PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit
3boys, can see that you can hardly contain your excitement over this news. -
Hello All,
I have been following and reading this thread. Not a bad proposal from AWARE mandating parental leave for daddies. For many, it is a welcomed options. For me, it served no help as my Dh is like some of you here..full of excuses ( babies is fragile...don't know how to do this and that..blah).
More benefits are definitely welcomed. My 3cts worth comments on what the govt can do to raise fertility rate EFFECTIVELY.
1) Income tax reduction
This is the fundamental economic balance to make everyone in Singapore contribute on procreation. Procreation should not be only the responsibility of married couples or those with family..it is the issue for the whole nation. Give more tax rebates for family with kids...the more the merrier..I think someone has raises this. But I want to add, additional tax rebates should be given to household with SAHM.
2) Child care incentives
I think the child care subsidaries should be extended for those families who choose to let their parents help care for their kids. Currently, rebates are only given to centers (correct me if I am wrong).
3) School education fund
The current pennies banked to EDUSAVE is not enough to even sustain the $$ spend on computers and IT gadgets for the kids. Govt need to wake up their ideas that by upgrading the school ciriculum and getting kids to be IT savvy..it cost $$..from the IT gadgets to spectacles. Education should be paid to Singaporeans! All the way to University.
4) Discount in daily life
Medical expenses is huge. One PD trip cost me 2 $50 notes. And is the govt helping..yes..they give you the option to queue.
Being a FTWM, I do not have the luxury of time. There should be subsidaries for children medical from specialist clinics in hospitals to polyclinics to even PD. Not forgetting, kids needs dental (braces, etc). They cost money. And spectacles..they are not cheap. Subsidize please. And I will not mind if household gets special rebates shopping for groceries in govt-operated NTUC. Yeah..and someone mentioned COE rebates..that is a cool idea. I definitely needs that to upgrade my car when I have more kids. Housing, utilities..I am hoping to see more from govt on that.
5) Helping FTWM/D
As a FTWM, the 6 days childcare leave to me is a plus but not something that will lessen my load in caring for my child. When a woman has a child , esp in the 30s, do not forget they maybe in the prime of the career. What has the govt done to ensure woman in this category gets the deserving treatment for the sacrifices? Thanks for the paid leave but we need job security. I guess govt should urge corporation to introduce flexi working hours or adopt the concept of work ing from home. For parents who travels for work, govt should work out a system (maybe cheaper airfare) for families to bring the child along as well. Of course not for every trip but a limited trip to be subsidized.
6) Teach the MAN
Sorry if I target at the wrong group. I think NS should teach our dear MAN how to bath a kid and care for young ones as well. Besides holding on to weapons and cooking in the jungle, teach them how to clean up.
7) Standardise all pre-school ciriculum and fees
With the big gap in the fees from the varying school, it is causing unnecessary stress for parents to enrol their kids in schools, esp the ones with high fees since they are deemed better. Stop commercialisation of child education!
Extend civil servants privilege for Singapore families.
When we need a place to go with our kids, all shopping malls are congested. Extend all the chalets and CS club benefits to Singapore citizen who are doing a part in procreation
Oh...I can just write on and on,,,but I am really hoping to see at least 3 of those being mentioned on 18 Feb 2011.
You two crack pots are cracking me up in the middle of the night... or morning
Sorry, but fathers take paternity leave MUST be to take care of kids - not their pets or farm in FB hor.Chenonceau:
Fathers won't take leave lah... Must have policy to CUT mother's leave if fathers don't take. Now I sure hope AWARE reads this. Heeeeee!
rather! :rotflmao:
Yes yes Chenonceau... please do write more policy commentary! :rahrah:
As for father's taking leave, mine took the given 3 days... to take care of me..
and only ME. :please:
Baby was cared for by the nurses. Hey, we paid! Time for momma to rest first.
So momma can take care of the rest. :roll: :lol: He wanted to take another 14
days but request was denied, despite having someone already alloted to cover
his duties till his return. But hey... guess the big boss expects him to do his job
even if it meant something happened & he died... he just has to come out from
his grave to get it done. So in his case there might not even be the phrase, died
and gone to heaven.... or hell.... wherever he belongs thereafter but I mean,
there was sufficient manpower! Can you darn believe that! It'll be a case of
died and gone back to work... just had to. :roll: So, watch out big boss. :lol:
He managed to get abt 10 days, after which i made noise and he pondered over
it... and he went to send email to manpower side & also his immediate supervisor
to whine abt his case and plead for understanding (they're both female btw) and
somehow big boss (the alpha male) eventually relented.... with conditions of cos..
and definitely the promise that his table will not even get to see its legs for awhile
upon his return.. soooo .... hubs went to heck with it.... i come back now oso
cannot see table... come back later oso still cannot see table... (all piled with
back log) .... so decision is.... i'll resume leave anyhow and deal with work later.
:idea: Butttt... he didn't return to work on a Monday! :laugh: He chose a Wed.
Hquek.... aaaahhh yes... the key word there was or is rather... MUST! :idea:
Good one! :celebrate: -
Just my gut feel, if the man is willing to step up and help out in the chores at home or with the kids, the woman is more likely to be willing to have more kids.
Then like dis mine too many steps up liao. :roll: He's doing too much.. but
cheh... i ain't gonna be suckered to have more kids just cos of that. Just
like how modern grand mamas dowanna be chained to care for children...
so do i!
Life is short so must balance up with what we do for the
children and what we can do for ourself in that span of time. So if one
keeps on giving birth like rabbids then how liddat?
Too many children also can affect spousal time which in initial years of the
marriage many couples have. One of an old friend caught up with me some
years back. Driving her new SUV, still with one child, already far up there
in her career (same line since i last saw her) but short of a husband. Yup.
Divorced but happy... Her story : simply said... Marriage is a routine.
\"What love? The love is gone the minute you enter a marriage. With
kids lagi worse! So, i'm a happier me now.\"
So time for spouse must also happen sometimes to keep love in place. So
in the rat race we all run here in this fine city, when did we last have some
romance.... go figure.... that is, if you have time. :lol: -
It is high time to grant paternity leave for FTBsβ¦at least 2 weeks shd be sufficient. When I had my #3, hubby does not have paternity leave as it is not mandated here. He used up his annual leave to help out, even though I had my MIL as confinement nanny and a PT cleaner to do the cleaning. With HB by my side, I can keep my sanity (dealing with MIL and milk supply, night feeding), and definitely the bonding.
If paternity leave is to be made COMPULSORY, I hope they will REALLY be of help to their wives (esp those having post-natal blues) and not add on.
Hands-on with the bb like changing diapers properly (washing the bum and applying diaper rash cream), feeding the bb (making sure temperature not too hot or cold). Sure, any man can tell you he can feed and change but is he doing it the RIGHT way ?
If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the babyβs cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother. -
What they should do is to get army officers to teach these skills. Sure learn one. \"WIPE THAT BUTT SPOTLESS OR YOU WILL SCRUB THE PARADE SQUARE WITH JOHNSON'S BABY WIPES! SHOW SOME DISCIPLINE MAN!\"If paternity leave is to be made COMPULSORY, I hope they will REALLY be of help to their wives (esp those having post-natal blues) and not add on.
Hands-on with the bb like changing diapers properly (washing the bum and applying diaper rash cream), feeding the bb (making sure temperature not too hot or cold). Sure, any man can tell you he can feed and change but is he doing it the RIGHT way ?
If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the baby's cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother.
For some strange reason that women generally don't understand, this training technique works for men. I never try before though... and got no research to cite... but just you go ask any platoon commander or something like that. -
Are you suggesting we should incorporate this into the national service training programme :lol: . If our nation permits, I'm sure many mummies here would want to incorporate as many of their suggestions into the NS training so that daddies here gets \"trained\" more effectively, ya.
What they should do is to get army officers to teach these skills. Sure learn one. \"WIPE THAT BUTT SPOTLESS OR YOU WILL SCRUB THE PARADE SQUARE WITH JOHNSON'S BABY WIPES! SHOW SOME DISCIPLINE MAN!\"
NS men are supposed to use that scrub and wash the loo spotlessly clean right ? Then washing the poo off bb's bum shouldn't be an issue with baby wipes. Oh yes, incorporate father's love while doing so.
What they should do is to get army officers to teach these skills. Sure learn one. \"WIPE THAT BUTT SPOTLESS OR YOU WILL SCRUB THE PARADE SQUARE WITH JOHNSON'S BABY WIPES! SHOW SOME DISCIPLINE MAN!\"janet_lee88:
If paternity leave is to be made COMPULSORY, I hope they will REALLY be of help to their wives (esp those having post-natal blues) and not add on.
If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the baby's cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother.
For some strange reason that women generally don't understand, this training technique works for men. I never try before though... and got no research to cite... but just you go ask any platoon commander or something like that.
To have more babies, the PM should think how NS men can be more domesticated during that 2 years in-camp. -
Dh is a super hands on daddy especaily when we had our first baby. He bathed our new born, woke up for night feed, attended to baby's every whim in lightning speed. Then dh's enthusiasm went downhill with number 2. Now he declares that he has absolutely no energy to help take care of a 3rd because he has a new love interest - golf! So definitely not having a 3rd child.hquek:
Just my gut feel, if the man is willing to step up and help out in the chores at home or with the kids, the woman is more likely to be willing to have more kids.
Then like dis mine too many steps up liao. :roll: He's doing too much.. but
cheh... i ain't gonna be suckered to have more kids just cos of that. Just
like how modern grand mamas dowanna be chained to care for children...
so do i!
Hmm, perhaps govt should consider shutting down all golf courses and driving range in Sinapore Sure can produce more babies :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.