PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit

314 Posts 49 Posters 79.3k Views 1 Watching

Fathers won't take leave lah... Must have policy to CUT mother's leave if fathers don't take. Now I sure hope AWARE reads this. Heeeeee!

Sorry, but fathers take paternity leave MUST be to take care of kids - not their pets or farm in FB hor.

You two crack pots are cracking me up in the middle of the night... or morning
      rather! :rotflmao:
      Yes yes Chenonceau... please do write more policy commentary! :rahrah:

As for father's taking leave, mine took the given 3 days... to take care of me..
      and only ME. :please:
      Baby was cared for by the nurses. Hey, we paid! Time for momma to rest first.
      So momma can take care of the rest. :roll: :lol: He wanted to take another 14
      days but request was denied, despite having someone already alloted to cover
      his duties till his return. But hey... guess the big boss expects him to do his job
      even if it meant something happened & he died... he just has to come out from
      his grave to get it done. So in his case there might not even be the phrase, died
      and gone to heaven.... or hell.... wherever he belongs thereafter but I mean,
      there was sufficient manpower! Can you darn believe that! It'll be a case of
      died and gone back to work... just had to. :roll: So, watch out big boss. :lol:

He managed to get abt 10 days, after which i made noise and he pondered over
      it... and he went to send email to manpower side & also his immediate supervisor
      to whine abt his case and plead for understanding (they're both female btw) and
      somehow big boss (the alpha male) eventually relented.... with conditions of cos..
      and definitely the promise that his table will not even get to see its legs for awhile
      upon his return.. soooo .... hubs went to heck with it.... i come back now oso
      cannot see table... come back later oso still cannot see table... (all piled with
      back log) .... so decision is.... i'll resume leave anyhow and deal with work later.

:idea: Butttt... he didn't return to work on a Monday! :laugh: He chose a Wed. 😉

Hquek.... aaaahhh yes... the key word there was or is rather... MUST! :idea:

Good one! :celebrate:

Just my gut feel, if the man is willing to step up and help out in the chores at home or with the kids, the woman is more likely to be willing to have more kids.

Then like dis mine too many steps up liao. :roll: He's doing too much.. but
        cheh... i ain't gonna be suckered to have more kids just cos of that. Just
        like how modern grand mamas dowanna be chained to care for children...
        so do i! 😢 Life is short so must balance up with what we do for the
        children and what we can do for ourself in that span of time. So if one
        keeps on giving birth like rabbids then how liddat? 😢

Too many children also can affect spousal time which in initial years of the
        marriage many couples have. One of an old friend caught up with me some
        years back. Driving her new SUV, still with one child, already far up there
        in her career (same line since i last saw her) but short of a husband. Yup.
        Divorced but happy... Her story : simply said... Marriage is a routine.
        \"What love? The love is gone the minute you enter a marriage. With
        kids lagi worse! So, i'm a happier me now.\"

So time for spouse must also happen sometimes to keep love in place. So
        in the rat race we all run here in this fine city, when did we last have some
        romance.... go figure.... that is, if you have time. :lol:

bebe

It is high time to grant paternity leave for FTBs…at least 2 weeks shd be sufficient. When I had my #3, hubby does not have paternity leave as it is not mandated here. He used up his annual leave to help out, even though I had my MIL as confinement nanny and a PT cleaner to do the cleaning. With HB by my side, I can keep my sanity (dealing with MIL and milk supply, night feeding), and definitely the bonding.

If paternity leave is to be made COMPULSORY, I hope they will REALLY be of help to their wives (esp those having post-natal blues) and not add on.

Hands-on with the bb like changing diapers properly (washing the bum and applying diaper rash cream), feeding the bb (making sure temperature not too hot or cold). Sure, any man can tell you he can feed and change but is he doing it the RIGHT way ?
            If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the baby’s cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother.

Chenonceau

If paternity leave is to be made COMPULSORY, I hope they will REALLY be of help to their wives (esp those having post-natal blues) and not add on.

Hands-on with the bb like changing diapers properly (washing the bum and applying diaper rash cream), feeding the bb (making sure temperature not too hot or cold). Sure, any man can tell you he can feed and change but is he doing it the RIGHT way ?
              If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the baby's cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother.
              What they should do is to get army officers to teach these skills. Sure learn one. \"WIPE THAT BUTT SPOTLESS OR YOU WILL SCRUB THE PARADE SQUARE WITH JOHNSON'S BABY WIPES! SHOW SOME DISCIPLINE MAN!\"

For some strange reason that women generally don't understand, this training technique works for men. I never try before though... and got no research to cite... but just you go ask any platoon commander or something like that.

• raynregR Offline
                raynreg

Are you suggesting we should incorporate this into the national service training programme :lol: . If our nation permits, I'm sure many mummies here would want to incorporate as many of their suggestions into the NS training so that daddies here gets \"trained\" more effectively, ya.

What they should do is to get army officers to teach these skills. Sure learn one. \"WIPE THAT BUTT SPOTLESS OR YOU WILL SCRUB THE PARADE SQUARE WITH JOHNSON'S BABY WIPES! SHOW SOME DISCIPLINE MAN!\"

If the husband is at home, hopefully he can attend to the baby's cries and not be snoring away or else watching soccer. If the MIL is staying in the house, hopefully the husband helps his wife keep her sanity by handling his mother.

For some strange reason that women generally don't understand, this training technique works for men. I never try before though... and got no research to cite... but just you go ask any platoon commander or something like that.

NS men are supposed to use that scrub and wash the loo spotlessly clean right ? Then washing the poo off bb's bum shouldn't be an issue with baby wipes. Oh yes, incorporate father's love while doing so.
                  To have more babies, the PM should think how NS men can be more domesticated during that 2 years in-camp.

sleepy

Just my gut feel, if the man is willing to step up and help out in the chores at home or with the kids, the woman is more likely to be willing to have more kids.

so do i! 😢

Dh is a super hands on daddy especaily when we had our first baby. He bathed our new born, woke up for night feed, attended to baby's every whim in lightning speed. Then dh's enthusiasm went downhill with number 2. Now he declares that he has absolutely no energy to help take care of a 3rd because he has a new love interest - golf! So definitely not having a 3rd child.

Hmm, perhaps govt should consider shutting down all golf courses and driving range in Sinapore Sure can produce more babies :rotflmao:

sleepy:

[quote=\"hquek\"]Just my gut feel, if the man is willing to step up and help out in the chores at home or with the kids, the woman is more likely to be willing to have more kids.

so do i! 😢

Dh is a super hands on daddy especaily when we had our first baby. He bathed our new born, woke up for night feed, attended to baby's every whim in lightning speed. Then dh's enthusiasm went downhill with number 2. Now he declares that he has absolutely no energy to help take care of a 3rd because he has a new love interest - golf! Perhaps govt should shut down all golf courses and driving range in Sinapore. Sure can produce more babies :rotflmao:[/quote]Face Book will be terminated in July right ? How about not allowing ESPN...so that husbands are not glued to watching soccer matches between Chelsea and Liverpool for eg. When the men's favourite activities are avail, their interest in looking after kids are reduced.

sleepy

When the men's favourite activities are avail, their interest in looking after kids are reduced.

Excellent observation!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 32