How to tell if a child is gifted?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    876 Posts 237 Posters 583.8k Views 2 Watching
      Chenonceau

mosster:
      What a great blog you have! You are a really great mum, super fun too. Thanks! Glad to be able to read more of your other interesting thoughts too!

It's so amazing how rare parent-accompanied classes for 3-4 year olds are in Singapore. Most insist that the child should be old enough to attend without their parents. I'm been sending DS1 to a once a week, 1hr one which I managed to find.

Er.. I hope I don't sound too stupid when I ask, by preschool scenarios, are you referring to what to expect in school with teacher and other kids, e.g. learning time behaviour, expected playground behaviour? if other kids push him in the playground behaviour? I can be kiasu (finally fitting into this website) and do all the possible scenarios I can think of....
      Ehhhh... anything you can think of lor... and get the books with written scenarios meant for Asperger's Syndrome kids... those are a great help EVEN IF your kid has no Asperger's Syndrome. Kids with Asperger's have very high IQ but need to be taught socio-emotional survival skills for the playground. There are books with scenarios to help you but I don't have them anymore, and cannot remember the authors. Bill Gates has Asperger's Syndrome.

Little Boy is P5. It has been years, and I must have left them all in the US when we came home.

Chenonceau

pingsped:

Read your blog entry abt \"throw her away\". so funny. You should consider acting. Better don't let your girl read yr blog!

If you let him mix around other kids regularly, your boy should mature sufficiently by 4+. It's a developmental thing. After 5 yrs old, most kids don't shed tears in school for long. They may not enjoy school but that's about it.

Playdates
        It's good to play with both good and playful kids in small groups of 4-6 kids so that he has an idea of group social interaction, both pleasant and unpleasant feelings. When school starts, he won't feel as intimidated or lost as he can recognise those feelings. Some kids may learn how to defend or respond. If adults keep intervening, some kids may never learn how to \"deal\" with other children and unpleasant situations. The point is we're trying to re-create authentic childhood and preschool settings \"under controlled conditions\". This is what I usu do for my social skills classes for special needs kids. I'm also doing for my girl. hee...

Time spent at playgrounds doesn't count as there's limited verbal interaction.
        pingsped... teehee... my girl reads all the posts. She wanna make sure I don't blog about the REALLY sensitive stuff (y'know... at the moment... boyfriends and puberty). Actually my blogposts bring my family closer together somehow.

mosster... yup I agree with pingsped that playgroups in small doses will help provided that you can refrain from intervening too much.

pingsped

pingsped... teehee... my girl reads all the posts. She wanna make sure I don't blog about the REALLY sensitive stuff (y'know... at the moment... boyfriends and puberty). Actually my blogposts bring my family closer together somehow.
          We're strange. You read books for asperger syndrome to help your boy. I read books for ADHD and problem-solving to teach for kids w ASD and asperger.

So yr girl is the editor/censor. yes, bf/gf is very sensitive. The posts r very sunny. It's great that they can laugh at themselves 🙂

Timtams

-deleted-

Baby_May_09

Hi ping sped and others,

Count my boy in for the play dates too. My boy is 21+month old and I would like him to interact more with other kids as I feel that social skill is very important.

pingsped

Baby_May_09:
                Hi ping sped and others,

Count my boy in for the play dates too. My boy is 21+month old and I would like him to interact more with other kids as I feel that social skill is very important.
                sorry, i didn't check PM inbox. hv replied 🙂

ankhlet.06013gmail.06013com

Haha ping sped, your playgroup getting popular! Just PMed you about it.

Took me 3 nights to read thru’ this thread, and very glad I did so. Thanks to all the mummies (and daddies? Not sure) who shared your invaluable experiences. This thread has rubbished a lot of previously held notions (good!) and also reinforced the belief in myself that I know what’s best for my kid (yay to my mummy-led instincts)

deardear07

hihi, does any of ur children go to I Can Read programs? If your child is able to recognize and make all the letter sounds of the alphabet at 2 and currently at 3, is slowly beginning to read certain words, should he/ she be able to get into their TCR program?

Coz they still rejected my son due to his age at 2.5yrs old saying that the children are much older - he could tell phonic sounds then and now just turned 3, has progressed to reading certain words...they called me and asked again if I wanted to put him in little learners... itz frustrating coz i know he already knows the things there. During a trial lesson, he brought home a worksheet with tracing curves. He already had alot of these fine motor skills in childcare and home.

For chinese class...he went Tien sia at 2.5yrs old for assessment and already could read the chinese words based on the theme...''body parts'' coz he was taught this in childcare... they told us to bring him back another time when he can learn different theme... even his childcare teacher found it amusing coz she only showed him the words few minutes a lesson and it wasn't even main lesson. On different themes, he showed me the same words whenever he sees them outside class- like when he learned the word ''工人'' under occupations, while eating at my inlaw's home, their chinese newspapers had opposition party splashed all over~~ :rotflmao: He could not complete the ''dang'' coz he did not learn that.

He has no problem tracing...and is bored with it. Also, he is drawing freehand more complicated drawings like train with details like windows, faces with proper bodies, not stick figures, etc... recently while out for dinner, the waitress gave him some paper to do doodling and he drew some letters and numbers out himself. I didn't know what he wanted from me till I really looked over... and discovered it.

His fine motor skills are not an issue since he could manipulate tiny objects since he was about 1yr old...just learning to use chopsticks now. He loves running and is very fast. He was selected to represent the childcare for sports day and outran alot of other children~~ didn't wana run initially due to shyness.

what classes would you reccomend for him? as he has an elder sister, timing is quite tight for us to shuttle both around during weekends for classes. He has not been for any enrichment except for neurotree for 6mths...

deardear07

Is he considered to be anyway gifted and what do/ can I do with him now?

Maple leaf

deardear07:
                        Is he considered to be anyway gifted and what do/ can I do with him now?

You may take a look at this,
                        http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/parenting/10-signs-your-child-may-be-gifted-2500544

There are different levels of giftedness. You will omly know after taking the IQ test assessed by apsychologist The fee is quite steep.

I didn't let my child take ICR cos' I am afraid it might not benefit him since he is reading above his level. I only had him asess at age 4. Maybe u can let yr DS try it out. jmo.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 54 / 88