mummy slowpoke... Mummy slowpoke...

I always have a golden rule to this pee-ing thing. :idea:
        Cannot tell last minute! πŸ˜‰

Btw, RRMummy....
        You can now tell her, Princess don't pee outside the gate either. πŸ˜‰

RRMummy

Ya, I set the golden rule too.. but i guess the definition of last minute hasn't really sit in!! πŸ˜› You know la, from KFC @ Causeway Point to the toilet is no easy task especially during peak hours.. carrying the kiddo + maneuvering thru the crowd and queueing for the toilet.. stressful also leh πŸ˜›
          Btw, RRMummy....
          You can now tell her, Princess don't pee outside the gate either. πŸ˜‰
          :lol: Precisely why I kena 'the stare' and blasting.. all my fault for causing the Princess to pee at the gate. MY FAULT.. 😐

RRMummy:

Ya, I set the golden rule too.. but i guess the definition of last minute hasn't really sit in!! πŸ˜› You know la, from KFC @ Causeway Point to the toilet is no easy task especially during peak hours.. carrying the kiddo + maneuvering thru the crowd and queueing for the toilet.. stressful also leh πŸ˜›

Ya! And the definition of the distance to actually GO to a toilet!
            Yeah boy, from KFC to the other end ya know! It's far oredi
            without the crowd. I dare not imagine the weaving thru' the
            crowd part with an-almost-going-to-pee kiddo on my hip. If
            it were my kiddie, my jeans (around the hips) wud've been
            wet liao! :shock:

RRMummy

my jeans (around the hips) wud've been wet liao! :shock:

For awhile there thot u buay tahan n pee.. πŸ˜›
              Yeah boy, from KFC to the other end ya know! It's far oredi
              without the crowd. I dare not imagine the weaving thru' the
              crowd part with an-almost-going-to-pee kiddo on my hip.
              Yup yup!!

so worried that my kanchiongness will make her pee out due to the excitement..

also worried the bouncing around on my hip will also make her pee out...

sometimes, carry one and pull one along smore.. :faint:

So next time you happen to see a kanchiong mama on \"PEE EMERGENCY ALERT'.. call out, it may just be ME.. πŸ˜‰ err... or maybe wait till we come out of the loo first... πŸ˜›

hdbtaitai8

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Dear all

My son will be 5years old in Dec. He can be toilet train to go \"wee wee\" in the afternoon nap but when it comes to night training...he does not want to get up. Oh my goodness! 😒

I am having difficulties in getting him to go to \"wee\" without disturbing his sister(6years old) sleep (in the same room) and of course daddy's :x in the night. (next door)

He will scream and shout in the middle of the night should I force him to go toilet....saying he need to sleep.

[color=darkred]please give me some advice. I do understand that it will be better not to give him drinks 2hrs before he sleep and ask him to go toilet before he go sleep. [/color]

I usually give milk at 9pm cos dinner is at 6.30 or 7pm and fruits at 8pm then drag him out of bed at 11pm (that is when i tried nite toilet training) and hopefully before my hubby sleep.

But by 3 or 4am (that when most of us are at \"zombie\" state) the bed is wet and I have to change another mattress if he is not on diaper and should he be (cos i go no choice) and i drag him out off bed to do the \"routine\" he will scream and throw tantrum.

How to train? :stupid:

hdbtaitai8:

hi taitai πŸ˜‰
                  please discuss toilet train http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3160&start=0.
                  technically, your kid is only 4.5yo. at that age, i will carry my boy to the toilet to pass urine in the middle of the night. it may be tiring, but that is the only option if i do not want the hassle of a wet bed.

hdbtaitai8

Dear Jedamum

thanks for the info. maybe i was comparing him with my dau who manage to do it at the age of 3+.

So no choice...have to do a bit of weightlifting of a 17kg boy... πŸ˜‰

Cheers!

hdbtaitai8:

hi taitai πŸ˜‰
                    please discuss toilet train http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3160&start=0.
                    technically, your kid is only 4.5yo. at that age, i will carry my boy to the toilet to pass urine in the middle of the night. it may be tiring, but that is the only option if i do not want the hassle of a wet bed.

MLR

Hiya

How about instead of carrying him or dragging him, get a plastic spittoon η—°η›‚ (the type that look like a top hat when inverted), let him pee into it and empty it into the toilet, spray some Jeypine/Dettol/Lysol disinfectant, rinse and you can save your shoulder/arm.

hdbtaitai8

Hi Hiya

thanks for the suggestion. Will try and see if he wants to wake up to pee into the spittoon. Hopefully he aim carefully too.

Cheers! hdbtaitai8

MLR:
                        Hiya

How about instead of carrying him or dragging him, get a plastic spittoon η—°η›‚ (the type that look like a top hat when inverted), let him pee into it and empty it into the toilet, spray some Jeypine/Dettol/Lysol disinfectant, rinse and you can save your shoulder/arm.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 12